Skip to content
UniConnect360

Fashion theory and practices - delivered in blended mode

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€1,600

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza does not publish the 2026/2027 lesson start dates for this programme. The timetable page and the lessons plan page both carry no dates, so intakeMonths is empty. 2) The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for visa applicants. The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not yet published. 3) The call prints 15 September 2026 as the non-EU visa date for the Infostud eligibility check, but the MoveIn deadline that produces the required pre-acceptance letter passed on 15 May 2026. Sapienza does not explain how the two fit together. 4) The three published statements about how much of the degree is compulsory do not agree. The admission requirements document says there are only two compulsory courses, in the first year first semester. The presentation page says a small group of mandatory exams totals 30 ECTS. The study plan's first table names five modules in that semester. 5) No portfolio brief, format or length is published, although the portfolio is named as an evaluation element. 6) It is not stated whether an applicant who relies on the language check on arrival in Italy can still obtain a pre-acceptance letter and a visa. 7) The catalogue header says the 2026/2027 contents are still being updated, so module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Fashion theory and practices - delivered in blended mode (33553)

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme's own call adds: Admission to the Master's degree programme is subject to passing an assessment of the applicant's academic knowledge, including a minimum B2 level of English. If no English language certificate (B2) has been submitted, it is necessary to undergo a language proficiency test upon arrival in Italy.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza does not publish the 2026/2027 lesson start dates for this programme. The timetable page and the lessons plan page both carry no dates, so intakeMonths is empty. 2) The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for visa applicants. The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not yet published. 3) The call prints 15 September 2026 as the non-EU visa date for the Infostud eligibility check, but the MoveIn deadline that produces the required pre-acceptance letter passed on 15 May 2026. Sapienza does not explain how the two fit together. 4) The three published statements about how much of the degree is compulsory do not agree. The admission requirements document says there are only two compulsory courses, in the first year first semester. The presentation page says a small group of mandatory exams totals 30 ECTS. The study plan's first table names five modules in that semester. 5) No portfolio brief, format or length is published, although the portfolio is named as an evaluation element. 6) It is not stated whether an applicant who relies on the language check on arrival in Italy can still obtain a pre-acceptance letter and a visa. 7) The catalogue header says the 2026/2027 contents are still being updated, so module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Fashion theory and practices - delivered in blended mode (33553)

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectArts and humanities
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryBlended
  • StartsNot yet read
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€1,600

about PKR 514,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza does not publish the 2026/2027 lesson start dates for this programme. The timetable page and the lessons plan page both carry no dates, so intakeMonths is empty. 2) The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for visa applicants. The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not yet published. 3) The call prints 15 September 2026 as the non-EU visa date for the Infostud eligibility check, but the MoveIn deadline that produces the required pre-acceptance letter passed on 15 May 2026. Sapienza does not explain how the two fit together. 4) The three published statements about how much of the degree is compulsory do not agree. The admission requirements document says there are only two compulsory courses, in the first year first semester. The presentation page says a small group of mandatory exams totals 30 ECTS. The study plan's first table names five modules in that semester. 5) No portfolio brief, format or length is published, although the portfolio is named as an evaluation element. 6) It is not stated whether an applicant who relies on the language check on arrival in Italy can still obtain a pre-acceptance letter and a visa. 7) The catalogue header says the 2026/2027 contents are still being updated, so module details may change.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza does not publish the 2026/2027 lesson start dates for this programme. The timetable page and the lessons plan page both carry no dates, so intakeMonths is empty. 2) The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for visa applicants. The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not yet published. 3) The call prints 15 September 2026 as the non-EU visa date for the Infostud eligibility check, but the MoveIn deadline that produces the required pre-acceptance letter passed on 15 May 2026. Sapienza does not explain how the two fit together. 4) The three published statements about how much of the degree is compulsory do not agree. The admission requirements document says there are only two compulsory courses, in the first year first semester. The presentation page says a small group of mandatory exams totals 30 ECTS. The study plan's first table names five modules in that semester. 5) No portfolio brief, format or length is published, although the portfolio is named as an evaluation element. 6) It is not stated whether an applicant who relies on the language check on arrival in Italy can still obtain a pre-acceptance letter and a visa. 7) The catalogue header says the 2026/2027 contents are still being updated, so module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Fashion theory and practices - delivered in blended mode (33553)

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Sapienza does not publish the 2026/2027 lesson start dates for this programme. The timetable page and the lessons plan page both carry no dates, so intakeMonths is empty. 2) The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026/2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for visa applicants. The 2027/2028 pre-selection dates are not yet published. 3) The call prints 15 September 2026 as the non-EU visa date for the Infostud eligibility check, but the MoveIn deadline that produces the required pre-acceptance letter passed on 15 May 2026. Sapienza does not explain how the two fit together. 4) The three published statements about how much of the degree is compulsory do not agree. The admission requirements document says there are only two compulsory courses, in the first year first semester. The presentation page says a small group of mandatory exams totals 30 ECTS. The study plan's first table names five modules in that semester. 5) No portfolio brief, format or length is published, although the portfolio is named as an evaluation element. 6) It is not stated whether an applicant who relies on the language check on arrival in Italy can still obtain a pre-acceptance letter and a visa. 7) The catalogue header says the 2026/2027 contents are still being updated, so module details may change. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Fashion theory and practices - delivered in blended mode (33553)

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “Admission to the Master's degree programme is subject to passing an assessment of the applicant's academic knowledge, including a minimum B2 level of English, which will be conducted in accordance with the procedures set out in the programme's Academic Regulations. The call for applications sets no number of places, no quota and no ranking, so this is not accesso programmato. Admission runs through an eligibility check and a personal knowledge assessment, requested by paying 10 euro on Infostud with code 33553.”
  • Entrance tests

    PortfolioInterview

What the call asks for

  1. A bachelor's degree or a three-year university diploma, or an equivalent qualification obtained abroad and recognised as suitable under current legislation

  2. Bachelor degree in the field of Fashion, Arts and Performing Arts, Architecture, spectacle and Music, History, Media and Communication, Sociology and Economics and Marketing, Textile engineering

  3. Or, in the call's wording, a degree in class L-3 (Disciplines of the Visual Arts, Music, Performing Arts and Fashion), or at least 90 CFU in the listed historical, philosophical, sociological, anthropological, design, arts, economics and computer science sectors

  4. MINIMUM GPA: 80/100

  5. Admission is subject to passing an assessment of academic knowledge, including a minimum B2 level of English

  6. The evaluation will be according to the final grade of the Bachelor's Degree, CV, and portfolio

The English rule

IELTS required

“MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher. Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates. The programme's own call adds: Admission to the Master's degree programme is subject to passing an assessment of the applicant's academic knowledge, including a minimum B2 level of English. If no English language certificate (B2) has been submitted, it is necessary to undergo a language proficiency test upon arrival in Italy.”

The application file

  • Identity document, uploaded to Infostud under Profile, Personal documents
  • English language certificate issued by a recognised institution (IELTS, TOEFL, etc.)
  • Transcript of Records or Diploma Supplement
  • CV
  • Portfolio
  • Passport (MoveIn pre-selection)
  • High School and University Diploma (MoveIn pre-selection)
  • Reference Letter, optional (MoveIn pre-selection)
  • Additional supporting documents (MoveIn pre-selection)
  • The pdf payment receipt for the 30 euro application fee, uploaded on MoveIn before submitting

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • The university's own test

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two-year Sapienza master's degree in the study of fashion, taught in English and run jointly with Unitelma Sapienza. The first semester is online and the rest is mostly in person in Rome, and it suits a humanities, design, communication or economics graduate who wants to work on fashion as culture, branding and industry rather than train as a designer.

Sapienza Università di Roma runs this master's degree with Unitelma Sapienza. The Italian name on the call is Teoria e tecniche della moda. The catalogue code is 33553. The degree class is LM-65. The faculty is Lettere e Filosofia. The department is STORIA ANTROPOLOGIA RELIGIONI ARTE SPETTACOLO. The degree lasts two years.

The university's full description

All teaching is in English. The catalogue gives the lesson mode as Blended mode - mostly in person. The programme page says only the first semester of the first year is delivered exclusively online. Exams are taken in Rome. The subjects cover sociology, history of art, anthropology, history, economics, management, communication and marketing, drawing and design, psychology, information technology, aesthetics, and law.

The study plan is published and lists modules by year and semester. The first table names FASHION IN CINEMA, FASHION BRANDING AND CONSUMER EXPERIENCE, XIX AND XX CENTURY ART HISTORY, WORKSHOP I Qualitative Methods for Research in Fashion and FASHION DRAWING AND ILLUSTRATION. The rest of the plan is built from optional groups. The groups set credit totals of 18 CFU, 6 CFU, 6 CFU, 12 CFU and 6 CFU. Later modules include INNOVATION IN FASHION MATERIALS, GOVERNANCE AND SUSTAINABILITY FOR FASHION, FASHION ARCHIVES, FASHION ANTHROPOLOGY and WORKSHOP II: EXPERIENCING FASHION.

Entry needs a bachelor's degree or a three-year university diploma, or a foreign qualification recognised as suitable under current legislation. The admission requirements document asks for a bachelor degree in fashion, arts and performing arts, architecture, spectacle and music, history, media and communication, sociology and economics and marketing, or textile engineering. It sets a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100. It states that the evaluation will be according to the final grade of the Bachelor's Degree, CV, and portfolio. The call adds a second route: a degree in class L-3, or at least 90 CFU in the listed disciplinary sectors.

The minimum English level is CEFR B2. For this degree Sapienza prints IELTS 5.5 or higher and TOEFL iBT 80 or higher. Cambridge English B2 First or higher and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher are also accepted. Duolingo is not on the list. The waiver named for this degree covers native speakers of English, holders of an English-taught degree from the EU, EEA or Schengen area or from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. A Pakistani English-medium degree is not on that list. The call adds one route: if no B2 certificate has been submitted, a language check is taken on arrival in Italy.

Tuition is 1,600 euro a year for 2026 to 2027, regardless of income, plus the regional tax and stamp duty. The first instalment is 800 euro. The pre-selection application fee is 30 euro per application and is never waived. Requesting the eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro. The call lists five eligibility check dates from 2 July 2026. Only 15 September 2026 applies to applicants from non-EU countries who need a student visa.

The MoveIn pre-selection for 2026 to 2027 has already closed. Sapienza states the deadline for visa seeking candidates was 15 May 2026, and that all other candidates could apply until 31 July 2026. Sapienza also states that pre-acceptance letters are only issued through the MoveIn portal.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Creative director
  • Consultant in strategic planning for public and private institutions
  • Research and scouting of new trends
  • Evaluation and definition of business plans
  • Fashion Supervisor
  • Expert in Fashion Culture and Communication
  • Communication and branding supervisor
  • Press and social media manager
  • Image consultant
  • Event and exhibition curator
  • Visual Merchandising manager
  • Textile and clothing companies
  • Consulting firms, marketing agencies, and research institutions specializing in forecasting and analyzing new trends
  • Public and private institutions, companies, foundations, editorial groups, and web companies interested in fashion culture
  • Press and communication agencies, publishing companies, professional studios active in designing, curating, or presenting brands and products
  • Consulting and business management for museums, foundations, galleries, libraries, archives, etc.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Does this programme accept Duolingo?

No. Duolingo is not on the accepted list for this degree. The 2026/2027 admission requirements document names IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher.

Can a Pakistani English-medium degree replace the English test?

No. The waiver printed on this degree's entry covers only native speakers of English, holders of an English-taught degree from the EU, EEA or Schengen area or from Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list.

What happens if I have no B2 certificate?

The programme's call states that if no English language certificate at B2 has been submitted, it is necessary to undergo a language proficiency test upon arrival in Italy. It does not say whether a visa applicant can rely on that route.

How much does it cost?

Tuition is 1,600 euro for the 2026/2027 year, regardless of income, with a first instalment of 800 euro, plus the regional tax and stamp duty. The pre-selection application fee is 30 euro per application. Requesting the eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro.

Is the whole degree online?

No. The catalogue gives the lesson mode as Blended mode - mostly in person. The programme page states that only the first semester of the first year is delivered exclusively online, and exams are taken in Rome.

Is there a minimum grade?

Yes. The admission requirements document sets a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 for this degree.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€1,600

Check Pakistan eligibility