Biotechnology for Industry and Health
Tor Vergata University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€1,156
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The call for the 2027/2028 academic year is not published, so the next application window for students who need a study visa has no dates. 2) The Admission Requirements page asks for at least 12 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences. The 2026/2027 call asks for at least 6. The call states that only the Italian version is valid for legal purposes, and the Italian version says 6. This record follows the call. An applicant near that line should ask the programme office to confirm. 3) The call names Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI as an accepted certificate body. It does not name PTE Academic. Whether a PTE Academic score counts is not stated, so pte is left out of the accepted proofs. 4) No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is set as CEFR B2 and the mapping is left to the certificate body. 5) The 2026/2027 Student Handbook sets contribution class 2 against "Master's degree in Biotechnology (held in English)". It does not print the current full name, Biotechnology for Industry and Health. This is the only English taught biotechnology master's at the university, so the class is read as applying to this degree. Course Information, MSc in Biotechnology for Industry and Health, Tor Vergata University of Rome
Application deadline
closes in 98 days
English requirement
Waived if your degree was taught in English
The university’s exact wording
“From the 2026/2027 call, Art. 1: "Proof of English proficiency at B2 level (CEFR) is required, certified by one of the following: Cambridge English, IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Pearson Edexcel, Trinity College London, TOEIC, ESB, Anglia Ascentis, AIM Awards, LCCI (London Chamber of Commerce and Industry), British Institutes. Exemption from the certification requirement applies to: 1) Candidates who completed a degree taught in English; 2) Nationals of English-speaking countries; 3) Graduates from Italian universities who passed an English language proficiency exam worth at least 3 ECTS credits." The Admission Requirements page adds that the certificate must have been "obtained after August 2019". No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is stated as a CEFR level only. Duolingo is not on the accepted list. For the Clinical Research curriculum the call adds: "B2 proficiency in Italian is strongly recommended."”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The call for the 2027/2028 academic year is not published, so the next application window for students who need a study visa has no dates. 2) The Admission Requirements page asks for at least 12 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences. The 2026/2027 call asks for at least 6. The call states that only the Italian version is valid for legal purposes, and the Italian version says 6. This record follows the call. An applicant near that line should ask the programme office to confirm. 3) The call names Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI as an accepted certificate body. It does not name PTE Academic. Whether a PTE Academic score counts is not stated, so pte is left out of the accepted proofs. 4) No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is set as CEFR B2 and the mapping is left to the certificate body. 5) The 2026/2027 Student Handbook sets contribution class 2 against "Master's degree in Biotechnology (held in English)". It does not print the current full name, Biotechnology for Industry and Health. This is the only English taught biotechnology master's at the university, so the class is read as applying to this degree. Course Information, MSc in Biotechnology for Industry and Health, Tor Vergata University of Rome
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectNatural sciences
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsSeptember
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark70%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€1,156
about PKR 372,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The call for the 2027/2028 academic year is not published, so the next application window for students who need a study visa has no dates. 2) The Admission Requirements page asks for at least 12 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences. The 2026/2027 call asks for at least 6. The call states that only the Italian version is valid for legal purposes, and the Italian version says 6. This record follows the call. An applicant near that line should ask the programme office to confirm. 3) The call names Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI as an accepted certificate body. It does not name PTE Academic. Whether a PTE Academic score counts is not stated, so pte is left out of the accepted proofs. 4) No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is set as CEFR B2 and the mapping is left to the certificate body. 5) The 2026/2027 Student Handbook sets contribution class 2 against "Master's degree in Biotechnology (held in English)". It does not print the current full name, Biotechnology for Industry and Health. This is the only English taught biotechnology master's at the university, so the class is read as applying to this degree.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The call for the 2027/2028 academic year is not published, so the next application window for students who need a study visa has no dates. 2) The Admission Requirements page asks for at least 12 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences. The 2026/2027 call asks for at least 6. The call states that only the Italian version is valid for legal purposes, and the Italian version says 6. This record follows the call. An applicant near that line should ask the programme office to confirm. 3) The call names Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI as an accepted certificate body. It does not name PTE Academic. Whether a PTE Academic score counts is not stated, so pte is left out of the accepted proofs. 4) No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is set as CEFR B2 and the mapping is left to the certificate body. 5) The 2026/2027 Student Handbook sets contribution class 2 against "Master's degree in Biotechnology (held in English)". It does not print the current full name, Biotechnology for Industry and Health. This is the only English taught biotechnology master's at the university, so the class is read as applying to this degree. Course Information, MSc in Biotechnology for Industry and Health, Tor Vergata University of Rome
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The call for the 2027/2028 academic year is not published, so the next application window for students who need a study visa has no dates. 2) The Admission Requirements page asks for at least 12 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences. The 2026/2027 call asks for at least 6. The call states that only the Italian version is valid for legal purposes, and the Italian version says 6. This record follows the call. An applicant near that line should ask the programme office to confirm. 3) The call names Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI as an accepted certificate body. It does not name PTE Academic. Whether a PTE Academic score counts is not stated, so pte is left out of the accepted proofs. 4) No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is set as CEFR B2 and the mapping is left to the certificate body. 5) The 2026/2027 Student Handbook sets contribution class 2 against "Master's degree in Biotechnology (held in English)". It does not print the current full name, Biotechnology for Industry and Health. This is the only English taught biotechnology master's at the university, so the class is read as applying to this degree. Course Information, MSc in Biotechnology for Industry and Health, Tor Vergata University of Rome
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“The university course record prints "Access type : Open with curriculum skills test". The 2026/2027 call states that "Admission to the above Master's program is subject to verification of both academic entry requirements and adequate personal preparation (pursuant Art. 6, Paragraph 2, Ministerial Decree 270/2004)". Neither the call nor the course record publishes a place quota or a ranked entrance examination. Source: https://web.uniroma2.it/en/contenuto/biotechnology-56817”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
A degree in Biology (class 12 of Ministerial Decree 509/1999 or class L-13 of Ministerial Decree 270/2004), in Biotechnology (class 1 of Ministerial Decree 509/1999 or class L-2 of Ministerial Decree 270/2004), or in Biological Sciences awarded before Ministerial Decree 509/1999.
With any other degree: at least 36 ECTS credits in Biochemistry (BIO-10), Cell Biology (BIO-06), Molecular Biology (BIO-11), Genetics (BIO-18), Physiology (BIO-09) and Microbiology (BIO-19).
With any other degree: at least 6 ECTS credits in area 03 Chemical Sciences (CHIM/01 to CHIM/12).
With any other degree: at least 6 ECTS credits in Mathematical and Computer Sciences (INF/01, MAT/01 to MAT/09).
A qualification awarded abroad must correspond to the first cycle of the Bologna Process and be classified as Level 6 in the European Qualifications Framework. It must come from an institution that allows progression to the second cycle, Level 7 EQF, in the country where it was awarded.
Personal preparation is deemed satisfactory if the previous academic average meets or exceeds 70% of the maximum achievable grade. A lower average means an interview with an academic committee on foundational knowledge in biological sciences.
For non-EU qualifications, admission requires analysis of the official course syllabi and an interview to assess personal preparation.
English at B2 level of the Common European Framework, unless an exemption applies.
Applicants may request verification while still awaiting their degree, declaring the expected graduation date and all remaining exams. Non-EU visa applicants must obtain their degree by June 2026 to apply through Universitaly.
If a curricular requirement is missing, the Degree Programme Board notifies the applicant. The gap can be closed by enrolling in single-subject courses at 100 euro per course, then reapplying.
The English rule
Waived if your degree was taught in English
“From the 2026/2027 call, Art. 1: "Proof of English proficiency at B2 level (CEFR) is required, certified by one of the following: Cambridge English, IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Pearson Edexcel, Trinity College London, TOEIC, ESB, Anglia Ascentis, AIM Awards, LCCI (London Chamber of Commerce and Industry), British Institutes. Exemption from the certification requirement applies to: 1) Candidates who completed a degree taught in English; 2) Nationals of English-speaking countries; 3) Graduates from Italian universities who passed an English language proficiency exam worth at least 3 ECTS credits." The Admission Requirements page adds that the certificate must have been "obtained after August 2019". No minimum IELTS or TOEFL band score is published for this programme. The requirement is stated as a CEFR level only. Duolingo is not on the accepted list. For the Clinical Research curriculum the call adds: "B2 proficiency in Italian is strongly recommended."”
