Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering (Rieti Campus)
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€300
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza's university wide language sheet lists PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic among accepted tests, but this programme's own row lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity ISE II. Whether PTE is accepted for this specific degree is not stated on either page. 2) The MoveIN pre-selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non-EU applicants needing a visa and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme's own call still lists requirement check dates through 14 January 2027. Sapienza does not spell out which route a non-EU applicant uses after the pre-selection window closes. 3) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The tuition page states the figures appear after 30 September. The 300 to 1500 euro range is Sapienza's institution wide statement, not a per-programme figure. 4) The admission requirements sheet asks for a Bachelor's in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering. The programme's own call asks for class L-23 or L-7 plus 90 CFU in named sectors. The two are phrased differently and Sapienza does not say which governs if they conflict. 5) No requirement check date after 15 September 2026 is marked as open to applicants who need a student visa. Whether 15 October, 17 November or 17 December 2026 can be used by such an applicant is not published. 6) The faculty calendar gives 24 September 2026 as the first day of teaching for two year Master's degrees. The programme's own presentation gives 28 September 2026 for Rieti. The programme specific date is the one used here. 7) The final test is printed as 18 CFU in the study plan table, while the educational objectives text beneath it says the final exam involves the acquisition of 17 credits. Sapienza does not reconcile the two figures. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, programme 33489
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
Medium of Instruction letter accepted
The university’s exact wording
“From Sapienza's admission requirements sheet, under the heading MSc Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates; Students holding a diploma/degree from an accredited institution where English is the main language of instruction." The fourth waiver bullet carries no country limit. The programme's own call PDF states the same rule in its own words: "Language proficiency may also be recognised if the first-cycle degree programme was taught in English."”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza's university wide language sheet lists PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic among accepted tests, but this programme's own row lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity ISE II. Whether PTE is accepted for this specific degree is not stated on either page. 2) The MoveIN pre-selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non-EU applicants needing a visa and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme's own call still lists requirement check dates through 14 January 2027. Sapienza does not spell out which route a non-EU applicant uses after the pre-selection window closes. 3) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The tuition page states the figures appear after 30 September. The 300 to 1500 euro range is Sapienza's institution wide statement, not a per-programme figure. 4) The admission requirements sheet asks for a Bachelor's in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering. The programme's own call asks for class L-23 or L-7 plus 90 CFU in named sectors. The two are phrased differently and Sapienza does not say which governs if they conflict. 5) No requirement check date after 15 September 2026 is marked as open to applicants who need a student visa. Whether 15 October, 17 November or 17 December 2026 can be used by such an applicant is not published. 6) The faculty calendar gives 24 September 2026 as the first day of teaching for two year Master's degrees. The programme's own presentation gives 28 September 2026 for Rieti. The programme specific date is the one used here. 7) The final test is printed as 18 CFU in the study plan table, while the educational objectives text beneath it says the final exam involves the acquisition of 17 credits. Sapienza does not reconcile the two figures. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, programme 33489
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectEngineering
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsSeptember
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark80%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€300
about PKR 96,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza's university wide language sheet lists PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic among accepted tests, but this programme's own row lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity ISE II. Whether PTE is accepted for this specific degree is not stated on either page. 2) The MoveIN pre-selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non-EU applicants needing a visa and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme's own call still lists requirement check dates through 14 January 2027. Sapienza does not spell out which route a non-EU applicant uses after the pre-selection window closes. 3) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The tuition page states the figures appear after 30 September. The 300 to 1500 euro range is Sapienza's institution wide statement, not a per-programme figure. 4) The admission requirements sheet asks for a Bachelor's in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering. The programme's own call asks for class L-23 or L-7 plus 90 CFU in named sectors. The two are phrased differently and Sapienza does not say which governs if they conflict. 5) No requirement check date after 15 September 2026 is marked as open to applicants who need a student visa. Whether 15 October, 17 November or 17 December 2026 can be used by such an applicant is not published. 