Skip to content
UniConnect360

Product and Service Design

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 call for applications is not published. The next application deadline, the next intake and the next fee are therefore not known. 2) The catalogue does not publish lesson start dates for 2026/2027. The university academic calendar page still shows the 2025/2026 year. intakeMonths carries September because the call sets enrolment payment for 1 to 30 September 2026, with a further ranking intake closing 15 October 2026. It is not a published lesson start date. 3) The programme's call and the university's academic requirements sheet list different foreign degree subject fields. The call names Design, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Economics. The sheet names Design in any field, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science Engineering with a specific cv in Robotics or IoT or A.I., Architecture, and Marketing and Management. Which governs a borderline applicant is not stated. 4) The programme's own call prints no English test scores, only CEFR B2. The scores in this record come from the university's academic requirements sheet. If a future call prints its own scores they may differ. 5) The online application form linked inside the call PDF is a Google Forms address ending in /edit, which is an editing link rather than a working public form. applicationUrl therefore points at the programme's Apply page instead. 6) Tuition for a student who files income tax abroad depends on the country band, so one yearly figure does not fit every applicant. 7) The catalogue publishes the presentation, objectives and professional opportunities text in Italian on its English pages, so no English original exists for those sections on the programme's own site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue

Application deadline

closed on 31 August 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“From the university's Academic Requirements sheet, in the block headed "MSc Product and Service Design": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS / Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2 / The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. / Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." This is the country restricted waiver, not an uncapped one, and Pakistan is not on the list. The programme's own call for applications states only "Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2" and asks for a "Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the English language certificate or self-certification (level B2)". The call names no test and prints no scores.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 call for applications is not published. The next application deadline, the next intake and the next fee are therefore not known. 2) The catalogue does not publish lesson start dates for 2026/2027. The university academic calendar page still shows the 2025/2026 year. intakeMonths carries September because the call sets enrolment payment for 1 to 30 September 2026, with a further ranking intake closing 15 October 2026. It is not a published lesson start date. 3) The programme's call and the university's academic requirements sheet list different foreign degree subject fields. The call names Design, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Economics. The sheet names Design in any field, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science Engineering with a specific cv in Robotics or IoT or A.I., Architecture, and Marketing and Management. Which governs a borderline applicant is not stated. 4) The programme's own call prints no English test scores, only CEFR B2. The scores in this record come from the university's academic requirements sheet. If a future call prints its own scores they may differ. 5) The online application form linked inside the call PDF is a Google Forms address ending in /edit, which is an editing link rather than a working public form. applicationUrl therefore points at the programme's Apply page instead. 6) Tuition for a student who files income tax abroad depends on the country band, so one yearly figure does not fit every applicant. 7) The catalogue publishes the presentation, objectives and professional opportunities text in Italian on its English pages, so no English original exists for those sections on the programme's own site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectArchitecture and design
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 call for applications is not published. The next application deadline, the next intake and the next fee are therefore not known. 2) The catalogue does not publish lesson start dates for 2026/2027. The university academic calendar page still shows the 2025/2026 year. intakeMonths carries September because the call sets enrolment payment for 1 to 30 September 2026, with a further ranking intake closing 15 October 2026. It is not a published lesson start date. 3) The programme's call and the university's academic requirements sheet list different foreign degree subject fields. The call names Design, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Economics. The sheet names Design in any field, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science Engineering with a specific cv in Robotics or IoT or A.I., Architecture, and Marketing and Management. Which governs a borderline applicant is not stated. 4) The programme's own call prints no English test scores, only CEFR B2. The scores in this record come from the university's academic requirements sheet. If a future call prints its own scores they may differ. 5) The online application form linked inside the call PDF is a Google Forms address ending in /edit, which is an editing link rather than a working public form. applicationUrl therefore points at the programme's Apply page instead. 6) Tuition for a student who files income tax abroad depends on the country band, so one yearly figure does not fit every applicant. 7) The catalogue publishes the presentation, objectives and professional opportunities text in Italian on its English pages, so no English original exists for those sections on the programme's own site.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 call for applications is not published. The next application deadline, the next intake and the next fee are therefore not known. 2) The catalogue does not publish lesson start dates for 2026/2027. The university academic calendar page still shows the 2025/2026 year. intakeMonths carries September because the call sets enrolment payment for 1 to 30 September 2026, with a further ranking intake closing 15 October 2026. It is not a published lesson start date. 3) The programme's call and the university's academic requirements sheet list different foreign degree subject fields. The call names Design, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Economics. The sheet names Design in any field, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science Engineering with a specific cv in Robotics or IoT or A.I., Architecture, and Marketing and Management. Which governs a borderline applicant is not stated. 4) The programme's own call prints no English test scores, only CEFR B2. The scores in this record come from the university's academic requirements sheet. If a future call prints its own scores they may differ. 5) The online application form linked inside the call PDF is a Google Forms address ending in /edit, which is an editing link rather than a working public form. applicationUrl therefore points at the programme's Apply page instead. 6) Tuition for a student who files income tax abroad depends on the country band, so one yearly figure does not fit every applicant. 7) The catalogue publishes the presentation, objectives and professional opportunities text in Italian on its English pages, so no English original exists for those sections on the programme's own site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue

To be considered, once

€35

about PKR 11,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 call for applications is not published. The next application deadline, the next intake and the next fee are therefore not known. 2) The catalogue does not publish lesson start dates for 2026/2027. The university academic calendar page still shows the 2025/2026 year. intakeMonths carries September because the call sets enrolment payment for 1 to 30 September 2026, with a further ranking intake closing 15 October 2026. It is not a published lesson start date. 3) The programme's call and the university's academic requirements sheet list different foreign degree subject fields. The call names Design, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science, Architecture and Economics. The sheet names Design in any field, Industrial Engineering, Computer Science Engineering with a specific cv in Robotics or IoT or A.I., Architecture, and Marketing and Management. Which governs a borderline applicant is not stated. 4) The programme's own call prints no English test scores, only CEFR B2. The scores in this record come from the university's academic requirements sheet. If a future call prints its own scores they may differ. 5) The online application form linked inside the call PDF is a Google Forms address ending in /edit, which is an editing link rather than a working public form. applicationUrl therefore points at the programme's Apply page instead. 6) Tuition for a student who files income tax abroad depends on the country band, so one yearly figure does not fit every applicant. 7) The catalogue publishes the presentation, objectives and professional opportunities text in Italian on its English pages, so no English original exists for those sections on the programme's own site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Restricted, entrance test

    accesso programmato

    The university's own wording
    “The call for applications carries the heading "Restricted access degree programme" on its first page, and the rector's decree orders "The publication of the call for applications regulating the procedures for access to the restricted access Master's degree programme in Product and Service Design delivered in English for the academic year 2026-2027." In Italian terms this is accesso programmato, not accesso libero. Places are capped: 30 EU places and 40 non-EU places, "of which 2 is reserved for Chinese citizens participating in the Marco Polo project". Admission requires a comparative assessment of qualifications and an oral test. Source: Rector's decree no. 1130/2026 of June 15, 2026, published as the programme's official call for applications.”
  • Entrance tests

    PortfolioInterviewThe university's own test

What the call asks for

  1. First-level bachelor's degree or Graduation Diploma, or other educational qualification obtained in Italy or abroad, deemed as corresponding to a Bachelor's degree

  2. For educational qualifications from EU or non-EU countries the valid subject fields are: Degrees in Design; Degree in Industrial Engineering; Degrees in Computer Science; Degrees in Architecture; Degrees in Economics

  3. For Italian educational qualifications the valid bachelor's degrees are: Industrial design (L-4 class, ex L-42); Industrial engineering (L-9 class, ex L-10); Civil and environmental engineering (L-7 class); Architectural Sciences (L-17 class, ex L-4); Construction Sciences and Techniques (L-23 class); Information Engineering (L-8 class, ex L-9); Economics and Business Management Sciences (L-18 class)

  4. Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2

  5. MINIMUM GPA: 80/100, from the university's Academic Requirements sheet for this programme

  6. EU candidates and non-EU candidates holding a valid residence permit in Italy had to meet the requirements by August 31, 2026

  7. Non-EU candidates applying for a student visa had to meet the requirements by June 30, 2026, and to hold a pre-acceptance letter downloaded in .pdf format after successful pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform by May 15, 2026

  8. Non-EU candidates applying for a student visa had to complete and send online pre-enrolment on the Universitaly website by June 30, 2026

  9. A candidate due to obtain a first-level bachelor's degree from Sapienza by 31 December 2026 may participate in the selection conditionally, still with a certificate of English at minimum level B2 or a self-certification of it

  10. Candidates who already hold a second-level academic qualification must follow the same procedures and take part in the comparative assessment

The English rule

IELTS required

“From the university's Academic Requirements sheet, in the block headed "MSc Product and Service Design": "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS / Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2 / The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. / Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." This is the country restricted waiver, not an uncapped one, and Pakistan is not on the list. The programme's own call for applications states only "Advanced knowledge of the English language, at least level B2" and asks for a "Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the English language certificate or self-certification (level B2)". The call names no test and prints no scores.”

The application file

  • ID document. The file has to be named with Surname_Name_Document
  • Copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the payment receipt for the 35.00 euro fee. The file must be named with Surname_Name_Payment
  • Scanned copy (scanned in .pdf format) of the English language certificate or self-certification (level B2). The file must be named with Last_Name_Language Certificate
  • Curriculum Vitae (format .pdf). The file must be named with Last_Name_CV
  • Portfolio (format .pdf). The file must be named with Last_Name_Portfolio
  • Pre-selection letter (format .pdf), only for non-EU candidates permanently resident abroad

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.

1st8 modules
  • AESTETICHS6 CFU
  • HUMAN FACTORS AND ERGONOMICS6 CFU
  • CONTEMPORARY DESIGN ISSUES6 CFU
  • DESIGN-DRIVEN INNOVATION STUDIO9 CFU
  • LABORATORY OF PHYGITAL PROTOTYPINGLab or workshop6 CFU
  • LABORATORY OF DIGITAL REPRESENTATIONLab or workshop9 CFU
  • LABORATORY OF SMART OBJECTLab or workshop9 CFU
  • LABORATORY OF GREEN TRANSITIONLab or workshop6 CFU
2nd8 modules
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • FURTHER LEARNING WORK AND TRAINING12 CFU
  • THESIS WORKThesis15 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • SERVICE AND SOCIAL INNOVATION DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list12 CFU
  • PRODUCT AND PROCESS INNOVATION DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list12 CFU
  • DIGITAL SOCIETY DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list12 CFU
  • SUSTAINABILITY DESIGN STUDIOChoose from a list12 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 16 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A two year Master's degree taught in English at Sapienza University of Rome, covering product design, service design, prototyping, smart objects and sustainable production and consumption. It suits a design, engineering, architecture or economics graduate who can meet a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 and wants studio based work in Rome.

Product and Service Design is a two year Master's degree at Sapienza University of Rome. It sits in degree class LM-12. It is taught in English. It is an interfaculty programme run by the Faculty of Architecture and the Faculty of Information Engineering, Computer Science and Statistics. The catalogue records the teaching delivery method as Conventional - in Person. The degree programme code is 33433 and the admission test code is 16249.

The university's full description

The programme runs over 4 semesters in 2 years. Module names below are written exactly as the study plan prints them. The first semester holds AESTETICHS, HUMAN FACTORS AND ERGONOMICS, CONTEMPORARY DESIGN ISSUES and DESIGN-DRIVEN INNOVATION STUDIO. The second semester holds four laboratories: LABORATORY OF PHYGITAL PROTOTYPING, LABORATORY OF DIGITAL REPRESENTATION, LABORATORY OF SMART OBJECT and LABORATORY OF GREEN TRANSITION. Units inside those laboratories include DESIGN WITH ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE, DESIGN FOR PHYSICAL COMPUTING, SUSTAINABLE MARKETING and NATURE-BASED SOLUTIONS.

The second year is built from two optional groups. A student takes 12 CFU from the first group, which holds SERVICE AND SOCIAL INNOVATION DESIGN STUDIO and PRODUCT AND PROCESS INNOVATION DESIGN STUDIO. A student takes 12 CFU from the second group, which holds DIGITAL SOCIETY DESIGN STUDIO and SUSTAINABILITY DESIGN STUDIO. The study plan also sets 12 CFU of elective exams, 12 CFU of Further Learning, and 15 CFU for the final thesis. The presentation page states that the Further Learning credits are carried out at companies, professional studios and research centres working internationally. The final work is a research based activity that develops a working prototype of a product or a service.

Entry is restricted. There are 30 places for EU candidates and 40 places for non-EU candidates, of which 2 are reserved for Chinese citizens on the Marco Polo project. Selection is a comparative assessment of qualifications worth up to 50 points plus an online oral test worth up to 10 points. The oral test focuses on the candidate's commentary of the portfolio. Within the 50 points, up to 20 are for the portfolio of project work, up to 15 for the bachelor's final dissertation, up to 10 for postgraduate courses and workshops, and up to 5 for design prizes, exhibitions, patents and products in production. Rankings are expressed out of 60 points and a candidate needs at least 15 points to enter the ranking list.

The university's academic requirements sheet sets a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 for this programme. It accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher and TOEFL iBT 80 or higher. The programme's own call sets the fee for the selection at 35.00 euro, paid on Infostud. A non-EU candidate who needs a student visa pays a further 30 euro for pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform. The programme contact address printed in the call is msproductdesign@uniroma1.it.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Design Strategist at the management level for companies or new start-ups
  • Design Researcher within Research Centers
  • Continuing their training in the Ph.D. course
  • For the Design Strategist, the catalogue lists: self-employment and entrepreneurship; roles within public and private institutions and bodies; roles within design studios and design companies; roles within small, medium and large companies
  • For the Design Researcher, the catalogue lists: roles within applied research bodies and institutions; roles within research and development divisions of national and international companies
  • Named sectors for the Design Strategist: products and services with high technological and performance content (Smart Objects, IoT, Robotics, Digital Society); products and services for particular users or emerging contexts of use (Health-care, Design for Emergency, Design for Sustainability); products and services for social innovation and the new economies (Design for Sharing Economy, Critical Design)
  • Named research fields for the Design Researcher: Design for Digital Transition; Design for Digital Fabrication and Industry 4.0; Design Human-centred and Planet-centred; Design for Green Transition; Design for new Economy

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Is the Duolingo English Test accepted?

No. The academic requirements sheet for this programme lists IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on that list, and it is not on Sapienza's university wide list either.

I studied my bachelor's degree in English in Pakistan. Is the English test waived?

No. For this programme the waiver covers native speakers of English, holders of an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA, Schengen, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list. You still need a test score.

What English score do I need?

IELTS 5.5 or higher, or TOEFL iBT 80 or higher. The programme's own call for applications asks only for CEFR level B2 and names no test. The scores come from the university's academic requirements sheet, which prints a block for this degree.

What does it cost to apply?

The programme's call sets a fee of 35.00 euro, paid on Infostud under code 16249. A non-EU candidate who needs a student visa also pays 30 euro for pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform, capped at two applications per year. The call states that neither fee is refunded.

What will I pay in tuition each year?

Sapienza charges a fixed yearly contribution to students who file income tax abroad, set by country band. Pakistan is in Band A, which is 300 euro a year in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. A regional tax of 140 euro and a 16 euro stamp duty are added. A student who files an ISEE in Italy falls in the second contribution bracket, up to 2,924 euro a year, reducible by ISEE.

Is there a written entrance exam?

No written exam is published. Selection is a comparative assessment of your qualifications, worth up to 50 points, plus an online oral test on your portfolio, worth up to 10 points. You need at least 15 points to enter the ranking list, which is scored out of 60.

How important is the portfolio?

It carries the largest single block of points. Up to 20 of the 50 qualification points are for the portfolio of project work, split into work done as a student, as a project collaborator and as a project author. The oral test then focuses on your commentary of that portfolio.

Can I still apply for 2026/2027?

No. Applications closed on June 30, 2026 for non-EU candidates applying for a visa, and on August 31, 2026 for EU candidates and non-EU candidates holding a residence permit in Italy. The 2027/2028 call has not been published yet.

How many places are there?

30 places for EU candidates and non-EU candidates holding a valid residence permit in Italy, and 40 places for non-EU candidates resident abroad, of which 2 are reserved for Chinese citizens on the Marco Polo project. If the non-EU places are not filled, the vacant places pass to the EU group.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility