Statistical Methods and Applications
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€300
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not published. The 2026/2027 MoveIn deadline for candidates who need a visa was 15 May 2026 and has passed, so a Pakistani applicant reading this today has no open pre-acceptance route for 2026/2027. 2) The study plan marks course 10628618 Bayesian modelling as [ITA] in the Data analyst and Official Statistics curricula, while course 10632358 BAYESIAN MODELLING is marked [ENG]. The programme is stated to be taught entirely in English. Ask the department which course an English track student takes. 3) Article 38 section 2 gives the Band A contribution as 300 euro for the year. It does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top, although the same article does add them for distance learning and PhD enrolments. 4) The university wide language sheet accepts Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic. The entry for this programme lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English B2 First and Trinity ISE II. Confirm with the department before booking PTE. 5) The call says an interview is held where the committee deems it appropriate. It does not say whether every international applicant is interviewed. 6) The catalogue prints that the contents for a.y. 2026-2027 are still being updated, so the study plan and the timetable may change. 7) Total credits per curriculum were not stated on the study plan page in a form I could transcribe without adding them up myself, so no CFU total is recorded here. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Statistical Methods and Applications, programme code 33517
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
IELTS required
The university’s exact wording
“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme call adds, at APP2, "Knowledge of English at B2 level or above", and states that the committee interview "may also be used to assess the required level of English language proficiency in the absence of a language certificate".”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not published. The 2026/2027 MoveIn deadline for candidates who need a visa was 15 May 2026 and has passed, so a Pakistani applicant reading this today has no open pre-acceptance route for 2026/2027. 2) The study plan marks course 10628618 Bayesian modelling as [ITA] in the Data analyst and Official Statistics curricula, while course 10632358 BAYESIAN MODELLING is marked [ENG]. The programme is stated to be taught entirely in English. Ask the department which course an English track student takes. 3) Article 38 section 2 gives the Band A contribution as 300 euro for the year. It does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top, although the same article does add them for distance learning and PhD enrolments. 4) The university wide language sheet accepts Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic. The entry for this programme lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English B2 First and Trinity ISE II. Confirm with the department before booking PTE. 5) The call says an interview is held where the committee deems it appropriate. It does not say whether every international applicant is interviewed. 6) The catalogue prints that the contents for a.y. 2026-2027 are still being updated, so the study plan and the timetable may change. 7) Total credits per curriculum were not stated on the study plan page in a form I could transcribe without adding them up myself, so no CFU total is recorded here. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Statistical Methods and Applications, programme code 33517
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectComputing and data
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsSeptember
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark75%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€300
about PKR 96,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not published. The 2026/2027 MoveIn deadline for candidates who need a visa was 15 May 2026 and has passed, so a Pakistani applicant reading this today has no open pre-acceptance route for 2026/2027. 2) The study plan marks course 10628618 Bayesian modelling as [ITA] in the Data analyst and Official Statistics curricula, while course 10632358 BAYESIAN MODELLING is marked [ENG]. The programme is stated to be taught entirely in English. Ask the department which course an English track student takes. 3) Article 38 section 2 gives the Band A contribution as 300 euro for the year. It does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top, although the same article does add them for distance learning and PhD enrolments. 4) The university wide language sheet accepts Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic. The entry for this programme lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English B2 First and Trinity ISE II. Confirm with the department before booking PTE. 5) The call says an interview is held where the committee deems it appropriate. It does not say whether every international applicant is interviewed. 6) The catalogue prints that the contents for a.y. 2026-2027 are still being updated, so the study plan and the timetable may change. 7) Total credits per curriculum were not stated on the study plan page in a form I could transcribe without adding them up myself, so no CFU total is recorded here.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not published. The 2026/2027 MoveIn deadline for candidates who need a visa was 15 May 2026 and has passed, so a Pakistani applicant reading this today has no open pre-acceptance route for 2026/2027. 2) The study plan marks course 10628618 Bayesian modelling as [ITA] in the Data analyst and Official Statistics curricula, while course 10632358 BAYESIAN MODELLING is marked [ENG]. The programme is stated to be taught entirely in English. Ask the department which course an English track student takes. 3) Article 38 section 2 gives the Band A contribution as 300 euro for the year. It does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top, although the same article does add them for distance learning and PhD enrolments. 4) The university wide language sheet accepts Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic. The entry for this programme lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English B2 First and Trinity ISE II. Confirm with the department before booking PTE. 5) The call says an interview is held where the committee deems it appropriate. It does not say whether every international applicant is interviewed. 6) The catalogue prints that the contents for a.y. 2026-2027 are still being updated, so the study plan and the timetable may change. 7) Total credits per curriculum were not stated on the study plan page in a form I could transcribe without adding them up myself, so no CFU total is recorded here. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Statistical Methods and Applications, programme code 33517
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not published. The 2026/2027 MoveIn deadline for candidates who need a visa was 15 May 2026 and has passed, so a Pakistani applicant reading this today has no open pre-acceptance route for 2026/2027. 2) The study plan marks course 10628618 Bayesian modelling as [ITA] in the Data analyst and Official Statistics curricula, while course 10632358 BAYESIAN MODELLING is marked [ENG]. The programme is stated to be taught entirely in English. Ask the department which course an English track student takes. 3) Article 38 section 2 gives the Band A contribution as 300 euro for the year. It does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top, although the same article does add them for distance learning and PhD enrolments. 4) The university wide language sheet accepts Pearson PTE General Level 3 and PTE Academic. The entry for this programme lists only IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English B2 First and Trinity ISE II. Confirm with the department before booking PTE. 5) The call says an interview is held where the committee deems it appropriate. It does not say whether every international applicant is interviewed. 6) The catalogue prints that the contents for a.y. 2026-2027 are still being updated, so the study plan and the timetable may change. 7) Total credits per curriculum were not stated on the study plan page in a form I could transcribe without adding them up myself, so no CFU total is recorded here. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Statistical Methods and Applications, programme code 33517
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“The catalogue prints "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". The official call is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: Statistical Methods and Applications". No cap on places is published. The Italian pages do not use the words accesso programmato anywhere for this programme.”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
RC1. Hold a three-year university degree or diploma, or another qualification obtained abroad deemed suitable.
RC2. Have acquired at least 60 university credits across the scientific and disciplinary sectors indicated in the following areas: Area 01 (Mathematical and Computer Sciences), Area 02 (Physical Sciences), Area 06 (Medical Sciences), Area 09 (Industrial and Information Engineering), Area 11 (Historical, Philosophical, Pedagogical and Psychological Sciences), Area 13 (Economic and Statistical Sciences), Area 14 (Political and Social Sciences). The call lists the exact sector codes for each area.
APP1. Knowledge of concepts in Mathematics, Probability and Statistics. In particular: Mathematics, basic elements of differential and integral calculus, functions of one or more variables, linear algebra and analytical geometry. Probability, properties of probability, random variables, concepts of convergence of sequences of random variables. Statistics, elements of descriptive statistics, inferential statistics: sample distributions, methods for estimating parameters, tests for verifying parametric hypotheses. Computer Science, knowledge of at least one programming language.
APP2. Knowledge of English at B2 level or above.
At least an undergraduate (Bachelor) degree with a solid foundation in Calculus, Probability and Statistics, some computing skills and basic knowledge of a programming language.
Candidates holding a Bachelor Degree in Statistics or Actuarial Sciences are automatically accepted.
MINIMUM GPA: 75/100
The submission of a GRE certificate will constitute a positive element in the evaluation for admission to the program.
The academic background of international students (EU and non-EU) is assessed by a Prospective Student Selection Committee based on the documentation provided by the student.
The English rule
IELTS required
“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme call adds, at APP2, "Knowledge of English at B2 level or above", and states that the committee interview "may also be used to assess the required level of English language proficiency in the absence of a language certificate".”
The application file
- Passport
- High School and University Diploma
- Transcript of Records
- Language Certificate
- Reference Letter (optional)
- Additional supporting documents
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
- An interview
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year Master of Science in statistics at Sapienza University of Rome, taught entirely in English, with three curricula: Data analyst, Quantitative economics and Official Statistics. It suits a graduate who already has calculus, probability, statistics and one programming language, and who wants advanced statistical modelling rather than a general conversion course.
Statistical Methods and Applications is a two year Master of Science at Sapienza University of Rome. The degree class is LM-82. It is run by the Department of Statistical Sciences inside the Faculty of Information Engineering, Computer Science and Statistics. All teaching is in English. Lessons are in person in Rome. The code to enter on Infostud is 33517.
The university's full description
The course has one common base and three curricula. The catalogue prints them as Data analyst, Quantitative economics and Official Statistics. Each one carries the note "percorso valido anche ai fini del conseguimento del doppio titolo italo-francese". The Official Statistics curriculum holds the European Master in Official Statistics label awarded by the European Statistical System Committee. Courses listed in the study plan include Stochastic Processes at 9 CFU, Sample surveys at 9 CFU, Applied econometrics at 6 CFU, Statistical reasoning at 9 CFU, Statistical Machine Learning at 6 CFU, Algorithms and data structures at 6 CFU, computational statistics at 6 CFU and BIG DATA ANALYTICS at 6 CFU. The Official Statistics curriculum adds DATA PRODUCTION PROCESS IN OFFICIAL STATISTICS at 6 CFU and DATA CLEANING AND INTEGRATION IN OFFICIAL STATISTICS at 6 CFU. The full list with year, semester and credits is on the study plan page.
Admission is not capped. The catalogue prints the access mode as verification of requirements and personal preparation. You need a three year degree and at least 60 university credits in the subject areas the call lists. A committee then checks your knowledge of mathematics, probability, statistics and at least one programming language. Holders of a Bachelor degree in Statistics or Actuarial Sciences are accepted automatically. The published minimum grade point average is 75 out of 100. A GRE score is not required, and the university states it counts as a positive element in the evaluation. Sapienza also states that meeting the requirements is not a guarantee of admission, because each application is assessed individually.
The English level required is CEFR B2. For this programme Sapienza prints IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on the list. The waiver covers native speakers of English, an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA or Schengen area or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. A degree taught in English in Pakistan does not meet that waiver. The programme call adds that the admission interview may also be used to assess English where an applicant holds no certificate.
Tuition is set by the university, not by the programme. A student who declares income outside Italy pays a fixed amount that depends on the country. Pakistan is named in Band A, which is 300 euro for the year, paid in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. The pre-selection application fee is 30 euro for each application, and the university states that no waiver is available. The programme call asks for a further 10 euro to open the check of entry requirements on Infostud. A student may submit at most two pre-selection applications per academic year.
Teaching for 2026/2027 starts on 23 September 2026, with pre-courses from 14 to 18 September 2026. The 2026/2027 pre-selection on the MoveIn platform closed on 15 May 2026 for candidates who need a visa, and on 31 July 2026 for everyone else. The programme call lists 15 September 2026 as the only date on which an applicant from a non-EU country who needs a student visa can book the check of entry requirements. Later dates of 15 October 2026, 17 November 2026, 17 December 2026 and 14 January 2027 are open to other candidates. Dates for 2027/2028 are not published yet.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- All these three study plans (curricula) prepare professionals for careers in consulting companies, industry and State agencies as well as candidates for PhD programmes in Statistics, Data Science, Quantitative Economics and Econometrics.
- Data Analyst, one of the three professional profiles the catalogue lists for this degree.
- Metodologo per le statistiche ufficiali (Statistical Officer), one of the three professional profiles the catalogue lists for this degree.
- Economista quantitativo (Quantitative Economist), one of the three professional profiles the catalogue lists for this degree.
- The SMA Master's program promotes the development of the Master's thesis within external institutions, including public bodies, private companies, and research centers, both in Italy and abroad.
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Do I need IELTS for this degree?
You need proof of English at CEFR B2. For this programme Sapienza prints IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, or Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on the list.
My degree in Pakistan was taught in English. Does that replace the test?
No. The waiver covers an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA or Schengen area, or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States. Pakistan is not on that list. The programme call does say the committee may check your English at interview if you hold no certificate, but that is the committee's decision, not a right.
What mark do I need?
The published minimum is 75 out of 100. Sapienza also states that holding the requirements is not a guarantee of admission, because every application is judged on its own, so two people with the same average can get different answers.
How much is tuition?
Sapienza charges a fixed yearly amount by country to students who declare their income outside Italy. Pakistan is listed in Band A, which is 300 euro for the year, split into instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. Article 38 does not say whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of that.
What does it cost to apply?
The pre-selection application fee is 30 euro for each application, and Sapienza states there is no waiver. You may send at most two applications in one academic year. The programme then asks for 10 euro on Infostud to open the check of your entry requirements.
Is there an entrance exam?
There is no written entrance test. A committee reads your academic record and may call you for an interview. The interview can also be used to check your English if you have no certificate.
Can I still start in 2026/2027?
If you need a student visa, the MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026. The programme call still names 15 September 2026 as the only date for an applicant from a non-EU country who needs a visa to book the check of entry requirements. Write to the department before you pay anything. Dates for 2027/2028 are not published yet.
Which curriculum should I pick?
You choose one of three: Data analyst, Quantitative economics or Official Statistics. Official Statistics carries the European Master in Official Statistics label and includes a work placement. You submit your study plan through Infostud after you enrol, and the programme chair approves it.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€300
Check Pakistan eligibility