Environmental economics, labour and sustainable development (LM-56)
Roma Tre University, Rome
Tuition, per year
€156
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Whether a Pakistani applicant can substitute B2 English for B2 Italian at enrolment. The Economics section of the 2026-2027 admission notice states only the Italian B2 requirement for holders of a foreign qualification and says no other certificate or test is accepted. Article 7 comma 1 of the foreign qualification rules allows B2 in the language the course is entirely taught in, and only the Global Development track is entirely in English. The two Italian taught tracks appear to need Italian B2. This should be confirmed with the Ufficio Studenti con Titolo estero before a student is advised. 2) Whether the Application Form link published on the programme page is the right entry point for the 2026-2027 cycle. The URL carries AccademicYear=2025 and redirects to a GOMP login that offers SPID, CIE, Google and Shibboleth. SPID and CIE are Italian electronic identity schemes. The route for an applicant with no Italian e-ID is not stated on the programme page. 3) The non EU pre-enrolment deadline on Universitaly. The admission notice points non EU applicants resident abroad to universitaly.it but publishes no date for that step in the Economics section. 4) The exact number of places. Accesso libero means there is no cap, but no indicative cohort size is published. Roma Tre University, Environmental economics, labour and sustainable development (LM-56)
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
The university's own test
The university’s exact wording
“Regolamento didattico 2026-2027, Art. 3 point c: "E' richiesta inoltre la conoscenza della lingua inglese a livello B2." The same clause states that if B2 is not held at the time of enrolment, the candidate must sit it compulsorily within the "Altre Attivita Formative" of the course, which is the 6 CFU Lingua inglese or Business English slot. Students who already hold a B2 English certificate may use that slot for another language, provided the course is at least 40 hours or 6 CFU. For the Global Development double degree track only, B2 English (CEFR) must be held in order to enter the selection. The clause refers the list of accepted certificates to the Centro Linguistico di Ateneo. The CLA list sets B2 at these scores: IELTS 5.0 to 5.5 (6.0 to 7.5 is recorded as B2+); TOEFL internet based test 72 to 94; PTE Academic 59 to 75; Cambridge First (FCE); Trinity ISE 2; Oxford Test of English overall 111 to 141; Aptis ESOL General or Advance at B2. LanguageCert English as a Second Language and Gatehouse Award Classic IESOL are accepted only as full four skill tests. Duolingo is not on the list. A certificate must have been obtained no more than four years before it is submitted.”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Whether a Pakistani applicant can substitute B2 English for B2 Italian at enrolment. The Economics section of the 2026-2027 admission notice states only the Italian B2 requirement for holders of a foreign qualification and says no other certificate or test is accepted. Article 7 comma 1 of the foreign qualification rules allows B2 in the language the course is entirely taught in, and only the Global Development track is entirely in English. The two Italian taught tracks appear to need Italian B2. This should be confirmed with the Ufficio Studenti con Titolo estero before a student is advised. 2) Whether the Application Form link published on the programme page is the right entry point for the 2026-2027 cycle. The URL carries AccademicYear=2025 and redirects to a GOMP login that offers SPID, CIE, Google and Shibboleth. SPID and CIE are Italian electronic identity schemes. The route for an applicant with no Italian e-ID is not stated on the programme page. 3) The non EU pre-enrolment deadline on Universitaly. The admission notice points non EU applicants resident abroad to universitaly.it but publishes no date for that step in the Economics section. 4) The exact number of places. Accesso libero means there is no cap, but no indicative cohort size is published. Roma Tre University, Environmental economics, labour and sustainable development (LM-56)
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectBusiness and economics
- Taught inTaught in Italian and English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsOctober
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum markNot yet read
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€156
about PKR 50,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Whether a Pakistani applicant can substitute B2 English for B2 Italian at enrolment. The Economics section of the 2026-2027 admission notice states only the Italian B2 requirement for holders of a foreign qualification and says no other certificate or test is accepted. Article 7 comma 1 of the foreign qualification rules allows B2 in the language the course is entirely taught in, and only the Global Development track is entirely in English. The two Italian taught tracks appear to need Italian B2. This should be confirmed with the Ufficio Studenti con Titolo estero before a student is advised. 2) Whether the Application Form link published on the programme page is the right entry point for the 2026-2027 cycle. The URL carries AccademicYear=2025 and redirects to a GOMP login that offers SPID, CIE, Google and Shibboleth. SPID and CIE are Italian electronic identity schemes. The route for an applicant with no Italian e-ID is not stated on the programme page. 3) The non EU pre-enrolment deadline on Universitaly. The admission notice points non EU applicants resident abroad to universitaly.it but publishes no date for that step in the Economics section. 4) The exact number of places. Accesso libero means there is no cap, but no indicative cohort size is published.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Whether a Pakistani applicant can substitute B2 English for B2 Italian at enrolment. The Economics section of the 2026-2027 admission notice states only the Italian B2 requirement for holders of a foreign qualification and says no other certificate or test is accepted. Article 7 comma 1 of the foreign qualification rules allows B2 in the language the course is entirely taught in, and only the Global Development track is entirely in English. The two Italian taught tracks appear to need Italian B2. This should be confirmed with the Ufficio Studenti con Titolo estero before a student is advised. 2) Whether the Application Form link published on the programme page is the right entry point for the 2026-2027 cycle. The URL carries AccademicYear=2025 and redirects to a GOMP login that offers SPID, CIE, Google and Shibboleth. SPID and CIE are Italian electronic identity schemes. The route for an applicant with no Italian e-ID is not stated on the programme page. 3) The non EU pre-enrolment deadline on Universitaly. The admission notice points non EU applicants resident abroad to universitaly.it but publishes no date for that step in the Economics section. 4) The exact number of places. Accesso libero means there is no cap, but no indicative cohort size is published. Roma Tre University, Environmental economics, labour and sustainable development (LM-56)
To be considered, once
Free
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Whether a Pakistani applicant can substitute B2 English for B2 Italian at enrolment. The Economics section of the 2026-2027 admission notice states only the Italian B2 requirement for holders of a foreign qualification and says no other certificate or test is accepted. Article 7 comma 1 of the foreign qualification rules allows B2 in the language the course is entirely taught in, and only the Global Development track is entirely in English. The two Italian taught tracks appear to need Italian B2. This should be confirmed with the Ufficio Studenti con Titolo estero before a student is advised. 2) Whether the Application Form link published on the programme page is the right entry point for the 2026-2027 cycle. The URL carries AccademicYear=2025 and redirects to a GOMP login that offers SPID, CIE, Google and Shibboleth. SPID and CIE are Italian electronic identity schemes. The route for an applicant with no Italian e-ID is not stated on the programme page. 3) The non EU pre-enrolment deadline on Universitaly. The admission notice points non EU applicants resident abroad to universitaly.it but publishes no date for that step in the Economics section. 4) The exact number of places. Accesso libero means there is no cap, but no indicative cohort size is published. Roma Tre University, Environmental economics, labour and sustainable development (LM-56)
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“Regolamento didattico 2026-2027, Art. 3: "Il CdS e ad accesso libero e per essere ammessi occorre essere in possesso di una laurea o di un diploma universitario di durata triennale o di altro titolo di studio conseguito all'estero, riconosciuto idoneo secondo la normativa vigente." Accesso libero means there is no capped number of places and no ranked entrance examination. Admission still depends on a preliminary assessment of your academic record (valutazione preventiva della carriera) and, unless you are exempt by mark, an interview.”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
A three year first degree, a specialist or master's degree, a degree under the pre DM 509/99 system, or a foreign qualification judged equivalent.
Direct subject match if your degree is in class L-33 Scienze economiche, L-18 Scienze dell'economia e della gestione aziendale or L-36 Scienze politiche e delle relazioni internazionali, or the DM 509 equivalents class 28, class 17 or class 15, or a four year equivalent degree.
If your degree is in any other class, at least 12 CFU in the economics sectors SECS-P/01, SECS-P/02, SECS-P/03, SECS-P/04, SECS-P/05 or SECS-P/06.
If your degree is in any other class, at least 6 CFU in the statistics sectors SECS-S/01, SECS-S/03, SECS-S/04 or SECS-S/06.
If your degree is in any other class, at least 6 CFU in the law sectors IUS/01, IUS/09, IUS/10, IUS/13 or IUS/14.
Missing credits must be made up before enrolment, only by taking and passing single bachelor level courses at Roma Tre or another university.
For a qualification obtained abroad, an internal committee of the degree course decides how missing credits are to be made up.
English at CEFR B2. If you do not hold it when you enrol, you must take the English course inside the degree as part of the Altre attivita formative.
An interview to verify personal preparation. You are exempt if you graduated with at least 90 out of 110, or, if not yet graduated when you apply, if your exam average is at least 24 out of 30.
For holders of a foreign qualification, the university wide admission notice requires an Italian language certificate at B2 level or a pass in the Roma Tre Italian language test, which costs 70 euro and has a written and an oral part.
The English rule
The university's own test
“Regolamento didattico 2026-2027, Art. 3 point c: "E' richiesta inoltre la conoscenza della lingua inglese a livello B2." The same clause states that if B2 is not held at the time of enrolment, the candidate must sit it compulsorily within the "Altre Attivita Formative" of the course, which is the 6 CFU Lingua inglese or Business English slot. Students who already hold a B2 English certificate may use that slot for another language, provided the course is at least 40 hours or 6 CFU. For the Global Development double degree track only, B2 English (CEFR) must be held in order to enter the selection. The clause refers the list of accepted certificates to the Centro Linguistico di Ateneo. The CLA list sets B2 at these scores: IELTS 5.0 to 5.5 (6.0 to 7.5 is recorded as B2+); TOEFL internet based test 72 to 94; PTE Academic 59 to 75; Cambridge First (FCE); Trinity ISE 2; Oxford Test of English overall 111 to 141; Aptis ESOL General or Advance at B2. LanguageCert English as a Second Language and Gatehouse Award Classic IESOL are accepted only as full four skill tests. Duolingo is not on the list. A certificate must have been obtained no more than four years before it is submitted.”
The application file
- For the preliminary career assessment, the full list of exams you have passed, each with its scientific disciplinary sector, course name, date passed, mark and CFU.
- For the preliminary career assessment, details of your secondary school qualification and of the university qualification you already hold.
- A signed copy of the enrolment application.
- A copy of a valid identity document.
- For non EU citizens, a copy of the residence permit or visa.
- For a qualification obtained abroad, the qualification documents uploaded in advance through the foreign qualification procedure on the Portale dello Studente, before enrolment can be completed.
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
- PTE Academic
- The university's own test
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year, 120 CFU master's degree in class LM-56 at Roma Tre's Department of Economics, covering environmental economics, labour economics and development, split into three tracks of which one, Global Development, is taught entirely in English. It suits an economics, management or political science graduate who wants to work on the green transition, labour policy or international development, and who can enter without an IELTS certificate because the English requirement can be met inside the degree.
The Master's Degree in Economia dell'ambiente, lavoro e sviluppo sostenibile is a two year programme at Roma Tre University. It belongs to degree class LM-56. It is run by the Dipartimento di Economia at Via Silvio D'Amico 77, Rome. The teaching regulation dated 1 June 2026 governs the 2026-2027 intake.
The university's full description
The degree teaches how to manage economic activity in a sustainable way. It covers the ecological transition, the environmental impact of economic growth, the circular economy, the spread of green technology, and the effect of digital and green change on work and welfare. Students learn economic and environmental modelling, cost benefit analysis, valuation of goods outside the market, eco auditing and environmental accounts, statistical monitoring of natural resource use, labour market analysis, and the design of labour, welfare and social inclusion policy.
There are three tracks. Ambiente e Impresa sostenibile is taught in Italian. Cambiamento Tecnologico, Lavoro e Welfare is taught in Italian. Global Development is taught entirely in English and carries a double degree option with Universite Gustave Eiffel in France. You choose a track when you enrol and you may change it at the start of each academic year.
The structure is the same for every track. Each track has 11 taught courses worth 99 CFU in total. The final dissertation is worth 15 CFU. A further 6 CFU sits under Altre attivita formative, which is a language course, Business English, or an internship. That makes 120 CFU across two years.
Entry is open. You need a three year first degree or a foreign qualification recognised as equivalent. If your degree is in class L-33, L-18 or L-36 you meet the subject requirement directly. If it is in another class you must show at least 12 CFU in economics subjects, at least 6 CFU in statistics subjects and at least 6 CFU in law subjects. Missing credits must be made up before enrolment by taking single courses.
Everyone also sits a short interview to check personal preparation. You are exempt from the interview if you graduated with at least 90 out of 110, or if you are not yet graduated and your exam average is at least 24 out of 30. A lower mark does not block you. It means you sit the interview. The 2026 interviews were set for 21 to 25 September 2026 at the department.
English at CEFR B2 is required. It is not a barrier at the application stage. If you do not hold a B2 certificate when you enrol, you must take the English course inside the degree as part of the Altre attivita formative. If you already hold B2, you may use that 6 CFU slot for a different language. A B2 English certificate is required up front only if you apply for the Global Development double degree selection.
Fees are the same as for every Roma Tre master's degree. The first instalment carries a fixed 156 euro, made up of 16 euro stamp duty and 140 euro regional tax. Everything above that depends on your ISEE household income assessment. If you do not file an ISEE you are placed in the top band by default.
The academic year starts at the beginning of October.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- External consultants or in house experts for public and private firms
- Officials of international organisations
- University researchers and teachers
- Consultants and officials at professional organisations and bilateral bodies
- Officials and researchers at public and private research bodies and institutions
- Officials at ministries and local and regional authorities
- Industrial relations managers in public and private companies and in workers' and employers' organisations
- Business economists
- Consultants and officials in the human resources departments of public and private firms
- Experts in evaluating the impact of labour and welfare policy
- Consultants and officials at employment agencies, employment centres and training bodies
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Do I need IELTS to apply for this degree?
No. English at B2 is required for the degree, but if you do not hold a certificate when you enrol you must take the English course inside the programme instead. The one exception is the Global Development double degree selection, which does require B2 English up front.
Is there a minimum grade to get in?
The rules set no minimum mark for admission. A final mark of at least 90 out of 110, or an exam average of at least 24 out of 30 if you have not graduated yet, exempts you from the admission interview. Below that you still apply, you just sit the interview.
Which track is taught in English?
Global Development. The teaching regulation records it as taught in English and the department brochure states that all of its courses are in English. The other two tracks, Ambiente e Impresa sostenibile and Cambiamento Tecnologico Lavoro e Welfare, are taught in Italian.
What happens if I apply after 15 September?
There is a supplementary period that runs to 15 December 2026. Each application submitted in that period carries an extra charge of 60 euro, which is billed when you submit and is not refunded if the outcome is negative.
What does the degree cost per year?
The fixed part is 156 euro, made up of 16 euro stamp duty and 140 euro regional tax. The rest depends on your ISEE household income assessment. Under the fee regulation in force for 2026-2027 the highest band for a two year master's degree totals 2,246 euro for the year. If you file no ISEE you are placed in the top band automatically.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€156
Check Pakistan eligibility