6) The faculty calendar gives 24 September 2026 as the first day of teaching for two year Master's degrees. The programme's own presentation gives 28 September 2026 for Rieti. The programme specific date is the one used here. 7) The final test is printed as 18 CFU in the study plan table, while the educational objectives text beneath it says the final exam involves the acquisition of 17 credits. Sapienza does not reconcile the two figures.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza's university wide language sheet lists PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic among accepted tests, but this programme's own row lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity ISE II. Whether PTE is accepted for this specific degree is not stated on either page. 2) The MoveIN pre-selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non-EU applicants needing a visa and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme's own call still lists requirement check dates through 14 January 2027. Sapienza does not spell out which route a non-EU applicant uses after the pre-selection window closes. 3) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The tuition page states the figures appear after 30 September. The 300 to 1500 euro range is Sapienza's institution wide statement, not a per-programme figure. 4) The admission requirements sheet asks for a Bachelor's in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering. The programme's own call asks for class L-23 or L-7 plus 90 CFU in named sectors. The two are phrased differently and Sapienza does not say which governs if they conflict. 5) No requirement check date after 15 September 2026 is marked as open to applicants who need a student visa. Whether 15 October, 17 November or 17 December 2026 can be used by such an applicant is not published. 6) The faculty calendar gives 24 September 2026 as the first day of teaching for two year Master's degrees. The programme's own presentation gives 28 September 2026 for Rieti. The programme specific date is the one used here. 7) The final test is printed as 18 CFU in the study plan table, while the educational objectives text beneath it says the final exam involves the acquisition of 17 credits. Sapienza does not reconcile the two figures. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, programme 33489
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza's university wide language sheet lists PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic among accepted tests, but this programme's own row lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity ISE II. Whether PTE is accepted for this specific degree is not stated on either page. 2) The MoveIN pre-selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non-EU applicants needing a visa and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme's own call still lists requirement check dates through 14 January 2027. Sapienza does not spell out which route a non-EU applicant uses after the pre-selection window closes. 3) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The tuition page states the figures appear after 30 September. The 300 to 1500 euro range is Sapienza's institution wide statement, not a per-programme figure. 4) The admission requirements sheet asks for a Bachelor's in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering. The programme's own call asks for class L-23 or L-7 plus 90 CFU in named sectors. The two are phrased differently and Sapienza does not say which governs if they conflict. 5) No requirement check date after 15 September 2026 is marked as open to applicants who need a student visa. Whether 15 October, 17 November or 17 December 2026 can be used by such an applicant is not published. 6) The faculty calendar gives 24 September 2026 as the first day of teaching for two year Master's degrees. The programme's own presentation gives 28 September 2026 for Rieti. The programme specific date is the one used here. 7) The final test is printed as 18 CFU in the study plan table, while the educational objectives text beneath it says the final exam involves the acquisition of 17 credits. Sapienza does not reconcile the two figures. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, programme 33489
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“The Italian catalogue page prints "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". The English call PDF is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge". There is no quota, no ranked list and no entrance test. The catalogue card leaves the Admission procedure field blank for this programme, while the Bachelor's degree on the same Rieti campus, Sustainable Building Engineering code 33482, prints "Admission test". Applicants choose one of five requirement check dates rather than competing for places.”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
A three year Bachelor's degree in Building, Environmental or Civil Engineering, or an equivalent foreign qualification recognised as suitable
A degree in class L-23 or L-7 under Ministerial Decree 270/04, or class 4 or 8 under Ministerial Decree 509/99
At least 90 CFU in the scientific disciplinary sectors of mathematics, physics, engineering and architecture
Of those 90 CFU, at least 24 CFU in the core sectors of mathematics and physics (MAT/05, MAT/03, FIS/01)
A minimum GPA of 80 out of 100
English at CEFR level B2
A successful interview, together with an examination of your first cycle academic record
Applicants who have not yet graduated may request the requirement check, but must graduate by 19 December 2026 if the degree comes from another Italian or international university, or by 23 January 2027 if it comes from Sapienza
The English rule
Medium of Instruction letter accepted
“From Sapienza's admission requirements sheet, under the heading MSc Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates; Students holding a diploma/degree from an accredited institution where English is the main language of instruction." The fourth waiver bullet carries no country limit. The programme's own call PDF states the same rule in its own words: "Language proficiency may also be recognised if the first-cycle degree programme was taught in English."”