The application file
- Passport
- English language certificate or proof of nationality, or any other documentation certifying English proficiency
- Degree certificate with final grade (if already awarded)
- Transcript of Records
- Any additional supporting documents (e.g. certifications, course syllabi, CV, motivation or recommendation letters)
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
- Medium of Instruction letter
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year master's degree in biotechnology taught entirely in English at Tor Vergata University of Rome, ending in a laboratory internship of six to eight months and a thesis. It suits biology or biotechnology graduates who want either research laboratory work or a role in clinical trials.
The Master of Science in Biotechnology for Industry and Health is a two year degree at Tor Vergata University of Rome. It belongs to degree class LM-8 and carries 120 ECTS credits. Its course code is AB6. All teaching is in English. The Department of Biology runs it, inside the School of Mathematical, Physical and Natural Sciences.
The university's full description
The course combines biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, pharmacology and microbiology with the fundamentals of bioinformatics and economics. Of the 120 credits, 78 come from core courses and 10 come from elective courses. The remaining credits are earned through original research work. That research is a compulsory internship, usually a project of six to eight months, and the results must be written up as a thesis.
Students follow one of two curricula. Experimental Biotechnology prepares graduates for roles in the laboratories of public research institutions, and in private laboratories that research or develop biotechnological products. Clinical Research prepares graduates for roles in clinical trials, such as Data Manager, Clinical Research Associate and Clinical Research Coordinator. The university describes the Clinical Research curriculum as the first of its kind in Italy. For that curriculum the call strongly recommends Italian at B2 level as well as English.
Teaching runs across two semesters. For 2026/2027 the first semester runs from 28 September 2026 to 18 December 2026, and the second from 2 March 2027 to 21 May 2027. The programme marks this timetable as provisional. The internship can be carried out in a Department of Biology laboratory, or in an outside research institution or private company, in Italy or abroad.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Jobs in research and control laboratories within universities and other public and private research institutes
- Management and quality control in biotechnology plants; molecular diagnosis laboratories; biomedical, environmental and nutrition areas
- Research and development laboratories; departments of production and quality control in biotechnology companies and companies interested in biotechnological innovation such as chemical, pharmaceutical, agri-food; in particular, companies using biological microsensor systems
- Diagnostic laboratories with particular reference to the development and production of molecular and/or cellular assays and innovative diagnostic systems
- Agencies drafting patent regulations regarding the exploitation of bio-industrial products and/or processes
- Commercial and documentation organisations specifically involved in biotechnological production
- Professions in the Clinical Research area, such as the Clinical Research Assistant, the Auditor or other organizational, managerial and control roles in the field of clinical trials of new drugs
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Can I use a medium of instruction letter instead of IELTS?
Yes. The call exempts candidates who completed a degree taught in English from the certificate requirement. It also exempts nationals of English speaking countries, and graduates of an Italian university who passed an English exam worth at least 3 ECTS credits. Everyone else must present a B2 certificate from one of the listed bodies.
Is the Duolingo English Test accepted?
No. The call names the certificate bodies it accepts and Duolingo is not one of them.
What does a year cost?
An international student whose family income is earned abroad, and who does not file an ISEE Parificato, pays a fixed annual contribution of 1,000 euro plus 156 euro of regional tax and stamp duty. That is 1,156 euro for the year. Students from the countries the Ministry lists as developing pay 500 euro instead of 1,000 euro. The country list is printed in chapter 7 of the 2026/2027 Student Handbook.
Can I pay less than 1,000 euro by declaring my family income?
It is possible. A student who files the ISEE Parificato is charged on income instead. This degree sits in contribution class 2 of the 2026/2027 Student Handbook, where the ordinary rate runs from 0 up to a maximum of 3,100 euro. The 156 euro of regional tax and stamp duty is due in every case.
When can I apply if I need a study visa?
Only in the first round. For the 2026/2027 academic year that round ran from 20 January 2026 to 30 April 2026 and it has closed. The second and third rounds are open only to Italian students, EU students, and non-EU students already living in Italy legally. Dates for 2027/2028 are not published yet.
Is there an entrance exam?
There is no written entrance exam. Access is open with a check of your curriculum. You are interviewed if your qualification comes from outside the EU, or if your previous average is below 70% of the maximum grade.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€1,156
Check Pakistan eligibility