Skip to content
UniConnect360

Telecommunication Engineering

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza has not published the 2026-2027 tuition table. The tuition and benefits page states that the information for academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure comes from the currently published standard registration fee amounts page, set by a Board of Directors resolution of 30 May 2023. 2) The 2027-2028 pre-selection opening and closing dates are not published. The 2026-2027 cycle opened on 22 December 2025, but that is last cycle's date and must not be carried forward. 3) Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic are on Sapienza's university wide accepted test list, but this programme's own entry does not print a PTE score. A PTE holder has no published minimum for this degree. 4) The standard registration fee page names a regional tax of 140 euro and stamp duty of 16 euro, but states them inside the section on distance learning programmes. Whether they are charged on top of the 300 euro Band A amount for an on campus degree is not stated on that page. 5) The number of places on this programme is not published anywhere on the catalogue page or in either language version of the call. 6) The catalogue carries a standing Italian banner reading 'I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento', meaning the 2026-2027 catalogue contents are still being updated. Study plan and module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Telecommunication Engineering (33510)

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme's own call for applications states the rule more briefly as: knowledge of the English language, both written and spoken, at a level no lower than B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza has not published the 2026-2027 tuition table. The tuition and benefits page states that the information for academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure comes from the currently published standard registration fee amounts page, set by a Board of Directors resolution of 30 May 2023. 2) The 2027-2028 pre-selection opening and closing dates are not published. The 2026-2027 cycle opened on 22 December 2025, but that is last cycle's date and must not be carried forward. 3) Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic are on Sapienza's university wide accepted test list, but this programme's own entry does not print a PTE score. A PTE holder has no published minimum for this degree. 4) The standard registration fee page names a regional tax of 140 euro and stamp duty of 16 euro, but states them inside the section on distance learning programmes. Whether they are charged on top of the 300 euro Band A amount for an on campus degree is not stated on that page. 5) The number of places on this programme is not published anywhere on the catalogue page or in either language version of the call. 6) The catalogue carries a standing Italian banner reading 'I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento', meaning the 2026-2027 catalogue contents are still being updated. Study plan and module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Telecommunication Engineering (33510)

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectEngineering
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza has not published the 2026-2027 tuition table. The tuition and benefits page states that the information for academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure comes from the currently published standard registration fee amounts page, set by a Board of Directors resolution of 30 May 2023. 2) The 2027-2028 pre-selection opening and closing dates are not published. The 2026-2027 cycle opened on 22 December 2025, but that is last cycle's date and must not be carried forward. 3) Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic are on Sapienza's university wide accepted test list, but this programme's own entry does not print a PTE score. A PTE holder has no published minimum for this degree. 4) The standard registration fee page names a regional tax of 140 euro and stamp duty of 16 euro, but states them inside the section on distance learning programmes. Whether they are charged on top of the 300 euro Band A amount for an on campus degree is not stated on that page. 5) The number of places on this programme is not published anywhere on the catalogue page or in either language version of the call. 6) The catalogue carries a standing Italian banner reading 'I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento', meaning the 2026-2027 catalogue contents are still being updated. Study plan and module details may change.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza has not published the 2026-2027 tuition table. The tuition and benefits page states that the information for academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure comes from the currently published standard registration fee amounts page, set by a Board of Directors resolution of 30 May 2023. 2) The 2027-2028 pre-selection opening and closing dates are not published. The 2026-2027 cycle opened on 22 December 2025, but that is last cycle's date and must not be carried forward. 3) Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic are on Sapienza's university wide accepted test list, but this programme's own entry does not print a PTE score. A PTE holder has no published minimum for this degree. 4) The standard registration fee page names a regional tax of 140 euro and stamp duty of 16 euro, but states them inside the section on distance learning programmes. Whether they are charged on top of the 300 euro Band A amount for an on campus degree is not stated on that page. 5) The number of places on this programme is not published anywhere on the catalogue page or in either language version of the call. 6) The catalogue carries a standing Italian banner reading 'I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento', meaning the 2026-2027 catalogue contents are still being updated. Study plan and module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Telecommunication Engineering (33510)