The application file
- Passport
- High School and University Diploma
- Transcript of Records
- Language Certificate
- Reference Letter (optional)
- Additional supporting documents
- The PDF receipt for the 30 euro pre-selection fee, uploaded to MoveIN before you submit the application
- An identity document uploaded to Infostud under Profile > Personal Documents
- Applicants coming from another Italian university also send the form Dichiarazione laurea ed esami per la verifica dei requisiti
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
- Medium of Instruction letter
- An interview
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The study plan
What you would actually study.
Transcribed from the university's published study plan, in its order and its wording.
1st13 modules
- Digital modelling for architecture9 CFU
- Remote sensing and GIS9 CFU
- Remote sensing3 CFU
- GIS6 CFU
- Elective courseChoose from a list9 CFU
- Building design and H-BIM for architectural renovation9 CFU
- Building design for architectural renovation3 CFU
- H-BIM for architectural renovation6 CFU
- Water and solid waste treatment plants9 CFU
- ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN FOR SUSTAINABLE BUILDINGChoose from a list6 CFU
- Environmental and urban planning in inner areasChoose from a list6 CFU
- Project financingChoose from a list6 CFU
- Hydraulic infrastructuresChoose from a list9 CFU
2nd13 modules
- Structural dynamics9 CFU
- Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
- Foundation and earth retaining structures9 CFU
- Final testThesis18 CFU
- Other educational activities to facilitate entry to the labour market3 CFU
- Advanced design for sustainable building componentsChoose from a list6 CFU
- Advanced processes and technologies for water sustainabilityChoose from a list6 CFU
- Environmental HydraulicsChoose from a list6 CFU
- Urban health and Sustainable transportChoose from a list9 CFU
- Architectural engineering for sustainable buildings and environmentChoose from a list9 CFU
- Groundwater managementChoose from a list9 CFU
- Seismic designChoose from a list9 CFU
- Innovation materials for structural designChoose from a list9 CFU
0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 26 modules are listed here.
CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year Master's degree in sustainable building engineering, taught in English at Sapienza's Rieti campus, covering H-BIM renovation, structural dynamics, foundations, water and waste treatment, and remote sensing. It suits a civil, building or environmental engineering graduate who wants to retrofit and restore existing buildings rather than build new ones.
Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering is a two year Master's degree at Sapienza University of Rome. It is programme code 33489 in degree class LM-24. All teaching is in English. Classes are held in person at the Rieti campus, in Palazzo Aluffi, Via Cintia 106. Sapienza states that Rieti is 80 km from Rome. The campus has 12 classrooms and 2 teaching laboratories.
The university's full description
The degree trains engineers to design and manage sustainable construction work. Sapienza states that the programme gives priority to conserving and restoring existing buildings, and excludes new construction. The first year studies the built and natural environment. Mandatory courses include Digital modelling for architecture, Remote sensing and GIS, Water and solid waste treatment plants, and Building design and H-BIM for architectural renovation. The second year adds Structural dynamics and Foundation and earth retaining structures. Optional courses include Seismic design, Groundwater management, Urban health and Sustainable transport, and Environmental Hydraulics. The programme covers seismic, hydraulic and hydrogeological risk, and energy saving. The final thesis is worth 18 CFU.
Admission is by verification of requirements and personal knowledge. There is no ranked entrance test. You need a three year Bachelor's degree in building, environmental or civil engineering, or a foreign qualification recognised as equivalent. Sapienza's admission requirements sheet sets a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 for this programme. The programme's own call asks for a degree in class L-23 or L-7 under Ministerial Decree 270/04, or class 4 or 8 under Ministerial Decree 509/99. It also asks for at least 90 CFU in mathematics, physics, engineering and architecture subjects, of which at least 24 CFU in core mathematics and physics. The personal knowledge check is an interview plus a review of your first cycle academic record.
