Ph.D in Law and Social Change: the challenges of transnational regulation
Roma Tre University, Rome
Tuition, per year
€156
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The application deadline shown is for the XLII cycle, which closed on 14 July 2026. Roma Tre had published no call for the following cycle as at 13 September 2026, so the next deadline, the next number of places and the next fee are all unknown. 2) The call names Italian as an obligatory language for this course but publishes no level, no test and no certificate. What standard of Italian is actually expected is not on any page I could reach. 3) Because no language certificate rule is published at all, it is not stated whether a medium of instruction letter from a Pakistani university would be accepted here. The institution wide position is that a letter is accepted where the programme says so, and this programme says nothing. 4) The accreditation sheet carrying the three taught courses is headed a.a. 2025/26, Ciclo 41. Whether Law and Globalisation, Methodological Seminars and Academic Skills carry the same hours in the 42nd cycle is not separately published. 5) No minimum degree mark is published. The application form makes the final mark and the full list of master's exam marks obligatory to declare, so the committee clearly uses them, but no threshold is stated. 6) The 2027 lecture and seminar calendar was not published as at 13 September 2026. Only the 2023 to 2026 calendars are online. Roma Tre University, doctoral programme page
Application deadline
closed on 14 July 2026
English requirement
The university's own test
The university’s exact wording
“The per programme page in the application system states, under Competenza linguistica richiesta ai candidati: "Il candidato dovrà obbligatoriamente conoscere le seguenti lingue: INGLESE, ITALIANO". No certificate, no test and no minimum score is named for either language. The only published check is the oral stage, described on the same page as "discussione, in lingua inglese, del curriculum del candidato e del progetto di ricerca presentato", and in English as an interview, in English, focused on the CV and the research project. The XLII cycle call itself contains no reference to IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo, a B2 certificate or any other language evidence.”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The application deadline shown is for the XLII cycle, which closed on 14 July 2026. Roma Tre had published no call for the following cycle as at 13 September 2026, so the next deadline, the next number of places and the next fee are all unknown. 2) The call names Italian as an obligatory language for this course but publishes no level, no test and no certificate. What standard of Italian is actually expected is not on any page I could reach. 3) Because no language certificate rule is published at all, it is not stated whether a medium of instruction letter from a Pakistani university would be accepted here. The institution wide position is that a letter is accepted where the programme says so, and this programme says nothing. 4) The accreditation sheet carrying the three taught courses is headed a.a. 2025/26, Ciclo 41. Whether Law and Globalisation, Methodological Seminars and Academic Skills carry the same hours in the 42nd cycle is not separately published. 5) No minimum degree mark is published. The application form makes the final mark and the full list of master's exam marks obligatory to declare, so the committee clearly uses them, but no threshold is stated. 6) The 2027 lecture and seminar calendar was not published as at 13 September 2026. Only the 2023 to 2026 calendars are online. Roma Tre University, doctoral programme page
- LevelPhDDottorato di Ricerca
- SubjectLaw
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length3 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsJanuary
- AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
- Minimum markNot yet read
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€156
about PKR 50,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The application deadline shown is for the XLII cycle, which closed on 14 July 2026. Roma Tre had published no call for the following cycle as at 13 September 2026, so the next deadline, the next number of places and the next fee are all unknown. 2) The call names Italian as an obligatory language for this course but publishes no level, no test and no certificate. What standard of Italian is actually expected is not on any page I could reach. 3) Because no language certificate rule is published at all, it is not stated whether a medium of instruction letter from a Pakistani university would be accepted here. The institution wide position is that a letter is accepted where the programme says so, and this programme says nothing. 4) The accreditation sheet carrying the three taught courses is headed a.a. 2025/26, Ciclo 41. Whether Law and Globalisation, Methodological Seminars and Academic Skills carry the same hours in the 42nd cycle is not separately published. 5) No minimum degree mark is published. The application form makes the final mark and the full list of master's exam marks obligatory to declare, so the committee clearly uses them, but no threshold is stated. 6) The 2027 lecture and seminar calendar was not published as at 13 September 2026. Only the 2023 to 2026 calendars are online.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The application deadline shown is for the XLII cycle, which closed on 14 July 2026. Roma Tre had published no call for the following cycle as at 13 September 2026, so the next deadline, the next number of places and the next fee are all unknown. 2) The call names Italian as an obligatory language for this course but publishes no level, no test and no certificate. What standard of Italian is actually expected is not on any page I could reach. 3) Because no language certificate rule is published at all, it is not stated whether a medium of instruction letter from a Pakistani university would be accepted here. The institution wide position is that a letter is accepted where the programme says so, and this programme says nothing. 4) The accreditation sheet carrying the three taught courses is headed a.a. 2025/26, Ciclo 41. Whether Law and Globalisation, Methodological Seminars and Academic Skills carry the same hours in the 42nd cycle is not separately published. 5) No minimum degree mark is published. The application form makes the final mark and the full list of master's exam marks obligatory to declare, so the committee clearly uses them, but no threshold is stated. 6) The 2027 lecture and seminar calendar was not published as at 13 September 2026. Only the 2023 to 2026 calendars are online. Roma Tre University, doctoral programme page
To be considered, once
€35
about PKR 11,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The application deadline shown is for the XLII cycle, which closed on 14 July 2026. Roma Tre had published no call for the following cycle as at 13 September 2026, so the next deadline, the next number of places and the next fee are all unknown. 2) The call names Italian as an obligatory language for this course but publishes no level, no test and no certificate. What standard of Italian is actually expected is not on any page I could reach. 3) Because no language certificate rule is published at all, it is not stated whether a medium of instruction letter from a Pakistani university would be accepted here. The institution wide position is that a letter is accepted where the programme says so, and this programme says nothing. 4) The accreditation sheet carrying the three taught courses is headed a.a. 2025/26, Ciclo 41. Whether Law and Globalisation, Methodological Seminars and Academic Skills carry the same hours in the 42nd cycle is not separately published. 5) No minimum degree mark is published. The application form makes the final mark and the full list of master's exam marks obligatory to declare, so the committee clearly uses them, but no threshold is stated. 6) The 2027 lecture and seminar calendar was not published as at 13 September 2026. Only the 2023 to 2026 calendars are online. Roma Tre University, doctoral programme page
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Restricted, entrance test
accesso programmato
The university's own wording
“Art. 1 comma 1 of the XLII cycle call opens a competitive public selection: "è indetta una selezione pubblica per l'ammissione ai corsi di dottorato di ricerca relativi al XLII ciclo della formazione dottorale". The call's table for this course reads TOTALE 3, meaning three places, each with a scholarship. Art. 8 of the English version fills places in rank order until the number available is used up. That is restricted access, the doctoral equivalent of accesso programmato, not accesso libero.”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
An Italian Laurea Magistrale or Laurea Specialistica under Ministerial Act 270 of 22 October 2004, or an equivalent degree granted abroad.
Equivalence of a foreign qualification is assessed by the Selecting Admission Committee, which considers international agreements. There is no separate pre assessment office for this course.
Documents supporting equivalence must be produced in Italian or English only, and must be uploaded with the application. The call says an incomplete upload means the application is not considered.
A candidate who expects to gain the degree by 31 December 2026 may still apply.
Knowledge of English and Italian. The application system lists both as obligatory for this course.
A compulsory research project, on one of the themes named in the call, chosen at the point of applying online.
Two letters of presentation, each written by a university teacher. Both are marked obligatorio.
A non Italian citizen must upload a passport. The call says no other identity document is accepted.
On admission, a holder of a foreign degree must produce a dichiarazione di valore in loco issued by an Italian embassy or consulate. Without it the enrolment cannot be completed.
Admission carries an exclusive, full time commitment under Art. 12 comma 1 of the call, applying D.M. 226/2021.
The English rule
The university's own test
“The per programme page in the application system states, under Competenza linguistica richiesta ai candidati: "Il candidato dovrà obbligatoriamente conoscere le seguenti lingue: INGLESE, ITALIANO". No certificate, no test and no minimum score is named for either language. The only published check is the oral stage, described on the same page as "discussione, in lingua inglese, del curriculum del candidato e del progetto di ricerca presentato", and in English as an interview, in English, focused on the CV and the research project. The XLII cycle call itself contains no reference to IELTS, TOEFL, Duolingo, a B2 certificate or any other language evidence.”
The application file
- data e voto di laurea (degree date and final mark, obbligatorio)
- elenco degli esami sostenuti per la laurea MAGISTRALE e relative votazioni (list of master's level exams taken with their marks, obbligatorio)
- elenco cronologico di Borse di studio, Assegni di ricerca (et similia) percepiti (dated list of scholarships and research grants held)
- Diplomi/certificati di conoscenza lingue estere (foreign language diplomas or certificates, if the candidate has any)
- Diplomi/attestati di partecipazione di corsi universitari post-lauream (postgraduate course certificates)
- Attestati di partecipazione a gruppi di ricerca (evidence of taking part in research groups)
- Attestati di partecipazione a stage (evidence of internships)
- Altri riconoscimenti (p. es.: premiazione in concorsi, seconda laurea) (other awards, for example competition prizes or a second degree)
- progetto di ricerca (research project, Obbligatorio)
- elenco delle pubblicazioni (list of publications, Non obbligatorio)
- descrizione delle precedenti esperienze di ricerca (account of earlier research experience, Non obbligatorio)
- pubblicazioni (un pdf per ciascuna) (publications, one PDF each, Non obbligatorio)
- Curriculum Vitae (Obbligatorio)
- prima lettera di presentazione (a cura di un docente) (first letter of presentation, written by a university teacher, Obbligatorio)
- seconda lettera di presentazione (a cura di un docente) (second letter of presentation, written by a university teacher, Obbligatorio)
- abstract tesi di laurea (abstract of the master's thesis, Non obbligatorio)
- PASSAPORTO (passport, required by the main call from every non Italian citizen, no other identity document accepted)
- Documents supporting the equivalence of a foreign degree, in Italian or English only, required by Section 2 of the main call
English, accepted proofs
- No English test required
- An interview
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A three year research doctorate in law at Roma Tre, run in English with European partner universities, on how law is made and applied across borders. It suits a law graduate with a written research project who wants a funded doctoral post in Rome rather than a taught master's.
Roma Tre runs this doctorate at its Department of Law. The full title on the university page is Law and social change: the challenges of transnational regulation. The course lasts three academic years. The XLII cycle runs from 1 January 2027 to 31 December 2029. The university states that the primary working language is English. The course is set up under an agreement with several European partner universities, and teaching and research activities take place at those partner institutions as well as in Rome. The stated aim is to study the legal questions raised by the crisis of state sovereignty, by the break up of the traditional system of sources of law, and by the regulation of relationships and phenomena that cross borders.
The university's full description
The ministry accreditation sheet for this course lists three taught courses. They are Law and Globalisation, 60 hours across the whole cycle. Methodological Seminars, 20 hours. Academic Skills, 10 hours. All three are active in the first, second and third year. The sheet records no final examination for any of the three. It gives an average of 30 taught hours per year. Alongside them the department publishes a dated calendar of lectures and seminars for each year, split into compulsory attendance and also of interest.
Admission is by public selection, not by open enrolment. The XLII cycle call offered three places on this course and every one of them carried a scholarship. One is funded by the Dipartimenti di Eccellenza 2023-2027 programme, one by the University of Messina and one by the Ministry of Economy and Finance. The committee marks the candidate out of sixty. Thirty points go to the file, which includes a compulsory research project, and thirty to an oral interview. Any stage scored below 18 out of 30 is a fail. The interview is held in English. A candidate living outside Italy may ask to sit it remotely by writing to the department.
A doctoral student pays 156.00 euro a year. That is the regional right to study tax of 140.00 euro plus a duty stamp of 16.00 euro. The call sets the same figure for students with a scholarship and for students without one, so the ISEE bands that grade fees on the rest of the university do not apply to this course. The scholarship is 16,243.00 euro gross per year, paid monthly. It rises by 50 per cent for authorised study or research periods abroad. Every enrolled student, funded or not, also receives a research budget worth 10 per cent of the annual gross scholarship.
The call asks for two languages, not one. The programme page inside the application system says the candidate must know English and Italian. No certificate, test or minimum score is published for either language. The three taught courses are delivered in English. Several of the seminars listed under compulsory attendance in the 2026 calendar carry Italian titles, so a reader should not assume every compulsory session is in English.
The XLII cycle closed at 14:00 Rome time on 14 July 2026. No call for the following cycle had been published as at 13 September 2026.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- An academic career in any of the university systems represented by the partner institutions of the doctorate
- Employment in supranational institutions, first of all the institutions of the European Union
- Employment in the independent authorities that regulate national markets, for example AgCom, AGCM, Garante Protezione Dati Personali and Consob
- Employment in supranational regulators, for example the European Banking Authority and the European Medicines Agency
- Employment in multinational law firms with a head office or a branch outside Italy
- Employment or collaboration with Italian or foreign third sector bodies
- Employment in business, especially in sectors tied to digitalisation, artificial intelligence and new technologies
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Can I still apply?
Not to this cycle. The XLII cycle closed at 14:00 Rome time on 14 July 2026 and its course starts on 1 January 2027. No call for the next cycle had been published as at 13 September 2026. Roma Tre publishes each new call on its PhD calls page.
Do I need IELTS or TOEFL?
Roma Tre publishes no English test and no minimum score for this doctorate. The application system says the candidate must know English and Italian. English is judged in the compulsory oral interview, which is held in English. Duolingo appears nowhere in Roma Tre's rules.
Is Italian really required?
The programme page in the application system lists Italian as obligatory alongside English. No level and no test is published for it. The three taught courses are in English, but several seminars listed under compulsory attendance for 2026 carry Italian titles. Treat this as a real requirement and ask the department before applying.
What does it cost?
A doctoral student pays 156.00 euro a year, made up of a 140.00 euro regional right to study tax and a 16.00 euro duty stamp. The call sets the same amount whether or not you hold a scholarship. Applying costs 35.00 euro per application, paid through PagoPA, and is not refunded.
Is there funding?
All three places in the XLII cycle carried a scholarship of 16,243.00 euro gross per year, paid monthly. It rises by 50 per cent for authorised periods abroad. Every enrolled student also gets a research budget worth 10 per cent of the annual gross scholarship.
What will I actually be taught?
Three courses, all in English: Law and Globalisation over 60 hours across the three years, Methodological Seminars over 20 hours and Academic Skills over 10 hours. The accreditation sheet records no final examination for any of them. Most of the work is your own supervised research, with a compulsory seminar calendar the department publishes each year.
Can I do the interview from Pakistan?
Yes, on request. The programme page says a candidate resident abroad may ask to sit the interview online by emailing dottorato.giurisprudenza@uniroma3.it.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€156
Check Pakistan eligibility