Mediterranean Archaeology
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€300
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No intake month is published. The course catalogue states that its contents for academic year 2026 to 2027 are still being updated, and the programme timetable page carries no teaching start date. 2) Tuition appears only as a university wide range of 300 to 1500 euro a year by country of residence. No amount specific to this programme, and none specific to Pakistan, is published. 3) The two Sapienza sheets list different tests. The university wide English language requirements sheet accepts PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic and does not mention Trinity. This programme's own entry accepts Trinity College London ISE II and does not mention PTE. Which list governs a PTE or Trinity holder applying to this degree is not stated anywhere I could reach. 4) MoveIN pre-selection dates for academic year 2027 to 2028 are not published yet. The 2026 to 2027 round opened on 22 December 2025, but that is not a commitment to any date for the next round. 5) The Italian course page records an international study path, Titolo multiplo: italo-francese-tedesco. No page I could reach states which curriculum carries this multiple degree, which partner universities award it, or whether it changes the fees or the application route. 6) The call says English proficiency will be assessed under the programme's Academic Regulations. That Academic Regulations document is not linked from the course site and I could not locate it, so the exact verification procedure is unknown. 7) The programme's own page does not publish the number of places, and none is implied, but no page states explicitly that places are unlimited. 8) The Admission requirements sheet refers applicants to last year's call and warns it may change for 2026/2027, so the scores and the 75/100 minimum could be restated in a later call. Sapienza University of Rome, course catalogue entry 33542, Mediterranean Archaeology
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
IELTS required
The university’s exact wording
“From the Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet, entry headed "MSc Mediterranean Archeology": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher (Academic); TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The same entry prints "MINIMUM GPA: 75/100". This programme's own call for applications states the rule without numbers: "In all cases, particularly for students who are not native English speakers, a requirement for admission to the Master's Degree in Mediterranean Archaeology and to the Paleolithic Archaeology programme is a fluent command of English corresponding to at least level B2. This proficiency will be assessed in accordance with the procedures set out in the programme's Academic Regulations." The call adds that admission also depends on "passing an assessment of the applicant's personal knowledge and language skills", based on "the applicant's degree mark, qualifications, academic record and, where necessary, their actual individual skills, which may be assessed through a test or a personal interview." The waiver is capped by country and does not reach Pakistan.”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No intake month is published. The course catalogue states that its contents for academic year 2026 to 2027 are still being updated, and the programme timetable page carries no teaching start date. 2) Tuition appears only as a university wide range of 300 to 1500 euro a year by country of residence. No amount specific to this programme, and none specific to Pakistan, is published. 3) The two Sapienza sheets list different tests. The university wide English language requirements sheet accepts PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic and does not mention Trinity. This programme's own entry accepts Trinity College London ISE II and does not mention PTE. Which list governs a PTE or Trinity holder applying to this degree is not stated anywhere I could reach. 4) MoveIN pre-selection dates for academic year 2027 to 2028 are not published yet. The 2026 to 2027 round opened on 22 December 2025, but that is not a commitment to any date for the next round. 5) The Italian course page records an international study path, Titolo multiplo: italo-francese-tedesco. No page I could reach states which curriculum carries this multiple degree, which partner universities award it, or whether it changes the fees or the application route. 6) The call says English proficiency will be assessed under the programme's Academic Regulations. That Academic Regulations document is not linked from the course site and I could not locate it, so the exact verification procedure is unknown. 7) The programme's own page does not publish the number of places, and none is implied, but no page states explicitly that places are unlimited. 8) The Admission requirements sheet refers applicants to last year's call and warns it may change for 2026/2027, so the scores and the 75/100 minimum could be restated in a later call. Sapienza University of Rome, course catalogue entry 33542, Mediterranean Archaeology
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectArts and humanities
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsNot yet read
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark75%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€300
about PKR 96,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No intake month is published. The course catalogue states that its contents for academic year 2026 to 2027 are still being updated, and the programme timetable page carries no teaching start date. 2) Tuition appears only as a university wide range of 300 to 1500 euro a year by country of residence. No amount specific to this programme, and none specific to Pakistan, is published. 3) The two Sapienza sheets list different tests. The university wide English language requirements sheet accepts PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic and does not mention Trinity. This programme's own entry accepts Trinity College London ISE II and does not mention PTE. Which list governs a PTE or Trinity holder applying to this degree is not stated anywhere I could reach. 4) MoveIN pre-selection dates for academic year 2027 to 2028 are not published yet. The 2026 to 2027 round opened on 22 December 2025, but that is not a commitment to any date for the next round. 5) The Italian course page records an international study path, Titolo multiplo: italo-francese-tedesco. No page I could reach states which curriculum carries this multiple degree, which partner universities award it, or whether it changes the fees or the application route. 6) The call says English proficiency will be assessed under the programme's Academic Regulations. That Academic Regulations document is not linked from the course site and I could not locate it, so the exact verification procedure is unknown. 7) The programme's own page does not publish the number of places, and none is implied, but no page states explicitly that places are unlimited. 8) The Admission requirements sheet refers applicants to last year's call and warns it may change for 2026/2027, so the scores and the 75/100 minimum could be restated in a later call.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No intake month is published. The course catalogue states that its contents for academic year 2026 to 2027 are still being updated, and the programme timetable page carries no teaching start date. 2) Tuition appears only as a university wide range of 300 to 1500 euro a year by country of residence. No amount specific to this programme, and none specific to Pakistan, is published. 3) The two Sapienza sheets list different tests. The university wide English language requirements sheet accepts PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic and does not mention Trinity. This programme's own entry accepts Trinity College London ISE II and does not mention PTE. Which list governs a PTE or Trinity holder applying to this degree is not stated anywhere I could reach. 4) MoveIN pre-selection dates for academic year 2027 to 2028 are not published yet. The 2026 to 2027 round opened on 22 December 2025, but that is not a commitment to any date for the next round. 5) The Italian course page records an international study path, Titolo multiplo: italo-francese-tedesco. No page I could reach states which curriculum carries this multiple degree, which partner universities award it, or whether it changes the fees or the application route. 6) The call says English proficiency will be assessed under the programme's Academic Regulations. That Academic Regulations document is not linked from the course site and I could not locate it, so the exact verification procedure is unknown. 7) The programme's own page does not publish the number of places, and none is implied, but no page states explicitly that places are unlimited. 8) The Admission requirements sheet refers applicants to last year's call and warns it may change for 2026/2027, so the scores and the 75/100 minimum could be restated in a later call. Sapienza University of Rome, course catalogue entry 33542, Mediterranean Archaeology
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No intake month is published. The course catalogue states that its contents for academic year 2026 to 2027 are still being updated, and the programme timetable page carries no teaching start date. 2) Tuition appears only as a university wide range of 300 to 1500 euro a year by country of residence. No amount specific to this programme, and none specific to Pakistan, is published. 3) The two Sapienza sheets list different tests. The university wide English language requirements sheet accepts PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic and does not mention Trinity. This programme's own entry accepts Trinity College London ISE II and does not mention PTE. Which list governs a PTE or Trinity holder applying to this degree is not stated anywhere I could reach. 4) MoveIN pre-selection dates for academic year 2027 to 2028 are not published yet. The 2026 to 2027 round opened on 22 December 2025, but that is not a commitment to any date for the next round. 5) The Italian course page records an international study path, Titolo multiplo: italo-francese-tedesco. No page I could reach states which curriculum carries this multiple degree, which partner universities award it, or whether it changes the fees or the application route. 6) The call says English proficiency will be assessed under the programme's Academic Regulations. That Academic Regulations document is not linked from the course site and I could not locate it, so the exact verification procedure is unknown. 7) The programme's own page does not publish the number of places, and none is implied, but no page states explicitly that places are unlimited. 8) The Admission requirements sheet refers applicants to last year's call and warns it may change for 2026/2027, so the scores and the 75/100 minimum could be restated in a later call. Sapienza University of Rome, course catalogue entry 33542, Mediterranean Archaeology
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“The Italian course page prints "Modalita di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale", reproduced as printed with its accent: "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". The official call is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: Mediterranean Archaeology". Neither the Italian call nor the English call contains the words "accesso programmato" or "numero programmato", and neither publishes a cap on the number of places or a merit ranking. Access is therefore free, subject to a check of curricular requirements and of personal preparation. The check is not a formality: the Admission requirements sheet states that qualifying applicants "will be interviewed for admission" and that "The interview is aimed at evaluating the student's CV and competences."”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
A Bachelor of Arts or equivalent qualification obtained abroad, or a three-year degree obtained in Italy, provided that the conditions listed below are met
The programme typically admits students having a three-year (or four-year) Bachelor of Arts or Archaeology degree or equivalent degree (i.e. Laurea Triennale) with a background in Archaeology, Cultural Heritage, Ancient History and/or Arts
MINIMUM GPA: 75/100
For applicants without an Italian three-year degree, the assessment is not based on the Italian scientific-disciplinary sectors but on an overall assessment demonstrating the soundness of their prior knowledge in the fields of history and art, and classical studies and archaeology; a remote interview may be arranged
For applicants holding an Italian three-year degree: at least 30 CFU within the listed archaeology sectors, which run from ARCH-01/A (L-ANT/01) Prehistory and Protohistory to ASIA-01/E (L-OR/20) Archaeology, Art History and Philosophies of East Asia
For applicants holding an Italian three-year degree: and at least 60 CFU within the wider listed sectors, covering archaeology, art history, philology, history, geography, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering, law and social sciences
A fluent command of English corresponding to at least level B2
Application documents will be evaluated first. Students with a curriculum that satisfies minimum requirements on basic (bachelor) education in Archaeology, Ancient History, Cultural Heritage, and/or Art will be interviewed for admission. The interview is aimed at evaluating the student's CV and competences. The interview will be held either in person or on-line
Admission is subject to passing an assessment of the applicant's personal knowledge and language skills, based on the degree mark, qualifications, academic record and, where necessary, actual individual skills, which may be assessed through a test or a personal interview
Applicants whose background is deemed to need improvement may be asked to attend teaching modules provided by Bachelor courses in English at Sapienza or Unitelma within the first year of the Master course, or alternatively to study supplementary reading materials
Applicants from non-EU countries who reside abroad and apply for a student visa must hold a mandatory letter of pre-acceptance
The English rule
IELTS required
“From the Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet, entry headed "MSc Mediterranean Archeology": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher (Academic); TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The same entry prints "MINIMUM GPA: 75/100". This programme's own call for applications states the rule without numbers: "In all cases, particularly for students who are not native English speakers, a requirement for admission to the Master's Degree in Mediterranean Archaeology and to the Paleolithic Archaeology programme is a fluent command of English corresponding to at least level B2. This proficiency will be assessed in accordance with the procedures set out in the programme's Academic Regulations." The call adds that admission also depends on "passing an assessment of the applicant's personal knowledge and language skills", based on "the applicant's degree mark, qualifications, academic record and, where necessary, their actual individual skills, which may be assessed through a test or a personal interview." The waiver is capped by country and does not reach Pakistan.”
The application file
- Self declaration form Dichiarazione laurea ed esami per verifica dei requisiti, stating the exams taken, the scientific-disciplinary sectors corresponding to the courses and the relevant syllabuses (required of students coming from other Italian universities)
- Identity document uploaded to Infostud under Profile > Personal documents
- Letter of pre-acceptance, mandatory for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a student visa and for students from China on the Marco Polo programme
- PDF receipt of the 30 euro pre-selection payment, uploaded on MoveIN before the application is submitted
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year master's degree in the archaeology of the Mediterranean, taught fully in English in Rome, covering prehistory to the medieval period by theme rather than by period. It suits graduates in archaeology, cultural heritage, ancient history or art who want excavation and laboratory training in Italy and abroad.
Mediterranean Archaeology is a two year master's degree at Sapienza University of Rome. It sits in Italian degree class LM-2. The programme code on Infostud is 33542. All teaching is in English. Lessons are held in person in Rome. The degree is run by the Faculty of Lettere e Filosofia with the Department of Scienze dell'Antichita.
The university's full description
The programme covers the Mediterranean from prehistory and protohistory through the classical and medieval worlds. It is organised by theme rather than by period. The themes include social and economic change, cultural transformation, mobility and migration, and trade and exchange networks. Students also learn the methods, techniques and sciences of archaeological research.
The study plan publishes two curricula. One is the main Mediterranean Archaeology curriculum. The other is Paleolithic Archaeology. In the main curriculum the first year includes PALAEOBOTANY AND PALAEOENVIRONMENT at 6 credits and ARTEFACTS CHANGING LANDSCAPES AND AGENCY at 6 credits. It also includes two 12 credit units, PRODUCTION AND CONSUMPTION IN PRE-MONETARY AND MONETARY ANCIENT MEDITERRANEAN ECONOMIES and HUMAN MIGRATIONS MOBILITY AND IDENTITIES IN LIFE AND DEATH. The second year includes ARCHAEOLOGY OF LIVING SPACE at 6 credits and HERITAGE AND NARRATIVE at 6 credits. The final dissertation is worth 24 credits in the main curriculum.
Fieldwork carries credit in both years. The first year lists three units named FIELD ACTIVITIES LABORATORIES STAGES SEMINARS. The second year lists two more. Sapienza runs excavations in Italy and overseas, and the programme uses them for field and laboratory placements.
Admission is not capped. The Italian course page records the access mode as a check of entry requirements and of personal preparation, not a ranked competition for a fixed number of seats. Applicants need a three year or four year bachelor's degree with a background in archaeology, cultural heritage, ancient history or art. Sapienza sets a minimum grade of 75 out of 100 for this programme. Documents are read first. Applicants who meet the subject requirements are then interviewed on their CV and competences, either in person or online. An applicant whose background is judged thin may be asked to take bachelor level modules in English at Sapienza or Unitelma during the first year, or to work through extra reading.
English must be at CEFR level B2. For this programme Sapienza accepts IELTS Academic at 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT at 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not accepted. The requirement is waived only for native speakers of English, for holders of an English taught degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA or Schengen area or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and for holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list. A Pakistani applicant must present a test score.
Sapienza publishes full tuition for its bachelor's and master's degrees as 300 to 1500 euro a year, set by country of residence. It publishes no figure specific to this programme. There are two separate fees to pay. The MoveIN pre-selection application fee is 30 euro for each application, capped at two applications per candidate per intake, with no waiver in any circumstance. The eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro.
Two separate deadlines apply, and the order matters. An applicant from a non EU country who needs a student visa must first pass the MoveIN pre-selection to obtain a letter of pre-acceptance. For entry in 2026 to 2027 that window ran from 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026 and is now closed. The eligibility check on Infostud opened on 2 July 2026. For applicants from non EU countries who need a student visa, 15 September 2026 is the only date on which that check may be requested. The later dates of 15 October 2026, 17 November 2026 and 17 December 2026 are open to other applicants, and 14 January 2027 is reserved for people who already graduated from Sapienza or are about to.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Archaeologist
- Museum curators and conservators, highly specialized communicators
- archaeological heritage management
- collaboration with research and heritage protection institutions
- direction of excavations, documentation projects, museums, and archaeological parks
- national and international research projects
- cultural heritage communication
- specialized publishing
- conservation, enhancement, and communication of archaeological heritage
- collaboration with research and heritage institutions
- museum and archaeological park management
- cultural heritage projects at national and international level
- communication and specialized publishing in the cultural sector
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Is Duolingo accepted for this degree?
No. For this programme Sapienza accepts IELTS Academic at 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT at 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on the university's accepted test list for a degree.
Can a Pakistani student use a medium of instruction letter instead of a test?
No. The waiver for this programme covers only native speakers of English, holders of an English taught degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA or Schengen area or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list.
What grade do I need in my bachelor's degree?
Sapienza sets a minimum of 75 out of 100 for this programme. Your degree mark is also weighed again in the assessment of personal preparation.
Is there a written entrance exam?
No written entrance exam is published. Your documents are read first. If your subject background qualifies, you are interviewed about your CV and competences, in person or online. The call also allows a test where the university judges one necessary.
How much does it cost to apply?
Two fees. The MoveIN pre-selection application fee is 30 euro for each application, with a maximum of two applications per candidate per intake and no waiver in any circumstance. The eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro.
Can I still start in the 2026 to 2027 academic year?
Not if you need a student visa. The MoveIN pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants ran from 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026 and has closed, and that pre-acceptance letter is mandatory for a visa. The Infostud eligibility check is still open to 15 September 2026, but it does not replace the pre-acceptance letter. Dates for 2027 to 2028 are not yet published.
What does the degree cost per year?
Sapienza publishes full tuition for its bachelor's and master's degrees as 300 to 1500 euro a year, set by country of residence. It publishes no figure for this programme on its own.
Do I have to speak Italian?
The degree is taught in English and the entry rule is English at B2. One first year unit, FIELD ACTIVITIES LABORATORIES STAGES SEMINARS I A, is listed in the study plan as taught in Italian.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€300
Check Pakistan eligibility