English must be at CEFR level B2. This programme accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London ISE II or higher. The test is waived for anyone holding a diploma or degree from an accredited institution where English is the main language of instruction. That waiver line names no country. Sapienza's separate university wide sheet limits its medium of instruction waiver to six countries and Pakistan is not among them, but the rule printed for this programme is the wider one. Duolingo is not accepted.
Classes at Rieti start on 28 September 2026. The first semester ends on 22 December 2026. The second runs from 22 February 2027 to 28 May 2027. There is one intake a year. Sapienza charges international applicants 30 euro per pre-selection application, capped at two applications a year, and states that no waiver is available. The requirement check costs a further 10,00 euro, paid through Infostud with code 33489. Sapienza states that full tuition for its Bachelor's and Master's degrees is 300 to 1500 euro a year, set by country of residence and declared income. The figures for 2026-2027 had not been published when this record was made.
Graduates work as designers, production and construction managers, and inspectors. Sapienza names public and private bodies, engineering companies, building and environmental industries, construction companies, research, and independent practice. The programme runs a double degree with the Master's Degree in Civil Engineering at the College of Civil Engineering and Architecture of Zhejiang University in China. There is also a student exchange agreement with Universidade Estadual de Campinas in Brazil.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineer
- Designer, production and construction manager, or inspector in the field of environmentally sustainable construction
- Positions of high responsibility within public and private bodies
- Engineering companies
- Industries operating in the building and environmental sectors
- Construction companies
- Organisations involved in territorial management services
- Research
- Independent professional practice and consultancy related to civil and environmental engineering
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Can I use my English medium Bachelor's degree from Pakistan instead of an IELTS score?
Yes, for this programme. The admission requirements sheet waives the English test for anyone holding a diploma or degree from an accredited institution where English is the main language of instruction. That line names no country. The programme's own call repeats it: language proficiency may also be recognised if the first cycle degree programme was taught in English. Sapienza's separate university wide sheet limits its waiver to the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, but the rule printed for this degree is the wider one.
What English test scores does this programme ask for?
IELTS 5.5 or higher. TOEFL iBT 80 or higher. Cambridge English B2 First or higher. Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. All of these map to CEFR level B2. Duolingo is not accepted.
Is there an entrance exam?
No ranked entrance test. Sapienza first checks that you meet the academic requirements. It then assesses your personal knowledge through an interview and a review of your Bachelor's transcript. The catalogue calls this Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale.
What does it cost to apply?
Two separate fees. The MoveIN pre-selection application costs 30 euro per application. You may submit a maximum of two applications per academic year and Sapienza states that no waiver is available. The requirement check costs a further 10,00 euro, paid through Infostud with code 33489.
When do classes start?
Classes at the Rieti campus start on 28 September 2026. The first semester ends on 22 December 2026. The second semester runs from 22 February 2027 to 28 May 2027.
Where is the campus?
Rieti, at Palazzo Aluffi, Via Cintia 106. Sapienza states that Rieti is 80 km from Rome. All classes, exams and meetings are held in person on that campus.
Can I start online if my visa is delayed?
Yes. Sapienza's programme presentation states that students who cannot complete enrolment or obtain a visa by the start of the first semester may attend classes online until the middle of November, when enrolment closes. Professors supply the study materials.
How much is tuition?
Sapienza states that full tuition for its Bachelor's and Master's programmes is 300 to 1500 euro a year, set by country of residence. The exact figure also depends on declared income. Sapienza had not published the 2026-2027 amounts when this record was made.
What do I study in the first year?
Digital modelling for architecture, Remote sensing and GIS, Water and solid waste treatment plants, and Building design and H-BIM for architectural renovation. There is also an elective course worth 9 CFU.
Is there a double degree option?
Yes. The programme runs a double degree with the Master's Degree in Civil Engineering at the College of Civil Engineering and Architecture of Zhejiang University, China. There is also a student exchange agreement with Universidade Estadual de Campinas in Brazil.
Who do I contact about this programme?
The Rieti campus secretary at segreteriadirieti@uniroma1.it. The academic coordinator is Prof. Agostina Chiavola at agostina.chiavola@uniroma1.it.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€300
Check Pakistan eligibility