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza has not published the 2026-2027 tuition table. The tuition and benefits page states that the information for academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure comes from the currently published standard registration fee amounts page, set by a Board of Directors resolution of 30 May 2023. 2) The 2027-2028 pre-selection opening and closing dates are not published. The 2026-2027 cycle opened on 22 December 2025, but that is last cycle's date and must not be carried forward. 3) Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic are on Sapienza's university wide accepted test list, but this programme's own entry does not print a PTE score. A PTE holder has no published minimum for this degree. 4) The standard registration fee page names a regional tax of 140 euro and stamp duty of 16 euro, but states them inside the section on distance learning programmes. Whether they are charged on top of the 300 euro Band A amount for an on campus degree is not stated on that page. 5) The number of places on this programme is not published anywhere on the catalogue page or in either language version of the call. 6) The catalogue carries a standing Italian banner reading 'I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento', meaning the 2026-2027 catalogue contents are still being updated. Study plan and module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Telecommunication Engineering (33510)

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The programme's own call for 2026-2027 is headed "Modalità di ammissione al Corso di laurea magistrale con verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale in: Telecommunication Engineering", printed in English as "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: Telecommunication Engineering". The words accesso programmato, numero programmato, posti disponibili and graduatoria do not appear anywhere in either the Italian or the English call. No number of places, no quota and no ranking list is published. Admission runs by verification of entry requirements followed by an assessment of personal knowledge, which includes an online interview.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. hold a three-year degree or university diploma, or an equivalent qualification obtained abroad and recognised as suitable

  2. have earned at least 120 university credits (CFU) in the following scientific-disciplinary sectors (SSD): Mathematical and Computer Sciences: MAT/*, INF/01; Physical Sciences: FIS/*; Information Engineering: ING-INF/*; Industrial Engineering: ING-IND/*; Statistical Sciences: SECS-S/01, SECS-S/02

  3. provided that at least 60 CFU have been obtained in the fields FIS/*, MAT/* and ING-INF/*

  4. knowledge of the English language, both written and spoken, at a level no lower than B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)

  5. adequate personal background in the basic scientific disciplines (mathematics and physics) and in the core disciplines of information engineering, with particular reference to the field of telecommunications engineering

  6. MINIMUM GPA: 80/100

  7. Bachelor's degree (or equivalent educational qualification) in the fields of ICT Engineering is preferred, e.g. Telecommunication Engineering, Electronics Engineering and Computer Science Engineering. Other bachelor's degrees in engineering/physics may be considered for outstanding candidates on a case-by-case basis.

  8. Applicants should have a strong academic background in scientific areas, particularly in ICT-related disciplines. This includes essential knowledge in mathematical analysis, algebra, statistics, geometry, and physics.

  9. The submission of a GRE certificate, though not mandatory, is strongly recommended and will constitute a positive element in the evaluation for admission to the program.

  10. Selected students will be invited for an online interview for an assessment of their personal preparation. The interview will include technical questions related to the aforementioned skills and background.

  11. applicants from non-EU countries residing abroad who are applying for a student visa for the 2026-2027 academic year are required to hold a letter of pre-acceptance

The English rule

IELTS required

“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme's own call for applications states the rule more briefly as: knowledge of the English language, both written and spoken, at a level no lower than B2 of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).”

The application file

  • curriculum vitae
  • official transcript of academic records
  • English proficiency certificates
  • letters of recommendation
  • motivation statement
  • GRE certificate (not mandatory, strongly recommended)
  • Passport (pre-selection application on MoveIn)
  • High School and University Diploma (pre-selection application on MoveIn)
  • Transcript of Records (pre-selection application on MoveIn)
  • Language Certificate (pre-selection application on MoveIn)
  • Reference Letter, optional (pre-selection application on MoveIn)
  • Additional supporting documents (pre-selection application on MoveIn)

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two year Master's degree at Sapienza University of Rome, taught fully in English, covering communication theory, antennas and propagation, radar systems, wireless access, networks and security, and machine learning. It suits an engineering graduate who wants to design and run telecommunication systems, networks, or remote sensing systems on the ground and in space.

Telecommunication Engineering is a Master's degree at Sapienza University of Rome. The programme code is 33510. It belongs to degree class LM-27. The Faculty is Ingegneria dell'informazione, informatica e statistica. The teaching department is Ingegneria dell'Informazione, Elettronica e Telecomunicazioni. The course lasts two years. It is taught in English. The lesson mode is listed as Conventional, in person.

The university's full description

The catalogue divides the two years into three phases. Phase one is the acquisition of fundamental knowledge in information theory, decision and estimation theory, signal processing, artificial intelligence, networking, remote sensing, electromagnetism and secure information exchange. Phase two lets students deepen one or more specific areas through targeted choices among the groups of courses offered. Phase three applies that knowledge through laboratory activities, the final thesis, and activities designed to ease entry into the job market, including possible internships.

The published study plan for 2026/2027 has a single curriculum. The first year carries six taught modules. They are printed as ANTENNAS AND PROPAGATION at 6 CFU, COMMUNICATION THEORY at 12 CFU, MACHINE LEARNING at 6 CFU, NETWORKS AND SECURITY at 9 CFU, RADAR SYSTEMS at 9 CFU and WIRELESS ACCESS at 9 CFU. COMMUNICATION THEORY is split into INFORMATION THEORY AND CODING and SIGNAL PROCESSING FOR COMMUNICATIONS at 6 CFU each. RADAR SYSTEMS is split into RADAR SYSTEMS I at 3 CFU and RADAR SYSTEMS II at 6 CFU. The second year carries an elective course block of 12 CFU, OTHER ACTIVITIES FACILITATING ENTRY INTO THE JOB MARKET at 3 CFU, and FINAL EXAM at 30 CFU.

The second year choice is made from two optional groups. GROUP A lists eight modules. GROUP B lists seventeen modules. Every module in both groups is 6 CFU and every module is marked ENG. The full list is on the study plan page.

Admission is not by competitive test. The call verifies your entry requirements, then a committee assesses your personal knowledge. Selected students are invited to an online interview with technical questions. The committee may set a tailored study programme of up to 36 CFU for an admitted student.

The minimum GPA for this programme is 80 out of 100. The English requirement is CEFR B2. Sapienza prints the accepted scores for this programme as IELTS 5.5 or higher and TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, with Cambridge English B2 First or higher and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher also listed. Duolingo is not on the accepted list.

The English requirement can be waived, but the waiver is limited by country. It covers native speakers of English, holders of an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA, Schengen, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. A Pakistani degree taught in English is not covered by that list. A Pakistani applicant needs a test certificate.

Tuition depends on where your income is declared. A student who declares income outside Italy pays a fixed amount set by country band. Pakistan is named in Band A, which is 300 euro in total for the year, paid in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. Band B is 700 euro and Band C is 1500 euro. A student who declares income in Italy pays on the ISEE scale instead, and the ordinary full rate for this faculty is 2,924 euro.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Specialist engineer in fixed and mobile communication systems and devices
  • Specialist engineer in telecommunication networks and services
  • Specialist engineer in remote sensing systems
  • Specialist engineer in multimedia data processing systems and architectures
  • Design and production of telecommunication systems: Companies engaged in the design, production, and operation of telecommunication equipment and systems on various scales, from local networks to national infrastructures, including satellite communication systems and fiber optic networks.
  • Terrestrial and aerospace remote sensing systems: Companies involved in the design, production, and operation of remote sensing equipment, systems, and infrastructures for terrestrial and aerospace applications, including surveillance, environmental monitoring, defense, and satellite mission payloads.
  • Telecommunication service provision: Companies offering telecommunication services, focusing on connectivity solutions for everyday scenarios (such as Internet services including satellite Internet, mobile telephony, maritime and aeronautical telecommunications) or for extreme situations (such as emergency communications and support for scientific satellites).
  • Media and multimedia applications: Companies and organizations involved in the design and management of facilities and equipment for information transport and processing, such as television, cinema, radio, entertainment industries, and other multimedia applications, as well as monitoring systems for environmental, biomedical, cultural heritage, precision agriculture, and traffic applications.
  • Regulatory and public service organizations: Regulatory bodies and public service entities connected to central and local public administrations that oversee telecommunication systems and services or operate in public safety, civil protection, and air, land, and sea traffic control, including space agencies.
  • Telecommunications consulting: Consulting firms offering support on telecommunication and remote sensing systems and on methodologies related to information acquisition, transmission, and application in telematics and digital contexts.
  • Entrepreneurship and innovative spin-offs: Entrepreneurial paths involving the creation of small companies or spin-offs focused on the design, development, and consulting of telecommunication and remote sensing systems, promoting innovation.
  • Research and development: Companies and institutions engaged in research and development of advanced telecommunication and remote sensing systems for emerging applications, including next-generation networks, smart environments, autonomous systems, and space tourism.
  • Education and scientific dissemination: Companies and institutions providing technical and specialized training and scientific outreach on telecommunication systems and information technologies. In particular, by acquiring a sufficient number of credits in the required scientific-disciplinary areas, graduates may participate in competitions for secondary school teaching positions.
  • Further studies: Pursuing doctoral or specialization programs in the fields of information engineering and communication technologies.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Does this programme accept Duolingo?

No. Sapienza publishes a closed list of accepted English tests and Duolingo is not on it. For this programme the printed scores are IELTS 5.5 or higher and TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, with Cambridge English B2 First or higher and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher also accepted.

Can a Pakistani student skip the English test because their degree was taught in English?

No. The waiver for this programme is limited by country. It covers an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA, Schengen, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States. Pakistan is not on that list, so a Pakistani applicant needs a test certificate.

What mark do I need?

The minimum GPA for this programme is 80 out of 100. Sapienza prints this figure against this degree in its admission requirements document for 2026/2027.

How much does it cost to apply?

There are two separate payments. The pre-selection application on MoveIn costs 30 euro for each application submitted, with a maximum of two applications per candidate per intake and no waiver available. The eligibility check on Infostud for this degree costs 10 euro, and the code to enter is 33510.

How much is tuition?

If you declare income outside Italy, you pay a fixed amount set by your country band. Pakistan is named in Band A, which is 300 euro in total for the year, split into instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. Band B is 700 euro and Band C is 1500 euro. Sapienza has not yet published the 2026-2027 table, and states that the information will appear after 30 September.

Is there an entrance exam?

There is no written entrance exam. Sapienza first checks your academic requirements, then a committee assesses your personal knowledge using your degree average, the time you took to graduate, the relevance of your first degree, extracurricular and work activities, and your language certificate. Selected students are invited to an online interview with technical questions.

Is the GRE required?

No. Sapienza states that submitting a GRE certificate is not mandatory for this programme, but that it is strongly recommended and will count as a positive element in the admission evaluation.

When do classes start?

The faculty academic calendar for 2026-2027 sets the first lecture series from Wednesday 23 September 2026 to Tuesday 22 December 2026. The second runs from Monday 22 February 2027 to Friday 28 May 2027.

Can I still apply for the 2026-2027 intake from Pakistan?

Not through pre-selection. Sapienza states that the 2026-2027 pre-selection deadline for non-EU candidates who need a visa expired on 15 May 2026, and that pre-accepted students had to register on Universitaly by 30 June 2026. A letter of pre-acceptance is mandatory for a non-EU visa applicant, so the realistic target is the next cycle. Sapienza has not published the 2027-2028 pre-selection dates.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility