Skip to content
UniConnect360

Art History in Rome, from Late Antiquity to the Present

Tor Vergata University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€156

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No minimum degree mark is published for this course. The only marks in the notice are a 100 out of 110 threshold that exempts Tor Vergata graduates from the 30 euro assessment fee, and a 110 out of 110 mark that earns a 10 per cent discount on the first year contributions. Neither is an admission bar. 2) The number of second year options a student must choose is not stated in the 2026/2027 catalogue. The programme's own microsite says four, but that page is labelled for the 2019-2020 intake and should not be relied on. 3) The a.a. 2027/2028 enrolment notice was not published at the time of reading, so the next visa applicant window is unknown. 4) The Manifesto degli Studi for 2026/2027, which names the teacher for each unit, was due from June 2026 but the link on the programme microsite still points to a 2017/18 file hosted on Google Drive rather than on a uniroma2.it address. 5) No separate application fee for the enrolment step itself is published, only the 30 euro assessment contribution. Tor Vergata University of Rome, official course page for a.a. 2026-2027

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

Waived if your degree was taught in English

The university’s exact wording
“The 2026/2027 enrolment notice for this course, art. 1 A d), sets the bar as "conoscenza della lingua inglese, almeno di livello B2". Art. 1 B repeats it: "È richiesta altresì la conoscenza della lingua inglese non inferiore al livello B2 (Upper-Intermediate) del quadro comune europeo di riferimento per la conoscenza delle lingue." The same article says the level must be proved by a valid certificate obtained from August 2019 onwards and issued by one of these bodies: Cambridge English Language Assessment, IELTS, Trinity College London, ETS, TOEIC, TOEFL iBT, Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI, English Speaking Board (ESB), Anglia Ascentis Certificate, Aim Awards (General English/Business English), C.C.I examination board (London Chamber of Commerce and Industry), British Institutes, National Qualifications Authority of Ireland. Two groups do not have to produce a certificate: native English speakers, and holders of a three year degree taught in English. In place of a certificate the notice also accepts a Proficiency certificate from a university that requires B2 at entry, combined with a GRE General Test score (GRE Designated Institution code 3369, University of Rome Tor Vergata). No IELTS band or TOEFL score number is published for this course, only the B2 level. English is checked again at the admission interview, which art. 1 B lists as the means of verifying "la conoscenza della lingua inglese". Duolingo is not on the list of accepted certifying bodies.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No minimum degree mark is published for this course. The only marks in the notice are a 100 out of 110 threshold that exempts Tor Vergata graduates from the 30 euro assessment fee, and a 110 out of 110 mark that earns a 10 per cent discount on the first year contributions. Neither is an admission bar. 2) The number of second year options a student must choose is not stated in the 2026/2027 catalogue. The programme's own microsite says four, but that page is labelled for the 2019-2020 intake and should not be relied on. 3) The a.a. 2027/2028 enrolment notice was not published at the time of reading, so the next visa applicant window is unknown. 4) The Manifesto degli Studi for 2026/2027, which names the teacher for each unit, was due from June 2026 but the link on the programme microsite still points to a 2017/18 file hosted on Google Drive rather than on a uniroma2.it address. 5) No separate application fee for the enrolment step itself is published, only the 30 euro assessment contribution. Tor Vergata University of Rome, official course page for a.a. 2026-2027

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectArts and humanities
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsOctober
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€156

