Architecture (Conservation)
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€300
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No 2027/2028 dates are published yet. The MoveIn pre-selection window for 2026/2027 non EU visa applicants ran 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026, so a Pakistani student should expect a similar window opening around December 2026, but Sapienza has not published it. 2) The programme's own call and the university academic requirements sheet disagree on the English rule. The call accepts a self-certification of B2 using a form named en_autocertificazione. The academic requirements sheet sets IELTS 5.5 and TOEFL iBT 80. It is not stated whether a non EU applicant going through MoveIn can ever use the self-certification route instead of a test. 3) The 15 September 2026 date is published in this programme's own call as the only eligibility check date for non EU applicants needing a visa, yet the programme website says the extra EU route for 2026/2027 is already closed. The two statements were not reconciled anywhere I could reach. 4) The call does not state whether the 70 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied to the bachelor's final mark or to the average of exams. 5) Whether the regional tax of 140 euro and the stamp duty of 16 euro are added on top of the 300 euro Band A contribution is not stated on the standard registration fee page for this fee route. It is stated explicitly only for distance learning programmes. 6) No number of places is published, which is consistent with open access, but no figure for past intake size was found either. Sapienza Universita di Roma course catalogue, Architecture (Conservation), code 33430
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
IELTS required
The university’s exact wording
“From Sapienza's Academic Requirements sheet, entry "MSc Architecture (Conservation)": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The programme's own call for applications states the requirement more loosely, as: "hold certified or self-certified proof of proficiency in English equivalent to level B2". The waiver on this programme is capped by country and Pakistan is not listed, so a Pakistani applicant must supply a test score.”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No 2027/2028 dates are published yet. The MoveIn pre-selection window for 2026/2027 non EU visa applicants ran 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026, so a Pakistani student should expect a similar window opening around December 2026, but Sapienza has not published it. 2) The programme's own call and the university academic requirements sheet disagree on the English rule. The call accepts a self-certification of B2 using a form named en_autocertificazione. The academic requirements sheet sets IELTS 5.5 and TOEFL iBT 80. It is not stated whether a non EU applicant going through MoveIn can ever use the self-certification route instead of a test. 3) The 15 September 2026 date is published in this programme's own call as the only eligibility check date for non EU applicants needing a visa, yet the programme website says the extra EU route for 2026/2027 is already closed. The two statements were not reconciled anywhere I could reach. 4) The call does not state whether the 70 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied to the bachelor's final mark or to the average of exams. 5) Whether the regional tax of 140 euro and the stamp duty of 16 euro are added on top of the 300 euro Band A contribution is not stated on the standard registration fee page for this fee route. It is stated explicitly only for distance learning programmes. 6) No number of places is published, which is consistent with open access, but no figure for past intake size was found either. Sapienza Universita di Roma course catalogue, Architecture (Conservation), code 33430
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectArchitecture and design
- Taught inTaught in Italian and English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsSeptember
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark70%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€300
about PKR 96,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No 2027/2028 dates are published yet. The MoveIn pre-selection window for 2026/2027 non EU visa applicants ran 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026, so a Pakistani student should expect a similar window opening around December 2026, but Sapienza has not published it. 2) The programme's own call and the university academic requirements sheet disagree on the English rule. The call accepts a self-certification of B2 using a form named en_autocertificazione. The academic requirements sheet sets IELTS 5.5 and TOEFL iBT 80. It is not stated whether a non EU applicant going through MoveIn can ever use the self-certification route instead of a test. 3) The 15 September 2026 date is published in this programme's own call as the only eligibility check date for non EU applicants needing a visa, yet the programme website says the extra EU route for 2026/2027 is already closed. The two statements were not reconciled anywhere I could reach. 4) The call does not state whether the 70 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied to the bachelor's final mark or to the average of exams. 5) Whether the regional tax of 140 euro and the stamp duty of 16 euro are added on top of the 300 euro Band A contribution is not stated on the standard registration fee page for this fee route. It is stated explicitly only for distance learning programmes. 6) No number of places is published, which is consistent with open access, but no figure for past intake size was found either.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No 2027/2028 dates are published yet. The MoveIn pre-selection window for 2026/2027 non EU visa applicants ran 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026, so a Pakistani student should expect a similar window opening around December 2026, but Sapienza has not published it. 2) The programme's own call and the university academic requirements sheet disagree on the English rule. The call accepts a self-certification of B2 using a form named en_autocertificazione. The academic requirements sheet sets IELTS 5.5 and TOEFL iBT 80. It is not stated whether a non EU applicant going through MoveIn can ever use the self-certification route instead of a test. 3) The 15 September 2026 date is published in this programme's own call as the only eligibility check date for non EU applicants needing a visa, yet the programme website says the extra EU route for 2026/2027 is already closed. The two statements were not reconciled anywhere I could reach. 4) The call does not state whether the 70 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied to the bachelor's final mark or to the average of exams. 5) Whether the regional tax of 140 euro and the stamp duty of 16 euro are added on top of the 300 euro Band A contribution is not stated on the standard registration fee page for this fee route. It is stated explicitly only for distance learning programmes. 6) No number of places is published, which is consistent with open access, but no figure for past intake size was found either. Sapienza Universita di Roma course catalogue, Architecture (Conservation), code 33430
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No 2027/2028 dates are published yet. The MoveIn pre-selection window for 2026/2027 non EU visa applicants ran 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026, so a Pakistani student should expect a similar window opening around December 2026, but Sapienza has not published it. 2) The programme's own call and the university academic requirements sheet disagree on the English rule. The call accepts a self-certification of B2 using a form named en_autocertificazione. The academic requirements sheet sets IELTS 5.5 and TOEFL iBT 80. It is not stated whether a non EU applicant going through MoveIn can ever use the self-certification route instead of a test. 3) The 15 September 2026 date is published in this programme's own call as the only eligibility check date for non EU applicants needing a visa, yet the programme website says the extra EU route for 2026/2027 is already closed. The two statements were not reconciled anywhere I could reach. 4) The call does not state whether the 70 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied to the bachelor's final mark or to the average of exams. 5) Whether the regional tax of 140 euro and the stamp duty of 16 euro are added on top of the 300 euro Band A contribution is not stated on the standard registration fee page for this fee route. It is stated explicitly only for distance learning programmes. 6) No number of places is published, which is consistent with open access, but no figure for past intake size was found either. Sapienza Universita di Roma course catalogue, Architecture (Conservation), code 33430
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“Italian, from the course catalogue Iscriversi page: "Il corso di Laurea Magistrale e ad accesso libero e prevede la verifica dei requisiti curriculari e della personale preparazione attraverso la valutazione del curriculum studiorum del candidato." English, from the same page: "The Master's Degree course is open to all and requires verification of the curricular requirements and personal preparation through the evaluation of the candidate's curriculum studiorum." The official call is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge". No number of places is published and there is no ranked competition.”
Entrance tests
The university's own test
What the call asks for
Hold a bachelor's degree in class L-17, L-23 or L-7 under Ministerial Decree 270/04, or in class 4 or 8 under Ministerial Decree 509/1999, or another qualification obtained abroad that has been recognised as equivalent
Sapienza's academic requirements sheet states it more simply for international applicants: at least a three year university degree (bachelor's degree) in Architecture
Have passed the compulsory admission tests for enrolment on a bachelor's degree programme or a single-cycle master's degree programme leading to the qualification of architect, as regulated annually at national level by the Ministry
Hold certified or self-certified proof of proficiency in English equivalent to level B2
Minimum GPA of 70 out of 100
Hold 108 CFU across named scientific disciplinary sectors, made up as follows
8 CFU in computer science, information processing and mathematics, from INF/01, ING-INF/05, MAT/02, MAT/03, MAT/05, MAT/06, MAT/07, MAT/08 or MAT/09
8 CFU in physical, technical and building services disciplines for architecture, from FIS/01, ING-IND/10 or ING-IND/11
16 CFU in historical subjects for architecture, in ICAR/18
12 CFU in representation subjects, from ICAR/06 or ICAR/17
20 CFU in architectural and urban design subjects, in ICAR/14
4 CFU in architectural, interior and landscape design, from ICAR/14, ICAR/15 or ICAR/16
4 CFU in architectural restoration, in ICAR/19
8 CFU in structural subjects, from ICAR/07, ICAR/08 or ICAR/09
12 CFU in urban design and spatial planning, from ICAR/20 or ICAR/21
12 CFU in technological architectural design, from ICAR/10, ICAR/11 or ICAR/12
4 CFU in cost estimation for architecture and urban planning, in ICAR/22
Any additional course credits required must be obtained prior to the assessment of personal knowledge
Preferential topics for evaluation are Architectural Conservation and Restoration, Architectural Survey and Drawing, Architectural or Building Technology, History of Architecture and Building and Urban Design
Non EU applicants resident abroad who need a student visa must hold a letter of pre-acceptance, which Sapienza issues only through the MoveIn platform
The English rule
IELTS required
“From Sapienza's Academic Requirements sheet, entry "MSc Architecture (Conservation)": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The programme's own call for applications states the requirement more loosely, as: "hold certified or self-certified proof of proficiency in English equivalent to level B2". The waiver on this programme is capped by country and Pakistan is not listed, so a Pakistani applicant must supply a test score.”
The application file
- Passport
- High School and University Diploma
- Transcript of Records
- Language Certificate
- Reference Letter (optional)
- Additional supporting documents
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The study plan
What you would actually study.
An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.
1st10 modules
- TOOLS AND METHODS FOR HISTORICAL RESEARCH8 CFU
- STRUCTURAL ENGINEERING OF ANCIENT AND MODERN BUILDINGS8 CFU
- ARCHITECTURAL SURVEY8 CFU
- DESIGN STUDIO 110 CFU
- STRUCTURAL CONSOLIDATION AND HVAC PLANT IN HISTORICAL BUILDINGS12 CFU
- TECHNICAL SYSTEMS6 CFU
- STRUCTURAL REINFORCEMENT6 CFU
- TECHNOLOGICAL DESIGN FOR THE ARCHITECTURAL REQUALIFICATION8 CFU
- THEORY AND PRACTICE OF CONSERVATIONChoose from a list6 CFU
- HBIM MODELS FOR ARCHITECTUREChoose from a list6 CFU
2nd14 modules
- CONSERVATION DESIGN STUDIO10 CFU
- ECONOMIC EVALUATION OF PROJECTS6 CFU
- DESIGN STUDIO 210 CFU
- CONSERVATION DESIGN STUDIO10 CFU
- URBAN REGENERATION AND CULTURAL HERITAGE REGULATORY FRAMEWORK12 CFU
- Rehabilitation and urban regeneration - LaboratoryLab or workshop4 CFU
- Town planning and cultural Heritage regulatory framework8 CFU
- Elective courseChoose from a list8 CFU
- FINAL TESTThesis12 CFU
- STRUCTURAL PERFORMANCE OF HISTORICAL MASONRYChoose from a list6 CFU
- HISTORY OF MEDIEVAL AND MODERN ART FOR ARCHITECTUREChoose from a list6 CFU
- CONSERVATION DESIGN - DEPTHChoose from a list2 CFU
- INTERNSHIP - WORKSHOP - COMPUTER SKILLSChoose from a list2 CFU
- ATELIER OF STRUCTURAL MASONRYChoose from a list2 CFU
0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 24 modules are listed here.
CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year master's degree (LM-4) at Sapienza's Faculty of Architecture in Rome, taught in English, on the survey, structural strengthening and conservation of historic buildings and urban heritage. It suits architecture graduates who want to work on existing buildings rather than new build, and who need a degree that leads to the Italian and EU architect qualification.
Architecture (Conservation) is the English taught curriculum of the Sapienza master's degree Architettura (Restauro). It runs for two years and sits in degree class LM-4. The Faculty of Architecture runs it, through the Department of History, Representation and Restoration of Architecture. The Infostud code is 33430. Classes are held at Piazza Borghese 9 in Rome. A parallel Italian taught curriculum exists under the name Architettura (Restauro). Sapienza states that the two curricula have the same classes and the same organisation, and that the only difference is the teaching language.
The university's full description
The subject is work on buildings that already exist. The first year covers historical research methods, the structural engineering of old and new buildings, and architectural survey. The second half of the first year adds a design studio, structural strengthening and building services in historic buildings, and technological design for refurbishment. The second year is built around the Conservation Design Studio, a second design studio, the economic evaluation of projects, and a module on urban regeneration and heritage law. Students also choose 6 CFU from a group that includes conservation theory, the structural behaviour of historic masonry, medieval and modern art history, and HBIM modelling. A further 2 CFU come from a short group that includes an internship or a masonry atelier. The degree ends with a final test worth 12 CFU.
Entry is open. Sapienza states that the course is open to all and checks curricular requirements and personal preparation by reading the candidate's curriculum studiorum. There is no place cap and no ranked competition. The check is real, though. You need a three year degree in architecture, you need to have passed the architecture admission test regulated each year by the Italian Ministry, and you need 108 CFU spread across eleven named subject sectors. Sapienza's academic requirements sheet sets a minimum GPA of 70 out of 100 for this programme.
English is set at CEFR level B2. For this programme Sapienza accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, or Trinity College London ISE II or higher. The waiver for an English taught degree is limited by country. It covers the EU, the EEA, Schengen countries, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States. Pakistan is not on that list, so a Pakistani applicant needs a test score. Duolingo is not accepted.
Tuition depends on where your income is declared, not on the course. Sapienza puts Pakistan in Band A. Band A students who file income tax abroad pay a fixed 300 euro per year, split into 90 euro, 105 euro and 105 euro. The standard rate for the Architecture fee bracket, paid by students assessed on Italian income without a reduction, is 2,924 euro per year. A regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro are charged separately.
Two fees are easy to confuse. International students pay 30 euro to submit a pre-selection application on the MoveIn platform, and there is no waiver for it. Separately, this programme's own call charges 10 euro for the eligibility check, paid through Infostud with code 33430.
One timing warning. Classes for 2026/2027 begin on 21 September 2026, and the programme's own website states that applications for that year are already closed for extra EU students. The pre-selection window for non EU applicants needing a visa ran from 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026. A Pakistani student reading this now is applying for 2027/2028, and Sapienza has not yet published dates for that year.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Obtaining a master's degree in the architecture field, such as Architecture (Conservation), is a mandatory requirement to become a professional Architect
- Territorial Planner (Pianificatore territoriale)
- Civil and Environmental Engineer (Ingegnere civile e ambientale)
- Landscape Architect (Paesaggista)
- Conservator-Restorer of the Architectural and Environmental Heritage (Conservatore dei beni architettonici e ambientali)
- After graduating, students have to pass the State professional exam to join the Order of Architects (Section A) if they want to work as private architect in Italy
- The degree obtained EU recognition in 2004, so students who passed the Italian national entrance test at bachelor level, the related State professional exam (Section A), and obtained the master's degree are recognized as architect in EU under Directive 2005/36/EC
- Prerequisite for admission to PhD programs (three years)
- Prerequisite for admission to a second-level Italian professional Master of one or two years
- Prerequisite for admission to the Specialization School in architectural and landscape heritage
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Can I use my Pakistani English medium degree instead of IELTS?
No. The waiver on this programme is capped by country. It covers the EU, the EEA, Schengen countries, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States. Pakistan is not on that list. You need IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, or Trinity ISE II or higher.
Is Duolingo accepted?
No. Sapienza's accepted test list is closed and Duolingo is not on it.
Is this course taught in English or Italian?
Both, as two separate curricula. Architecture (Conservation) is taught in English. Architettura (Restauro) is taught in Italian. Sapienza states the two have the same classes and the same organisation, and that the only difference is the teaching language.
How much does it cost per year?
Sapienza charges by country of residence when your income is declared abroad. Pakistan is in Band A, which is a fixed 300 euro per year, paid as 90 euro, 105 euro and 105 euro. A regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro are charged separately.
Is there an entrance exam for the master's?
There is no exam set by Sapienza for this master's. A committee reads your CV and the content of the courses you have taken. You do, however, need to have already passed the architecture admission test that Italy regulates each year at national level for bachelor and single cycle architecture degrees.
Can I still apply for 2026/2027?
Not from Pakistan. The programme's own website states that applications for 2026/2027 are already closed for extra EU students. The pre-selection window for non EU applicants needing a visa ran from 22 December 2025 to 15 May 2026. Classes begin on 21 September 2026.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€300
Check Pakistan eligibility