Skip to content
UniConnect360

Physics

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 cycle looks closed to a new Pakistani applicant. MoveIN pre selection for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and MoveIN closed entirely on 31 July 2026, and Universitaly visa pre enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The only date still ahead is the 15 September 2026 Infostud requirements check, which does not by itself produce a visa. Confirm with Sapienza whether any route remains for this intake, or whether this record should point at 2027-2028. 2) Two Sapienza documents disagree on this programme's English rule and neither cancels the other. The MoveIN sheet of 8 June 2026 sets IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80 and a country limited waiver. The programme notice of 24 July 2026 and the official call set a B2 certificate or an internal interview, with no country limit. The MoveIN sheet itself says its content may be subject to changes for 2026/2027. Which governs a Pakistani applicant end to end is not stated anywhere we could read. 3) The MoveIN sheet describes four tracks, named Fundamental Interactions, Condensed Matter Physics, Physics of Living Systems and General Theoretical Physics. The 2026-2027 catalogue and study plan show five, with different names. The MoveIN text appears to be out of date. 4) Whether the Lazio regional tax of 140 euro and the 16 euro stamp duty are added on top of the 300 euro Fascia A contribution for this course. Both amounts are published, but only in the sections covering specialisation schools and distance learning courses, not in the foreign income section. 5) PTE Academic at 59 or above maps to B2 on the certifications list this programme's English notice links to, so it should serve for the interview exemption. It is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree, so its standing at pre selection is unconfirmed. 6) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not yet published. The Sapienza page states that information for that year appears after 30 September. The 300 euro figure is the currently published one. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Physics (33602)

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“From the Sapienza MoveIN admission requirements sheet for 2026/2027, MSc Physics entry: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS / Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2 / The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The waiver is country limited and does not cover Pakistan. The programme's own notice of 24 July 2026, ENGLISH LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY ASSESSMENT, sets a second and separate route at the Sapienza requirements check: "Upload an English language certificate at level B2 or higher to request an exemption from the interview" or "Register for the English language proficiency assessment interview." That interview carries no country limit. The official call adds: "Admission to the Master's degree programme in Physics will be automatically granted to students who meet the admission requirements, have obtained a three-year Bachelor's degree (L-30) and submit a certificate attesting to their knowledge of English at least at level B2 (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - CEFR) or equivalent."”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 cycle looks closed to a new Pakistani applicant. MoveIN pre selection for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and MoveIN closed entirely on 31 July 2026, and Universitaly visa pre enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The only date still ahead is the 15 September 2026 Infostud requirements check, which does not by itself produce a visa. Confirm with Sapienza whether any route remains for this intake, or whether this record should point at 2027-2028. 2) Two Sapienza documents disagree on this programme's English rule and neither cancels the other. The MoveIN sheet of 8 June 2026 sets IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80 and a country limited waiver. The programme notice of 24 July 2026 and the official call set a B2 certificate or an internal interview, with no country limit. The MoveIN sheet itself says its content may be subject to changes for 2026/2027. Which governs a Pakistani applicant end to end is not stated anywhere we could read. 3) The MoveIN sheet describes four tracks, named Fundamental Interactions, Condensed Matter Physics, Physics of Living Systems and General Theoretical Physics. The 2026-2027 catalogue and study plan show five, with different names. The MoveIN text appears to be out of date. 4) Whether the Lazio regional tax of 140 euro and the 16 euro stamp duty are added on top of the 300 euro Fascia A contribution for this course. Both amounts are published, but only in the sections covering specialisation schools and distance learning courses, not in the foreign income section. 5) PTE Academic at 59 or above maps to B2 on the certifications list this programme's English notice links to, so it should serve for the interview exemption. It is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree, so its standing at pre selection is unconfirmed. 6) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not yet published. The Sapienza page states that information for that year appears after 30 September. The 300 euro figure is the currently published one. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Physics (33602)

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectNatural sciences
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 cycle looks closed to a new Pakistani applicant. MoveIN pre selection for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and MoveIN closed entirely on 31 July 2026, and Universitaly visa pre enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The only date still ahead is the 15 September 2026 Infostud requirements check, which does not by itself produce a visa. Confirm with Sapienza whether any route remains for this intake, or whether this record should point at 2027-2028. 2) Two Sapienza documents disagree on this programme's English rule and neither cancels the other. The MoveIN sheet of 8 June 2026 sets IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80 and a country limited waiver. The programme notice of 24 July 2026 and the official call set a B2 certificate or an internal interview, with no country limit. The MoveIN sheet itself says its content may be subject to changes for 2026/2027. Which governs a Pakistani applicant end to end is not stated anywhere we could read. 3) The MoveIN sheet describes four tracks, named Fundamental Interactions, Condensed Matter Physics, Physics of Living Systems and General Theoretical Physics. The 2026-2027 catalogue and study plan show five, with different names. The MoveIN text appears to be out of date. 4) Whether the Lazio regional tax of 140 euro and the 16 euro stamp duty are added on top of the 300 euro Fascia A contribution for this course. Both amounts are published, but only in the sections covering specialisation schools and distance learning courses, not in the foreign income section. 5) PTE Academic at 59 or above maps to B2 on the certifications list this programme's English notice links to, so it should serve for the interview exemption. It is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree, so its standing at pre selection is unconfirmed. 6) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not yet published. The Sapienza page states that information for that year appears after 30 September. The 300 euro figure is the currently published one.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 cycle looks closed to a new Pakistani applicant. MoveIN pre selection for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and MoveIN closed entirely on 31 July 2026, and Universitaly visa pre enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The only date still ahead is the 15 September 2026 Infostud requirements check, which does not by itself produce a visa. Confirm with Sapienza whether any route remains for this intake, or whether this record should point at 2027-2028. 2) Two Sapienza documents disagree on this programme's English rule and neither cancels the other. The MoveIN sheet of 8 June 2026 sets IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80 and a country limited waiver. The programme notice of 24 July 2026 and the official call set a B2 certificate or an internal interview, with no country limit. The MoveIN sheet itself says its content may be subject to changes for 2026/2027. Which governs a Pakistani applicant end to end is not stated anywhere we could read. 3) The MoveIN sheet describes four tracks, named Fundamental Interactions, Condensed Matter Physics, Physics of Living Systems and General Theoretical Physics. The 2026-2027 catalogue and study plan show five, with different names. The MoveIN text appears to be out of date. 4) Whether the Lazio regional tax of 140 euro and the 16 euro stamp duty are added on top of the 300 euro Fascia A contribution for this course. Both amounts are published, but only in the sections covering specialisation schools and distance learning courses, not in the foreign income section. 5) PTE Academic at 59 or above maps to B2 on the certifications list this programme's English notice links to, so it should serve for the interview exemption. It is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree, so its standing at pre selection is unconfirmed. 6) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not yet published. The Sapienza page states that information for that year appears after 30 September. The 300 euro figure is the currently published one. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Physics (33602)

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026-2027 cycle looks closed to a new Pakistani applicant. MoveIN pre selection for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and MoveIN closed entirely on 31 July 2026, and Universitaly visa pre enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The only date still ahead is the 15 September 2026 Infostud requirements check, which does not by itself produce a visa. Confirm with Sapienza whether any route remains for this intake, or whether this record should point at 2027-2028. 2) Two Sapienza documents disagree on this programme's English rule and neither cancels the other. The MoveIN sheet of 8 June 2026 sets IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80 and a country limited waiver. The programme notice of 24 July 2026 and the official call set a B2 certificate or an internal interview, with no country limit. The MoveIN sheet itself says its content may be subject to changes for 2026/2027. Which governs a Pakistani applicant end to end is not stated anywhere we could read. 3) The MoveIN sheet describes four tracks, named Fundamental Interactions, Condensed Matter Physics, Physics of Living Systems and General Theoretical Physics. The 2026-2027 catalogue and study plan show five, with different names. The MoveIN text appears to be out of date. 4) Whether the Lazio regional tax of 140 euro and the 16 euro stamp duty are added on top of the 300 euro Fascia A contribution for this course. Both amounts are published, but only in the sections covering specialisation schools and distance learning courses, not in the foreign income section. 5) PTE Academic at 59 or above maps to B2 on the certifications list this programme's English notice links to, so it should serve for the interview exemption. It is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree, so its standing at pre selection is unconfirmed. 6) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not yet published. The Sapienza page states that information for that year appears after 30 September. The 300 euro figure is the currently published one. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Physics (33602)