about PKR 50,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No minimum degree mark is published for this course. The only marks in the notice are a 100 out of 110 threshold that exempts Tor Vergata graduates from the 30 euro assessment fee, and a 110 out of 110 mark that earns a 10 per cent discount on the first year contributions. Neither is an admission bar. 2) The number of second year options a student must choose is not stated in the 2026/2027 catalogue. The programme's own microsite says four, but that page is labelled for the 2019-2020 intake and should not be relied on. 3) The a.a. 2027/2028 enrolment notice was not published at the time of reading, so the next visa applicant window is unknown. 4) The Manifesto degli Studi for 2026/2027, which names the teacher for each unit, was due from June 2026 but the link on the programme microsite still points to a 2017/18 file hosted on Google Drive rather than on a uniroma2.it address. 5) No separate application fee for the enrolment step itself is published, only the 30 euro assessment contribution.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No minimum degree mark is published for this course. The only marks in the notice are a 100 out of 110 threshold that exempts Tor Vergata graduates from the 30 euro assessment fee, and a 110 out of 110 mark that earns a 10 per cent discount on the first year contributions. Neither is an admission bar. 2) The number of second year options a student must choose is not stated in the 2026/2027 catalogue. The programme's own microsite says four, but that page is labelled for the 2019-2020 intake and should not be relied on. 3) The a.a. 2027/2028 enrolment notice was not published at the time of reading, so the next visa applicant window is unknown. 4) The Manifesto degli Studi for 2026/2027, which names the teacher for each unit, was due from June 2026 but the link on the programme microsite still points to a 2017/18 file hosted on Google Drive rather than on a uniroma2.it address. 5) No separate application fee for the enrolment step itself is published, only the 30 euro assessment contribution. Tor Vergata University of Rome, official course page for a.a. 2026-2027

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No minimum degree mark is published for this course. The only marks in the notice are a 100 out of 110 threshold that exempts Tor Vergata graduates from the 30 euro assessment fee, and a 110 out of 110 mark that earns a 10 per cent discount on the first year contributions. Neither is an admission bar. 2) The number of second year options a student must choose is not stated in the 2026/2027 catalogue. The programme's own microsite says four, but that page is labelled for the 2019-2020 intake and should not be relied on. 3) The a.a. 2027/2028 enrolment notice was not published at the time of reading, so the next visa applicant window is unknown. 4) The Manifesto degli Studi for 2026/2027, which names the teacher for each unit, was due from June 2026 but the link on the programme microsite still points to a 2017/18 file hosted on Google Drive rather than on a uniroma2.it address. 5) No separate application fee for the enrolment step itself is published, only the 30 euro assessment contribution. Tor Vergata University of Rome, official course page for a.a. 2026-2027

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The official course page for a.a. 2026-2027 states "Tipo di accesso: Accesso libero con verifica dei requisiti curriculari in ingresso". Art. 1 of the enrolment notice says: "L'immatricolazione al suddetto corso di Laurea Magistrale è libero ma sottoposto a obbligatoria e preventiva valutazione dei requisiti curriculari e all'adeguatezza della preparazione personale (ai sensi dell'art. 6, comma 2, del D.M. 270/2004)". So there is no ranked entrance exam and no numerus clausus for the course as a whole, but no one can enrol without passing the curricular check and the interview. Art. 6 sets 40 reserved places for non-EU citizens resident abroad who need a study visa.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. A three year Italian laurea, university diploma or equivalent diploma (including Accademia di Belle Arti and assimilated institutions) in one of these classes: L-1 Beni Culturali, L-3 Discipline delle arti, della musica, dello spettacolo e della moda, L-4 Disegno industriale, L-5 Filosofia, L-6 Geografia, L-10 Lettere, L-11 Lingue e culture moderne, L-17 Scienze dell'architettura, L-19 Scienze dell'educazione e della formazione, L-20 Scienze della comunicazione, L-42 Storia, L-43 Tecnologia per la conservazione e il restauro dei beni culturali.

  2. Or another qualification, including one earned abroad, judged suitable by the department council. A foreign qualification must correspond to the first cycle of the Bologna framework and to level 6 of the European Qualifications Framework, from an institution where it gives access to second cycle study locally.

  3. Or at least 48 CFU in these subject areas: L-ART/01, L-ART/02, L-ART/03, L-ART/04, L-ART/05, L-ART/06, L-ART/07, L-ART/08, L-ANT/02, L-ANT/03, L-ANT/06, L-ANT/07, L-ANT/08, L-ANT/09, L-FIL-LET/04, L-FIL-LET/05, L-FIL-LET/08, L-FIL-LET/09, L-FIL-LET/10, L-FIL-LET/11, L-FIL-LET/14, M-STO/01, M-STO/02, M-STO/03.

  4. Knowledge of English at CEFR level B2 or above.

  5. An interview with the commission appointed by the course, which checks the entry qualification, the personal preparation in the subjects that lead into the master's teaching, and the English.

  6. If the previous curriculum falls short, the gaps must be closed first by enrolling on single courses (corsi singoli) and passing their exams. Only then does enrolment open.

The English rule

Waived if your degree was taught in English

“The 2026/2027 enrolment notice for this course, art. 1 A d), sets the bar as "conoscenza della lingua inglese, almeno di livello B2". Art. 1 B repeats it: "È richiesta altresì la conoscenza della lingua inglese non inferiore al livello B2 (Upper-Intermediate) del quadro comune europeo di riferimento per la conoscenza delle lingue." The same article says the level must be proved by a valid certificate obtained from August 2019 onwards and issued by one of these bodies: Cambridge English Language Assessment, IELTS, Trinity College London, ETS, TOEIC, TOEFL iBT, Pearson EDEXCEL/EDI, English Speaking Board (ESB), Anglia Ascentis Certificate, Aim Awards (General English/Business English), C.C.I examination board (London Chamber of Commerce and Industry), British Institutes, National Qualifications Authority of Ireland. Two groups do not have to produce a certificate: native English speakers, and holders of a three year degree taught in English. In place of a certificate the notice also accepts a Proficiency certificate from a university that requires B2 at entry, combined with a GRE General Test score (GRE Designated Institution code 3369, University of Rome Tor Vergata). No IELTS band or TOEFL score number is published for this course, only the B2 level. English is checked again at the admission interview, which art. 1 B lists as the means of verifying "la conoscenza della lingua inglese". Duolingo is not on the list of accepted certifying bodies.”

The application file

  • Passport
  • English language certificate, or proof of nationality, or other documentation proving knowledge of English
  • Degree certificate with the final mark, if the degree has already been awarded
  • Certificate of the examinations taken
  • Other documentation, such as certificates for qualifications and courses other than the degree, syllabus, curriculum vitae, motivation or recommendation letters

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • Medium of Instruction letter
  • An interview

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two year taught master's degree in art history, given entirely in English at Tor Vergata University of Rome, covering architecture, painting, sculpture and applied arts from late antiquity to the present. It suits a humanities graduate who wants to study the works and monuments in the city itself and to work in museums, galleries, the art market or art publishing.

Art History in Rome, from Late Antiquity to the Present is a laurea magistrale at Tor Vergata University of Rome. It sits in Italian degree class LM-89 under D.M. 270/04. The course code is T22. It lasts two years. All teaching is in English. It belongs to the Macroarea di Lettere e Filosofia and to the Dipartimento di Studi letterari, filosofici e di Storia dell'arte.

The university's full description

The first year builds a base in three areas. The course page names them as art history, archaeology and architecture, and method. The university catalogue for a.a. 2026/2027 lists seven compulsory first year units: Medieval Art Lm A+b, Early Modern Art Lm A+b, Textual Sources, Material Culture And Conservation, Contemporary Art Lm A, History Of Architecture Lm A, Late Antique And Early Christian Archaeology Lm A and Archaeology Of The Roman Empire Lm A. The first three are worth 12 credits each and each is split into two 6 credit modules. The other four are worth 6 credits each.

The second year is mostly chosen. The catalogue lists these options for 2026/2027, each worth 6 credits: Dutch And Flemish Art 15th-17th Centuries Lm A, Old Master Drawings And Prints Lm A, Western Iconography And The Cult Of Saints Lm A, Planning And Setting Of Art Exhibitions And Events Lm A, Aesthetics And Art Theory Lm A, History Of Roman Civilization Lm A, Urban Planning Lm A, Medieval Art 2 Lm, European Union Law, History Of Collecting, Art Patronage And Museums, Research Methodology And Scholarly Writing In Art History, and Contemporary Art History And Its Theories Lm. Two second year items are compulsory: Internships, worth 6 credits, and Final Exam, worth 12 credits. The first year also offers an optional 6 credit language unit at B2 level in one of seven languages, and an optional Italian Language Test worth 6 credits.

Teaching is on campus. First semester classes for 2026/2027 begin in early October 2026. The course page says part of the work happens in front of the objects, in Roman museums, galleries and monument sites, and that the programme includes a placement at an art or cultural institution and the learning of Italian.

Entry is open. There is no ranked entrance exam. Every applicant must still pass a check of curricular requirements on the Delphi system and then an interview with the course commission. For applicants abroad who need a visa the interview can be held on Teams, arranged with the course coordinator. Forty places are set aside for non-EU applicants resident abroad who need a visa.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Careers in museums, galleries, foundations, auction houses, archaeological sites, art consulting and art publishing
  • Further study at doctoral level
  • Posts of high responsibility in specific institutions such as museums and heritage superintendencies
  • Specialist consultancy for sectors of the cultural industry and for education about historical and artistic heritage
  • Esperti d'arte, ISTAT code 2.5.3.4.2
  • Curatori e conservatori di musei, ISTAT code 2.5.4.5.3

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

When do I apply if I need a study visa?

The 2026/2027 notice gives visa applicants their own window, from 24 November 2025 to 30 April 2026, and says they may only use the interview held in that first round. That window has now closed for 2026/2027. The later rounds listed in the notice are for Italian, EU and non-EU applicants already living in Italy. If you need a visa, check whether Tor Vergata has published the 2027/2028 notice before planning.

What are all the application windows for 2026/2027?

Round 1, visa applicants abroad: 24 November 2025 to 30 April 2026. Round 2: 1 to 15 June 2026. Round 3: 1 to 15 September 2026. Round 4: 15 to 30 October 2026. Round 5, new enrolments only: 15 December 2026 to 15 January 2027. Round 6, new enrolments only: 15 to 26 February 2027. The notice says a round 6 enrolment counts towards a.a. 2027/2028.

Is there an application fee?

Yes. The notice asks for a 30 euro contribution towards the assessment of your curricular requirements, paid through PagoPA. It is not refunded under any circumstance. Two groups do not pay it: students with a recognised disability of 66 per cent or more or under Law 104/1992, and Tor Vergata graduates with a final mark of at least 100 out of 110.

Is Duolingo accepted?

No. The notice lists the certifying bodies it accepts and Duolingo is not among them. IELTS and TOEFL iBT are on the list. The certificate must have been obtained from August 2019 onwards.

Can I skip the English certificate?

Yes, in two cases named in the notice: if you are a native English speaker, or if you hold a three year degree taught in English. There is also a substitute route: a Proficiency certificate from a university that requires B2 at entry, together with a GRE General Test score.

What will I actually pay in the first year?

On enrolment you pay a first instalment of 156 euro, made up of 140 euro Lazio regional study tax and 16 euro stamp duty. On top of that, this course sits in contribution class 4 of the 2026/2027 Student Handbook: the ordinary rate runs from 0 euro up to a maximum of 4,250 euro, set by your ISEE-Università. International students for whom an ISEE cannot be calculated pay a fixed 1,000 euro a year instead, or 500 euro if they come from a country on the MUR developing countries list.

Do I have to take an entrance exam?

No written entrance exam. You file a curricular requirements application on Delphi, then attend an interview with the course commission. You will not be emailed a reminder, so check the interview calendar published by the Lettere e Filosofia student office. Applicants abroad who need a visa can take the interview on Teams by contacting the course coordinator.

What if my degree does not cover the required subjects?

The commission assigns you debiti formativi. You then enrol on single courses, pay 16 euro stamp duty plus 100 euro for each course up to 36 credits, and pass the exams. Only after that does the enrolment procedure open.

What are the other deadlines for a visa applicant?

Pre-enrolment on the Universitaly platform must be done by 31 July 2026. Enrolment itself can only be completed after the visa is issued, in person at the International Students Office, and by 18 December 2026.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€156

Check Pakistan eligibility