Skip to content
UniConnect360

Design, Multimedia and Visual Communication

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€2,924

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 tuition amounts are not published yet. The Sapienza fees page states information for 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 2,924 euro figure and the 300 / 700 / 1500 foreign income bands come from the standard fee amounts page, whose payment deadline of 6 November 2025 places it in the 2025-2026 regulation. 2) No first lesson date is published for 2026-2027. The university academic calendar page still shows 2025-2026 closures only, and the Faculty of Architecture calendar page was still on an earlier year. The intake month is taken from the enrolment window in the call, not from a published teaching start. 3) No call for applications for 2027-2028 is published yet. Both application deadlines in the current call, 13 July 2026 and 1 September 2026, have already passed. 4) The call names no specific English test, only a language certificate at B2. Whether the admissions office applies the university wide closed test list unchanged to this programme is not stated on any page for this degree. 5) Which foreign income band applies is set by where your income is declared, not by citizenship. Confirm this with the Student Affairs Office before quoting 300 euro to a student. 6) The Italian and English curricula print slightly different titles for the same studios. Confirm with the department which title appears on the transcript. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

Application deadline

closed on 13 July 2026

English requirement

Medium of Instruction letter accepted

The university’s exact wording
“The call for applications states, for both citizenship routes: "Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Adequate knowledge of the English language at level B2 will be certified by candidates by sending a scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of their language certificate or self-certification attesting to their knowledge of the language." No minimum IELTS, TOEFL or PTE score is printed anywhere in this programme's call. The self-certification option carries no country limit, so this is one of the uncapped entries rather than one governed by the university wide list of six countries. The document checklist repeats it as "Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the language certificate or self-certification of English language proficiency (B2 level)."”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 tuition amounts are not published yet. The Sapienza fees page states information for 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 2,924 euro figure and the 300 / 700 / 1500 foreign income bands come from the standard fee amounts page, whose payment deadline of 6 November 2025 places it in the 2025-2026 regulation. 2) No first lesson date is published for 2026-2027. The university academic calendar page still shows 2025-2026 closures only, and the Faculty of Architecture calendar page was still on an earlier year. The intake month is taken from the enrolment window in the call, not from a published teaching start. 3) No call for applications for 2027-2028 is published yet. Both application deadlines in the current call, 13 July 2026 and 1 September 2026, have already passed. 4) The call names no specific English test, only a language certificate at B2. Whether the admissions office applies the university wide closed test list unchanged to this programme is not stated on any page for this degree. 5) Which foreign income band applies is set by where your income is declared, not by citizenship. Confirm this with the Student Affairs Office before quoting 300 euro to a student. 6) The Italian and English curricula print slightly different titles for the same studios. Confirm with the department which title appears on the transcript. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectArchitecture and design
  • Taught inTaught in Italian and English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€2,924

about PKR 940,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 tuition amounts are not published yet. The Sapienza fees page states information for 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 2,924 euro figure and the 300 / 700 / 1500 foreign income bands come from the standard fee amounts page, whose payment deadline of 6 November 2025 places it in the 2025-2026 regulation. 2) No first lesson date is published for 2026-2027. The university academic calendar page still shows 2025-2026 closures only, and the Faculty of Architecture calendar page was still on an earlier year. The intake month is taken from the enrolment window in the call, not from a published teaching start. 3) No call for applications for 2027-2028 is published yet. Both application deadlines in the current call, 13 July 2026 and 1 September 2026, have already passed. 4) The call names no specific English test, only a language certificate at B2. Whether the admissions office applies the university wide closed test list unchanged to this programme is not stated on any page for this degree. 5) Which foreign income band applies is set by where your income is declared, not by citizenship. Confirm this with the Student Affairs Office before quoting 300 euro to a student. 6) The Italian and English curricula print slightly different titles for the same studios. Confirm with the department which title appears on the transcript.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 tuition amounts are not published yet. The Sapienza fees page states information for 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 2,924 euro figure and the 300 / 700 / 1500 foreign income bands come from the standard fee amounts page, whose payment deadline of 6 November 2025 places it in the 2025-2026 regulation. 2) No first lesson date is published for 2026-2027. The university academic calendar page still shows 2025-2026 closures only, and the Faculty of Architecture calendar page was still on an earlier year. The intake month is taken from the enrolment window in the call, not from a published teaching start. 3) No call for applications for 2027-2028 is published yet. Both application deadlines in the current call, 13 July 2026 and 1 September 2026, have already passed. 4) The call names no specific English test, only a language certificate at B2. Whether the admissions office applies the university wide closed test list unchanged to this programme is not stated on any page for this degree. 5) Which foreign income band applies is set by where your income is declared, not by citizenship. Confirm this with the Student Affairs Office before quoting 300 euro to a student. 6) The Italian and English curricula print slightly different titles for the same studios. Confirm with the department which title appears on the transcript. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

To be considered, once

€35

about PKR 11,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 tuition amounts are not published yet. The Sapienza fees page states information for 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 2,924 euro figure and the 300 / 700 / 1500 foreign income bands come from the standard fee amounts page, whose payment deadline of 6 November 2025 places it in the 2025-2026 regulation. 2) No first lesson date is published for 2026-2027. The university academic calendar page still shows 2025-2026 closures only, and the Faculty of Architecture calendar page was still on an earlier year. The intake month is taken from the enrolment window in the call, not from a published teaching start. 3) No call for applications for 2027-2028 is published yet. Both application deadlines in the current call, 13 July 2026 and 1 September 2026, have already passed. 4) The call names no specific English test, only a language certificate at B2. Whether the admissions office applies the university wide closed test list unchanged to this programme is not stated on any page for this degree. 5) Which foreign income band applies is set by where your income is declared, not by citizenship. Confirm this with the Student Affairs Office before quoting 300 euro to a student. 6) The Italian and English curricula print slightly different titles for the same studios. Confirm with the department which title appears on the transcript. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Restricted, entrance test

    accesso programmato

    The university's own wording
    “The Enroll page heads its procedure "Application procedure for the Degree Course in Visual and Multimedia Communication / Design Multimedia and Visual Communication with restricted access". The call for applications opens: "To gain admission to the Master's degree programme in Design, Multimedia and Visual Communication you will have to participate in a procedure for comparative assessment of qualifications and pass an admission test." Places are capped at 60 for EU candidates and candidates with a valid residence permit in Italy, and 40 for non-EU candidates resident abroad, of which 2 are reserved to Chinese citizens of the "Marco Polo" project. The ranking is scored out of 70, being 60 points from the comparative assessment of qualifications and 10 points from the oral test, and "A minimum of 15 points is required to be admitted to the ranking list."”
  • Entrance tests

    PortfolioInterview

What the call asks for

  1. A bachelor's degree in Industrial Design class L-4, ex 42, obtained in any Italian university, or an equivalent first-level degree in design obtained in Italy or in a European Union university. The call names ISIA diplomas and diplomas from public and private Design Schools and Fine Arts Academies recognised by the Ministry of University and Research as examples.

  2. A bachelor's degree in a class other than L-4, ex 42, is accepted provided you hold a total of at least 40 ECTS in the sectors ICAR/13; ICAR/14, ICAR/16; ICAR/17; ING-INF/05; SPS/08; L-ART/03; L-ART/05; L-ART/06; SECS-P/08. The credits of a single exam may only be counted once.

  3. Candidates who do not receive recognition of at least 40 ECTS will not be included in the final rankings.

  4. Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2 according to the CEFR.

  5. For non-EU candidates resident abroad who need a study visa: a pre-acceptance letter for this degree programme, downloaded in .pdf format after successful pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform by May 15, 2026.

  6. For non-EU candidates resident abroad who need a study visa: an online pre-enrolment application on the Universitaly website, filled in and sent by June 30, 2026. The call states pre-registration on Universitaly is mandatory to obtain the student entry visa.

  7. For non-EU candidates resident abroad who choose the Italian language curriculum: the Italian language proficiency test at level B2, or an Italian language certificate of at least level B2 from a recognised organisation. Candidates on the Italian curriculum are not obliged to get the pre-acceptance letter.

  8. Students who will graduate from Sapienza by January 31, 2027 may participate conditionally. Applications from students about to graduate at universities other than Sapienza are excluded.

  9. Candidates who already hold a second-level academic qualification follow the same procedures and take part in the comparative assessment.

The English rule

Medium of Instruction letter accepted

“The call for applications states, for both citizenship routes: "Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). Adequate knowledge of the English language at level B2 will be certified by candidates by sending a scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of their language certificate or self-certification attesting to their knowledge of the language." No minimum IELTS, TOEFL or PTE score is printed anywhere in this programme's call. The self-certification option carries no country limit, so this is one of the uncapped entries rather than one governed by the university wide list of six countries. The document checklist repeats it as "Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the language certificate or self-certification of English language proficiency (B2 level)."”

The application file

  • ID document
  • Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the 35 fee payment receipt
  • Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the language certificate or self-certification of English language proficiency (B2 level)
  • Curriculum Vitae (.pdf format), required of applicants with EU citizenship or non-EU citizens who hold a valid residence permit in Italy
  • Portfolio (.pdf format), required of applicants with EU citizenship or non-EU citizens who hold a valid residence permit in Italy
  • Graduation certificate with the list of exams taken, required of applicants with EU citizenship or non-EU citizens who hold a valid residence permit in Italy
  • Graduation certificate with the list of exams taken, if you graduated in a class other than L-4 (ex42)
  • Study plan of the Bachelor's Degree Programme, if you are graduating from Sapienza in a class other than L-4
  • For non-EU citizens applying for a study visa: the pre-selection application completed on the QS MoveIn platform and the pre-enrolment application submitted on Universitaly, both before the comparative assessment application

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • PTE Academic
  • Medium of Instruction letter

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.

1st21 modules
  • BOOK DESIGN AND TYPOGRAPHY STUDIO9 CFU
  • BOOK DESIGN AND TYPOGRAPHY3 CFU
  • HISTORY OF VISUAL COMMUNICATION DESIGN6 CFU
  • DESIGN AND GRAPHIC LANGUAGES STUDIO9 CFU
  • GRAPHIC LANGUAGES3 CFU
  • GRAPHIC METHODS AND TECHNIQUES STUDIO6 CFU
  • PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICES OF PERFORMING ARTS6 CFU
  • HISTORY OF PERFORMING ARTS3 CFU
  • VIDEO EDITING AND MULTIMEDIA3 CFU
  • IMAGE AND STORYTELLING STUDIO9 CFU
  • PHOTOGRAPHY3 CFU
  • METHODS FOR IMAGE'S CRITICAL EVALUATION6 CFU
  • MULTIMEDIA DESIGN STUDIO9 CFU
  • MULTIMEDIA DESIGN3 CFU
  • IMMERSIVE ENVIROMENTS6 CFU
  • DESIGN BRANDING STUDIOChoose from a list9 CFU
  • BRAND DESIGNChoose from a list3 CFU
  • INTEGRATED COMMUNICATION METHODS AND TOOLSChoose from a list6 CFU
  • EDITORIA DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list9 CFU
  • EDITORIAL DESIGNChoose from a list6 CFU
  • IA, CRITICAL SOCIOLOGY AND NEW CULTURAL INDUSTRIESChoose from a list3 CFU
2nd18 modules
  • INFORMATION DESIGN STUDIO9 CFU
  • DATA VISUALIZATION3 CFU
  • DATA RESEARCH AND STORYTELLING6 CFU
  • COMPUTER GRAPHICS AND GAMING STUDIO9 CFU
  • COMPUTER GRAPHICS AND GAMING3 CFU
  • INTERACTION DESIGN6 CFU
  • DESIGN FOR DIGITAL EDUCATION STUDIO9 CFU
  • DIGITAL EDUCATION3 CFU
  • DESIGN FOR LEARNING6 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list9 CFU
  • FURTHER LEARNING WORK AND TRAINING9 CFU
  • THESIS WORKThesis15 CFU
  • PERFORMANCE DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list9 CFU
  • PERFORMANCE DESIGNChoose from a list3 CFU
  • BEHAVIOUR ANALYSISChoose from a list6 CFU
  • EXHIBIT AND SPATIAL DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list9 CFU
  • EXHIBIT AND SPATIAL DESIGNChoose from a list3 CFU
  • REPRESENTATION OF VISUAL CULTUREChoose from a list6 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 39 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A two-year master's degree in visual and multimedia communication design, run by the Faculty of Architecture at Sapienza and offered in both an English curriculum and an Italian one. It suits a design graduate who wants studio-based work in graphic design, typography, multimedia, information design, exhibit design or digital education, and who can present a portfolio at an oral admission test.

Design, Multimedia and Visual Communication is a master's degree of class LM-12 at Sapienza Universita di Roma. It runs for two years and is taught in person. The faculty is Architettura. The department is PIANIFICAZIONE, DESIGN, TECNOLOGIA DELL'ARCHITETTURA. The course code in the catalogue is 33432. The admission code used for payment is 12951.

The university's full description

The degree offers two curricula. One is taught in Italian and one is taught in English. The call for applications names them "Design, Multimedia and Visual Communication, in Italian language" and "Design, Multimedia and Visual Communication, in English language". You choose your curriculum after you enrol, by filling in your study plan on the GOMP platform. The published study plan lists both curricula side by side, with each course unit marked ITA or ENG.

The first year mixes theory with studio work. Students take book design and typography, design and graphic languages, performing arts, image and storytelling, and multimedia design. They then choose one studio from a first optional group and one from a second optional group. The options cover brand design, editorial design, performance design, and exhibit and spatial design. The second year covers information design, computer graphics and gaming, and design for digital education. The year ends with an elective, a further learning and training activity, and thesis work worth 15 CFU.

Admission is restricted. There are 60 places for EU candidates and candidates holding a valid residence permit in Italy, and 40 places for non-EU candidates resident abroad, of which 2 are reserved for Chinese citizens on the Marco Polo project. You take part in a comparative assessment of qualifications and you must pass an admission test. The assessment is scored out of 60. Up to 30 points come from your bachelor's degree grade and up to 30 points come from your portfolio. The oral test adds up to 10 points and focuses on commentary of your portfolio. The ranking is out of 70. A minimum of 15 points is required to be admitted to the ranking list.

The entry qualification is a bachelor's degree in Industrial Design class L-4, or an equivalent first-level design degree. A degree in another class is accepted if you hold at least 40 ECTS in a listed set of scientific-disciplinary sectors. A candidate who does not receive recognition of at least 40 ECTS is not included in the final rankings.

The English requirement for this degree is CEFR level B2. The call does not print a minimum IELTS or TOEFL score. It accepts either a language certificate or a self-certification of English at B2, and it sets no country limit on that option.

The fee to take part in the selection is 35.00 euro, paid on Infostud, and it is not refunded. Tuition is separate. Sapienza places the Faculty of Architecture in its second contribution bracket, which is 2,924 euro a year at the standard rate, plus a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro. A student whose income is declared abroad pays a fixed band amount instead. Pakistan is listed in Band A, which is 300 euro a year.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Designer nel campo del Visual e del Graphic design: Art director e Creative director, Visual e Communication Designer, Information Designer, Graphic Designer, Brand Designer, Type e editorial Designer, Visual Education Designer
  • Designer nel campo Multimedia Design: Art director e Creative director, Digital Designer, Information Designer, Interface/UX Designer, Motion Designer, Interaction and Game designer, Video maker, Digital Education Designer
  • Designer nel campo dell'Exhibit e del Performance Design: the page lists sectors rather than job titles for this profile
  • Sectors listed for the visual and multimedia profiles: servizi editoriali tradizionali per ruoli di progettazione strategica e di prodotto; enti pubblici e privati per profili dedicati alla progettazione strategica e di prodotto in chiave comunicativa; agenzie di consulenza anche di tipo strategico per la comunicazione grafica per la pubblicita e l'identita di marca e di prodotto; aziende e start up design oriented; servizi educativi in contesti formali e non formali per ruoli di progettazione strategica di design
  • Sectors listed for the exhibit and performance profile: freelance per attivita di progettazione comunicativa e allestitiva, nel campo dell'exhibit, per mostre, eventi, fiere e installazioni analogiche e digitali; presso enti privati e pubblici, istituzioni culturali, compresi i servizi museali; agenzie di consulenza; presso imprese

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Do I need IELTS for this degree?

No score is published for it. The call asks for English at CEFR level B2 and accepts either a language certificate or a self-certification of your English at B2. It names no test and sets no country limit.

Is the degree taught in English?

There are two curricula, one in Italian and one in English. You pick yours after you enrol, by filling in your study plan on the GOMP platform. The published study plan shows which course units are ITA and which are ENG.

What does it cost to apply?

35.00 euro, paid on Infostud by direct payment with PagoPA using the admission code 12951. The call states the fee is not refunded for any reason.

How much is tuition?

Sapienza puts the Faculty of Architecture in its second contribution bracket, a standard rate of 2,924 euro a year, plus 140 euro regional tax and 16 euro stamp duty. A student whose income is declared abroad pays a fixed band amount instead. Pakistan is listed in Band A, which is 300 euro a year. The 2026-2027 amounts are due to be published after 30 September.

Is there an entrance exam?

There is a comparative assessment of qualifications scored out of 60, made up of up to 30 points for your bachelor's degree grade and up to 30 points for your portfolio, and then an oral test worth up to 10 points on commentary of your portfolio. You need at least 15 points out of 70 to be admitted to the ranking list.

How many places are there?

60 for EU candidates and non-EU candidates holding a valid residence permit in Italy, and 40 for non-EU candidates resident abroad, of which 2 are reserved for Chinese citizens on the Marco Polo project.

Is a minimum grade required?

The call publishes no minimum mark. Your degree grade is converted to a points table on a 110 scale, and even a grade of up to 90 still scores. The hard bar is the 40 ECTS in the listed sectors and the 15 point ranking threshold.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€2,924

Check Pakistan eligibility