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The catalogue presentation states: "Non e' previsto numero programmato per l'accesso. L'ammissione avviene attraverso una verifica dei requisiti curriculari e della personale preparazione." The printed text uses the accented form "Non è previsto numero programmato per l'accesso." The official call for 2026-2027 is titled "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: Physics". So this is accesso libero with a requirements check, not accesso programmato.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. A three-year bachelor's degree or university diploma, or an equivalent qualification obtained abroad and recognised as such

  2. A good knowledge of classical and modern physics, the fundamentals of chemistry, and the necessary mathematical and computing skills

  3. A good command of the English language, both written and spoken, with particular reference to subject-specific and technical vocabulary

  4. A total of 20 credits in mathematics and/or computer science (MAT/01-MAT/08, INF/01, ING-INF/05)

  5. 5 credits in chemistry (CHIM/01-03 and CHIM/06)

  6. 65 credits in physics (FIS/01-FIS/08), of which at least 40 credits must be in experimental physics (FIS/01), 12 credits in theoretical physics, mathematical models and methods (FIS/02), and 8 credits in the physics of matter and/or nuclear and subnuclear physics (FIS/03, FIS/04)

  7. Holders of a three-year Physics degree (Ministerial Decree 270/2004) from Sapienza with 8 CFU in FIS/03 and/or FIS/04 are automatically deemed to meet the academic requirements

  8. Applicants who do not meet the credit requirements may enrol for individual examinations and take them before enrolling on the master's degree

  9. Assessment of personal knowledge by a dedicated committee, waived where the applicant holds an L-30 bachelor's degree and a CEFR B2 English certificate

  10. MoveIN pre selection entry for this degree: BSc Physics or in a similar subject, with basic knowledge of Classical Mechanics, Thermodynamics, Electromagnetism, Optics, Quantum Mechanics and Statistical Mechanics, laboratory experience, data analysis for physical sciences, computer programming and numerical methods

  11. MoveIN pre selection entry for this degree: MINIMUM GPA 80/100, plus a CV and a motivational letter

The English rule

IELTS required

“From the Sapienza MoveIN admission requirements sheet for 2026/2027, MSc Physics entry: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS / Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2 / The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." The waiver is country limited and does not cover Pakistan. The programme's own notice of 24 July 2026, ENGLISH LANGUAGE PROFICIENCY ASSESSMENT, sets a second and separate route at the Sapienza requirements check: "Upload an English language certificate at level B2 or higher to request an exemption from the interview" or "Register for the English language proficiency assessment interview." That interview carries no country limit. The official call adds: "Admission to the Master's degree programme in Physics will be automatically granted to students who meet the admission requirements, have obtained a three-year Bachelor's degree (L-30) and submit a certificate attesting to their knowledge of English at least at level B2 (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages - CEFR) or equivalent."”

The application file

  • Identity document: a valid passport (or identity card for EU citizens only)
  • Study visa: a University Enrolment visa issued by the Italian Diplomatic Mission in the country of residence
  • Residence permit: receipts of the residence permit request, to be made within 8 days of arrival in Italy
  • University level qualification corresponding to the first cycle of the Bologna Process (EQF level 6), with an official sworn translation into Italian or English
  • Transcript of Records, with an official sworn translation into Italian or English
  • Statement of Comparability and Statement of Verification issued by CIMEA, or one of the alternatives the page lists
  • Pre acceptance letter, which is compulsory for non EU applicants residing abroad
  • English language certificate at CEFR B2 or above, uploaded through the programme's Google form, if you want to be exempt from the English interview
  • Applicants coming from another Italian university also submit the form Dichiarazione laurea ed esami per verifica dei requisiti

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • PTE Academic
  • An interview

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two year master's degree in physics taught entirely in English, with five curricula covering fundamental interactions, condensed matter, biological systems, statistical physics and advanced technologies. It suits a physics graduate heading for a PhD or a research post who can already show 65 credits of physics in a bachelor's degree.

Physics at Sapienza is a two year laurea magistrale in degree class LM-17. It is worth 120 CFU. Every curriculum is taught in English. Teaching is in person at the Department of Physics in Rome. The catalogue records the delivery mode as Conventional, in Person.

The university's full description

The degree has five curricula. They are Fundamental Interactions: Theory and Experiment, Condensed matter physics: Theory and experiment, Statistical Physics and Complexity, Physics of Biological Systems, and Physics for Advanced Technologies. Two of them double as international multiple degree routes. The study plan marks the Condensed matter curriculum as also valid for an Italian, French and Portuguese multiple degree track, and Physics for Advanced Technologies as also valid for an Italian, French, Spanish and Swedish one.

The first year is largely shared. Its compulsory modules include Introduction to Quantum Field Theory, CONDENSED MATTER PHYSICS, PHYSICS LABORATORY I and Physics Laboratory II. Each curriculum then draws further credits from its own optional groups. The second year is mostly optional modules plus the thesis. THESIS PROJECT is worth 41 CFU, so the research project takes roughly half the second year.

Access is not capped. There is no ranked entry test and no numerus clausus. Sapienza checks your prior credits first, then your subject knowledge. The credit floors are 65 in physics, 20 in mathematics or computer science, and 5 in chemistry, with a further breakdown inside the physics total.

English is handled as a separate step. All candidates fill in a form when they request the requirements check. A certificate at CEFR B2 or above exempts you from an interview. Without one you sit an English proficiency interview run by the programme. That interview route is open to every applicant and is not limited by country.

An applicant from Pakistan who needs a study visa has an extra step before any of this. The pre acceptance letter is compulsory for that visa, and it comes from the MoveIN pre selection. The MoveIN entry for this degree sets a minimum mark of 80 out of 100, asks for a CV and a motivational letter, and states English minimums of IELTS 5.5 or TOEFL iBT 80. Its waiver list names only native speakers, holders of an English taught qualification from the EU, EEA, Schengen area, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate or GCSE. Pakistan is not on that list.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Ricercatore in fisica di base e applicata
  • Ricercatore, analista e manager nell'industria e nei servizi
  • Divulgatore scientifico

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Do I need IELTS for this degree?

It depends on the step. The MoveIN pre selection, which a Pakistani applicant must pass to get the visa pre acceptance letter, accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, or Trinity ISE II or higher. Its waiver names only certain countries and Pakistan is not among them. At the later Sapienza requirements check the programme also runs its own English proficiency interview, and any applicant may register for it instead of uploading a certificate.

Is Duolingo accepted?

No. Duolingo does not appear on the list of recognised English certifications that this programme's own English notice links to, and it is not named in the MoveIN entry for this degree.

What is the minimum mark?

The MoveIN admission requirements sheet sets a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 for this degree. The official call for applications sets no mark at all. It sets credit thresholds instead: 65 credits in physics, 20 in mathematics or computer science, and 5 in chemistry.

How much does it cost to apply?

There are two separate payments. The MoveIN pre selection application fee is 30 euro per application, with a maximum of two applications per student per academic year. The Sapienza requirements check costs 10 euro, paid on Infostud using course code 33602.

What will I pay in tuition?

Sapienza charges a fixed annual contribution to students who earn their income abroad and so cannot file an Italian ISEE. Pakistan is listed in Fascia A, which is 300 euro a year, split into instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. These are the amounts currently published under article 38 of the student regulations. Sapienza has said the 2026-2027 figures are published after 30 September.

Is there an entrance exam?

There is no ranked entrance test and no numerus clausus. A committee assesses your subject knowledge by interview, and that interview is skipped if you hold an L-30 bachelor's degree, meet the credit requirements and submit a B2 English certificate.

Which curriculum should I pick?

There are five: Fundamental Interactions: Theory and Experiment, Condensed matter physics: Theory and experiment, Statistical Physics and Complexity, Physics of Biological Systems, and Physics for Advanced Technologies. The first year is largely shared across them, so the choice mainly shapes your optional groups and your thesis.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility