Skip to content
UniConnect360

Sustainable coastal and ocean engineering

Roma Tre University, Rome

Tuition, per year

€156

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The B2 English requirement names no accepted certificate and no minimum score. Which certificates the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile accepts, and whether an English taught bachelor's satisfies it without a certificate, is not published. 2) The admission call also states, in the engineering department section Art. 2, that a candidate must hold an Italian B2 certificate or pass the university's own Italian test in order to enrol, and it does not say English taught degrees are exempt. Roma Tre's Regolamento per l'ammissione ai corsi universitari con titolo estero, Art. 7, sets a floor of B1 in Italian or in the foreign language in which the course is entirely taught, and allows individual course regulations to set different levels. Which of the two applies to this English taught degree is not stated anywhere for this programme. 3) The admission call says the reserved area can be accessed only with SPID or CIE, the Italian digital identity and electronic identity card. How an applicant living in Pakistan without either registers and submits the application in 2026/2027 is not stated in the call. 4) The Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa is set by the ministry and is not published in the Roma Tre admission call. The English page on enrolment with a foreign qualification still shows the 2024 date and was last updated on 15 October 2024. 5) No application fee is published for the ordinary window, and the call never says the application is free. The only figures the call publishes are a 60 euro indemnity for a late application and a 70 euro fee for the university's Italian language test. Roma Tre University, official course page for Ingegneria costiera e marina sostenibile (Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering), LM-23, A.A. 2026/2027

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

The university's own test

The university’s exact wording
“Bando di ammissione ai corsi di Laurea Magistrale 2026-2027, Art. 9 B, engineering department section: "Per il corso di laurea in Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering e Ingegneria Aerospaziale sono richieste conoscenza e padronanza della lingua inglese, da dimostrare tramite il possesso del livello B2 (CEF)." The programme's own teaching regulation, Art. 3, prints the same requirement in both languages: "livello di conoscenza della lingua inglese non inferiore al B2 del quadro comune europeo di riferimento" and "Level of knowledge of the English language not lower than B2 of the common European framework of reference." Neither document names a test or a score. There is no IELTS, TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo minimum published for this degree, and Duolingo appears on no Roma Tre list. Art. 3 and Art. 4 of the teaching regulation say the minimum knowledge, English included, is verified "tramite l'analisi del curriculum presentato e, eventualmente, con un colloquio", that is by analysing the study plan you submit and, where needed, an interview. No medium of instruction letter is mentioned for this programme.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The B2 English requirement names no accepted certificate and no minimum score. Which certificates the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile accepts, and whether an English taught bachelor's satisfies it without a certificate, is not published. 2) The admission call also states, in the engineering department section Art. 2, that a candidate must hold an Italian B2 certificate or pass the university's own Italian test in order to enrol, and it does not say English taught degrees are exempt. Roma Tre's Regolamento per l'ammissione ai corsi universitari con titolo estero, Art. 7, sets a floor of B1 in Italian or in the foreign language in which the course is entirely taught, and allows individual course regulations to set different levels. Which of the two applies to this English taught degree is not stated anywhere for this programme. 3) The admission call says the reserved area can be accessed only with SPID or CIE, the Italian digital identity and electronic identity card. How an applicant living in Pakistan without either registers and submits the application in 2026/2027 is not stated in the call. 4) The Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa is set by the ministry and is not published in the Roma Tre admission call. The English page on enrolment with a foreign qualification still shows the 2024 date and was last updated on 15 October 2024. 5) No application fee is published for the ordinary window, and the call never says the application is free. The only figures the call publishes are a 60 euro indemnity for a late application and a 70 euro fee for the university's Italian language test. Roma Tre University, official course page for Ingegneria costiera e marina sostenibile (Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering), LM-23, A.A. 2026/2027

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectEngineering
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember and October
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€156

about PKR 50,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The B2 English requirement names no accepted certificate and no minimum score. Which certificates the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile accepts, and whether an English taught bachelor's satisfies it without a certificate, is not published. 2) The admission call also states, in the engineering department section Art. 2, that a candidate must hold an Italian B2 certificate or pass the university's own Italian test in order to enrol, and it does not say English taught degrees are exempt. Roma Tre's Regolamento per l'ammissione ai corsi universitari con titolo estero, Art. 7, sets a floor of B1 in Italian or in the foreign language in which the course is entirely taught, and allows individual course regulations to set different levels. Which of the two applies to this English taught degree is not stated anywhere for this programme. 3) The admission call says the reserved area can be accessed only with SPID or CIE, the Italian digital identity and electronic identity card. How an applicant living in Pakistan without either registers and submits the application in 2026/2027 is not stated in the call. 4) The Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa is set by the ministry and is not published in the Roma Tre admission call. The English page on enrolment with a foreign qualification still shows the 2024 date and was last updated on 15 October 2024. 5) No application fee is published for the ordinary window, and the call never says the application is free. The only figures the call publishes are a 60 euro indemnity for a late application and a 70 euro fee for the university's Italian language test.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The B2 English requirement names no accepted certificate and no minimum score. Which certificates the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile accepts, and whether an English taught bachelor's satisfies it without a certificate, is not published. 2) The admission call also states, in the engineering department section Art. 2, that a candidate must hold an Italian B2 certificate or pass the university's own Italian test in order to enrol, and it does not say English taught degrees are exempt. Roma Tre's Regolamento per l'ammissione ai corsi universitari con titolo estero, Art. 7, sets a floor of B1 in Italian or in the foreign language in which the course is entirely taught, and allows individual course regulations to set different levels. Which of the two applies to this English taught degree is not stated anywhere for this programme. 3) The admission call says the reserved area can be accessed only with SPID or CIE, the Italian digital identity and electronic identity card. How an applicant living in Pakistan without either registers and submits the application in 2026/2027 is not stated in the call. 4) The Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa is set by the ministry and is not published in the Roma Tre admission call. The English page on enrolment with a foreign qualification still shows the 2024 date and was last updated on 15 October 2024. 5) No application fee is published for the ordinary window, and the call never says the application is free. The only figures the call publishes are a 60 euro indemnity for a late application and a 70 euro fee for the university's Italian language test. Roma Tre University, official course page for Ingegneria costiera e marina sostenibile (Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering), LM-23, A.A. 2026/2027

To be considered, once

Not yet read from the call

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The B2 English requirement names no accepted certificate and no minimum score. Which certificates the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile accepts, and whether an English taught bachelor's satisfies it without a certificate, is not published. 2) The admission call also states, in the engineering department section Art. 2, that a candidate must hold an Italian B2 certificate or pass the university's own Italian test in order to enrol, and it does not say English taught degrees are exempt. Roma Tre's Regolamento per l'ammissione ai corsi universitari con titolo estero, Art. 7, sets a floor of B1 in Italian or in the foreign language in which the course is entirely taught, and allows individual course regulations to set different levels. Which of the two applies to this English taught degree is not stated anywhere for this programme. 3) The admission call says the reserved area can be accessed only with SPID or CIE, the Italian digital identity and electronic identity card. How an applicant living in Pakistan without either registers and submits the application in 2026/2027 is not stated in the call. 4) The Universitaly pre-enrolment deadline for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa is set by the ministry and is not published in the Roma Tre admission call. The English page on enrolment with a foreign qualification still shows the 2024 date and was last updated on 15 October 2024. 5) No application fee is published for the ordinary window, and the call never says the application is free. The only figures the call publishes are a 60 euro indemnity for a late application and a 70 euro fee for the university's Italian language test. Roma Tre University, official course page for Ingegneria costiera e marina sostenibile (Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering), LM-23, A.A. 2026/2027

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “Regolamento Didattico LM Ingegneria Costiera e Marina Sostenibile A.A. 2026-27, Art. 4 Modalita di ammissione: "Il corso di studio e ad accesso libero." The regulation prints this with the Italian accent as "Il corso di studio è ad accesso libero", meaning the course is open access. The admission call publishes a places table only for the Architecture department; the engineering department section has no Posti disponibili table and no numero programmato clause. Admission still depends on a prior career assessment application and on meeting the credit requirements in Art. 3.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. A first cycle degree, a specialistica or magistrale degree, a degree under the pre DM 509/99 system, or a foreign qualification judged equivalent

  2. 36 CFU in the base areas 'matematica, informatica e statistica' and 'fisica e chimica' set by the MUR decree of 16 March 2007 for the Italian bachelor class L7 in Ingegneria Civile Ambientale

  3. 36 CFU in the sectors ICAR/01, ICAR/02, ICAR/08 and ICAR/09, now coded CEAR-01/A, CEAR-01/B, CEAR-05/A, CEAR-06/A and CEAR-07/A, with at least one exam passed in each of the sectors listed

  4. Livello di conoscenza della lingua inglese non inferiore al B2 del quadro comune europeo di riferimento (English at B2 of the Common European Framework or above)

  5. The minimum knowledge above is assessed by analysing the study plan you submit and, where needed, an interview

  6. Applicants who have not yet graduated may apply if they expect to graduate by March 2027, but must hold the degree before enrolling

The English rule

The university's own test

“Bando di ammissione ai corsi di Laurea Magistrale 2026-2027, Art. 9 B, engineering department section: "Per il corso di laurea in Sustainable Coastal and Ocean Engineering e Ingegneria Aerospaziale sono richieste conoscenza e padronanza della lingua inglese, da dimostrare tramite il possesso del livello B2 (CEF)." The programme's own teaching regulation, Art. 3, prints the same requirement in both languages: "livello di conoscenza della lingua inglese non inferiore al B2 del quadro comune europeo di riferimento" and "Level of knowledge of the English language not lower than B2 of the common European framework of reference." Neither document names a test or a score. There is no IELTS, TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo minimum published for this degree, and Duolingo appears on no Roma Tre list. Art. 3 and Art. 4 of the teaching regulation say the minimum knowledge, English included, is verified "tramite l'analisi del curriculum presentato e, eventualmente, con un colloquio", that is by analysing the study plan you submit and, where needed, an interview. No medium of instruction letter is mentioned for this programme.”

The application file

  • Online prior career assessment application (domanda di valutazione preventiva della carriera), one application for each master's degree you are interested in
  • The full list of course units from your previous degree, each with its CFU, its scientific disciplinary sector (SSD), the date passed and the mark
  • The syllabus of each course unit, required for applicants coming from a university other than Roma Tre
  • Your secondary school qualification details and your previous university qualification details
  • The documentation of a qualification awarded abroad, uploaded online before enrolment
  • A signed copy of the enrolment application
  • A copy of a valid identity document
  • A copy of the residence permit or visa, for non-EU citizens

English, accepted proofs

  • An interview

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two-year master's degree in coastal and marine civil engineering, taught in English at Roma Tre's Ostia site outside Rome. It suits civil or mechanical engineering graduates who want to work on ports, coastal defences, marine infrastructure and water quality.

Roma Tre runs this degree under the Italian name Ingegneria costiera e marina sostenibile, in the degree class LM-23, Civil Engineering. The teaching is in English. The department describes it as a two year master course at the university branch at Ostia, about 30 minutes from the centre of Rome. The department also says the course is open to graduate civil and mechanical engineers worldwide.

The university's full description

The course page says the degree trains people to protect and sustainably develop the coastal and marine environment. It lists three routes to that: planning and managing coastal land and its resources, designing and building coastal and marine civil infrastructure such as ports, transport links, reclamation works, sea defences and platforms, and upgrading existing structures. The page also says the degree gives access to doctoral programmes in Civil Engineering.

The 2026/2027 study plan lists the taught units. First year, first semester: OCEAN SENSING AND MONITORING (6 credits), OFFSHORE STRUCTURES ENGINEERING (6), and OCEAN DYNAMICS AND TRANSPORT PHENOMENA IN FLUIDS, split into Ocean Dynamics (6) and Transport phenomena (9). First year, second semester: COASTAL HYDROLOGY, split into COASTAL HYDROLOGY-COASTAL FLOWS (6) and COASTAL HYDROLOGY-COASTAL CONTAMINANTS (6), then MARINE SUSTAINABILITY AND ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ASSESSMENT (6), MARINE ECOSYSTEMS AND BIO-RESOURCES (5) and MARITIME POLICIES AND BLUE ECONOMY (5).

Second year, first semester: COASTAL AND HARBOUR ENGINEERING-GENERAL THEORY (9), MARITIME TRANSPORTATION AND INFRASTRUCTURES-A (6), MARITIME TRANSPORTATION AND INFRASTRUCTURES-B (6) and SUSTAINABLE STRUCTURAL DESIGN AND RETROFITTING (6). Second year, second semester: COASTAL AND HARBOUR ENGINEERING-SUSTAINABLE DESIGN (6), MARINE GEOTECHNICS (6), FREE CHOICE (8), FOREIGN LANGUAGE (6) and FINAL THESIS (12). The plan marks every unit ENG for language, except FREE CHOICE, which it marks ITA.

The programme's own teaching regulation for 2026/2027 says the course has open access. There is no entrance exam and the admission call publishes no cap on places for this department. You still have to pass a check of your previous degree. Roma Tre calls this the domanda di valutazione preventiva della carriera, the prior career assessment application. The regulation says the check is made by analysing the study plan you submit and, where needed, an interview. If the result is negative you can take single course units to fill the gap before reapplying.

The prior career assessment application for 2026/2027 opened on 7 April 2026 and closes on 15 September 2026. A late window runs to 15 December 2026 and adds 60 euro for each application submitted. The outcome is published by 6 October 2026. Enrolment runs from 7 April 2026 to 16 November 2026. People admitted on condition have until 31 March 2027. Teaching starts between the second half of September and the first days of October and is split into two semesters.

Fees are set by the Roma Tre fee regulation, not by the department. The first instalment always includes 16 euro of stamp duty and 140 euro of regional tax, which is 156 euro of fixed charges. A student in the lowest ISEE band pays 156 euro for the year and nothing more. A student in the highest band for 2026/2027 pays four instalments of 522, 550, 550 and 624 euro. Not filing an ISEE certificate places you in the highest band automatically.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • aziende volte alla progettazione, costruzione e gestione delle infrastrutture costiere (companies that design, build and manage coastal infrastructure)
  • enti pubblici (public bodies)
  • societa di consulenza e progettazione (consultancy and design firms)
  • enti di ricerca e sviluppo (research and development bodies)
  • attivita professionale autonoma (independent professional practice)
  • Il Corso da accesso ai corsi di dottorato in Ingegneria Civile (the degree gives access to doctoral programmes in Civil Engineering)

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Does this degree need IELTS or TOEFL?

Roma Tre publishes no score for this degree. The admission call and the teaching regulation both ask for English at level B2 of the Common European Framework, and neither names a test. The regulation says the check is made by analysing the study plan you submit and, where needed, an interview. Ask the Collegio Didattico di Ingegneria Civile which certificates it accepts before you apply.

Is there an entrance exam?

No. The teaching regulation for 2026/2027 says the course has open access. You submit a prior career assessment application and the course checks your previous degree against its credit requirements. An interview is possible but is not a scored entrance exam.

What does a year cost?

The first instalment always includes 16 euro of stamp duty and 140 euro of regional tax. A student in the lowest ISEE band pays 156 euro for the year and nothing more. A student in the highest band for 2026/2027 pays four instalments of 522, 550, 550 and 624 euro. If you do not file an ISEE certificate you are placed in the highest band.

When does the application close?

The prior career assessment application for 2026/2027 closes on 15 September 2026. A late window runs to 15 December 2026 and adds 60 euro for each application, charged whatever the outcome. The outcome is published by 6 October 2026 and enrolment runs to 16 November 2026.

Where is the course taught?

The department says the course runs at the university branch at Ostia, about 30 minutes from the centre of Rome.

Is every class in English?

The 2026/2027 study plan marks every unit ENG except the FREE CHOICE unit of 8 credits in the second year, which it marks ITA.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€156

Check Pakistan eligibility