Skip to content
UniConnect360

European studies

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026/2027 tuition figures are not published yet. The Tuition Fees and Benefits page says the information for the academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September, so the 300 euro Band A figure is read off the current Art. 38 table, whose deadlines are the 2025/2026 ones. 2) The Art. 38 page adds a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro in its distance learning section. It does not say whether those are added on top of the Band A contribution for an on campus programme like this one. 3) No start month is published for 2026/2027. The course timetable page is empty, the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, and the university academic calendar page only lists the Christmas and Easter suspensions for 2025-2026. 4) The two published deadlines do not agree. Sapienza's admissions page says the MoveIN pre-selection deadline for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026, while this programme's Apply page, still live, describes 15 September 2026 as the final deadline for non EU applicants using the MoveIN platform. 5) The call does not say whether the 80 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied again at the degree programme's own eligibility check, or only at pre-selection. 6) The catalogue does not print a total CFU for the degree, so the 120 CFU normal for an Italian laurea magistrale is not recorded here. 7) The study plan shows at least one elective taught in Italian, Comparative and European Labour Law, tagged ITA. The share of the elective pool available to a student with no Italian is not stated. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“The MSc European Studies entry in Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 prints: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Level B2 - Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The following test scores are accepted: IELTS: 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT: 80 or higher; Cambridge English: B2 First or higher; Trinity College London: Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry sets the waiver: "Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." That waiver is country limited, so a degree taught in English in Pakistan does not carry it. This programme's own call adds a second check that applies to everyone: "Personal knowledge, as well as possession of an adequate knowledge of English, corresponding to level B-2 ... is assessed by an academic committee appointed by the Degree Programme Committee and coordinated by the Chair of the Degree Programme Committee, through an online interview conducted in English."”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026/2027 tuition figures are not published yet. The Tuition Fees and Benefits page says the information for the academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September, so the 300 euro Band A figure is read off the current Art. 38 table, whose deadlines are the 2025/2026 ones. 2) The Art. 38 page adds a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro in its distance learning section. It does not say whether those are added on top of the Band A contribution for an on campus programme like this one. 3) No start month is published for 2026/2027. The course timetable page is empty, the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, and the university academic calendar page only lists the Christmas and Easter suspensions for 2025-2026. 4) The two published deadlines do not agree. Sapienza's admissions page says the MoveIN pre-selection deadline for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026, while this programme's Apply page, still live, describes 15 September 2026 as the final deadline for non EU applicants using the MoveIN platform. 5) The call does not say whether the 80 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied again at the degree programme's own eligibility check, or only at pre-selection. 6) The catalogue does not print a total CFU for the degree, so the 120 CFU normal for an Italian laurea magistrale is not recorded here. 7) The study plan shows at least one elective taught in Italian, Comparative and European Labour Law, tagged ITA. The share of the elective pool available to a student with no Italian is not stated. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectLaw
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsNot yet read
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026/2027 tuition figures are not published yet. The Tuition Fees and Benefits page says the information for the academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September, so the 300 euro Band A figure is read off the current Art. 38 table, whose deadlines are the 2025/2026 ones. 2) The Art. 38 page adds a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro in its distance learning section. It does not say whether those are added on top of the Band A contribution for an on campus programme like this one. 3) No start month is published for 2026/2027. The course timetable page is empty, the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, and the university academic calendar page only lists the Christmas and Easter suspensions for 2025-2026. 4) The two published deadlines do not agree. Sapienza's admissions page says the MoveIN pre-selection deadline for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026, while this programme's Apply page, still live, describes 15 September 2026 as the final deadline for non EU applicants using the MoveIN platform. 5) The call does not say whether the 80 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied again at the degree programme's own eligibility check, or only at pre-selection. 6) The catalogue does not print a total CFU for the degree, so the 120 CFU normal for an Italian laurea magistrale is not recorded here. 7) The study plan shows at least one elective taught in Italian, Comparative and European Labour Law, tagged ITA. The share of the elective pool available to a student with no Italian is not stated.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026/2027 tuition figures are not published yet. The Tuition Fees and Benefits page says the information for the academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September, so the 300 euro Band A figure is read off the current Art. 38 table, whose deadlines are the 2025/2026 ones. 2) The Art. 38 page adds a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro in its distance learning section. It does not say whether those are added on top of the Band A contribution for an on campus programme like this one. 3) No start month is published for 2026/2027. The course timetable page is empty, the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, and the university academic calendar page only lists the Christmas and Easter suspensions for 2025-2026. 4) The two published deadlines do not agree. Sapienza's admissions page says the MoveIN pre-selection deadline for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026, while this programme's Apply page, still live, describes 15 September 2026 as the final deadline for non EU applicants using the MoveIN platform. 5) The call does not say whether the 80 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied again at the degree programme's own eligibility check, or only at pre-selection. 6) The catalogue does not print a total CFU for the degree, so the 120 CFU normal for an Italian laurea magistrale is not recorded here. 7) The study plan shows at least one elective taught in Italian, Comparative and European Labour Law, tagged ITA. The share of the elective pool available to a student with no Italian is not stated. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026/2027 tuition figures are not published yet. The Tuition Fees and Benefits page says the information for the academic year 2026-2027 will be published after 30 September, so the 300 euro Band A figure is read off the current Art. 38 table, whose deadlines are the 2025/2026 ones. 2) The Art. 38 page adds a regional tax of 140 euro and a stamp duty of 16 euro in its distance learning section. It does not say whether those are added on top of the Band A contribution for an on campus programme like this one. 3) No start month is published for 2026/2027. The course timetable page is empty, the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, and the university academic calendar page only lists the Christmas and Easter suspensions for 2025-2026. 4) The two published deadlines do not agree. Sapienza's admissions page says the MoveIN pre-selection deadline for non EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026, while this programme's Apply page, still live, describes 15 September 2026 as the final deadline for non EU applicants using the MoveIN platform. 5) The call does not say whether the 80 out of 100 minimum GPA is applied again at the degree programme's own eligibility check, or only at pre-selection. 6) The catalogue does not print a total CFU for the degree, so the 120 CFU normal for an Italian laurea magistrale is not recorded here. 7) The study plan shows at least one elective taught in Italian, Comparative and European Labour Law, tagged ITA. The share of the elective pool available to a student with no Italian is not stated. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The official call is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: European Studies". The Italian catalogue page prints the field "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". Neither the call nor the catalogue publishes a number of places, a ranked list or an entrance test, so this is open access with a requirement check rather than accesso programmato.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. A three-year degree or university diploma, or an equivalent qualification obtained abroad and recognised as suitable under current legislation.

  2. Admission is open to all those holding a degree in the following fields: L-14 Legal Services, L-16 Administration and Organisation, L-18 Economics and Business Management, L-33 Economics, L-36 Political Science and International Relations, L-37 Social Sciences for Cooperation, Development and Peace, LMG-01 Law, as well as a degree in the corresponding categories established pursuant to Ministerial Decree No. 509 of 3 November 1999.

  3. A holder of a three-year degree in another class, or a master's degree, or a degree obtained abroad may also be admitted, subject to a decision by the Area Educational Board based on an assessment by the Academic Committee, provided they have earned at least 60 CFU in the subject areas listed in the call. Of those 60 CFU at least 18 must have been obtained in the field of law, and the rest must be spread across at least two other subject areas.

  4. Applicants must also meet specific academic requirements and demonstrate adequate personal knowledge, including a command of English at a level equivalent to at least B2.

  5. Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 states for this programme: Applicants must hold a Bachelor's degree in Economics, Law, Political Science, or a closely related field.

  6. Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 states for this programme: MINIMUM GPA: 80/100.

The English rule

IELTS required

“The MSc European Studies entry in Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 prints: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Level B2 - Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). The following test scores are accepted: IELTS: 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT: 80 or higher; Cambridge English: B2 First or higher; Trinity College London: Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry sets the waiver: "Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." That waiver is country limited, so a degree taught in English in Pakistan does not carry it. This programme's own call adds a second check that applies to everyone: "Personal knowledge, as well as possession of an adequate knowledge of English, corresponding to level B-2 ... is assessed by an academic committee appointed by the Degree Programme Committee and coordinated by the Chair of the Degree Programme Committee, through an online interview conducted in English."”

The application file

  • Passport
  • High School and University Diploma
  • Transcript of Records
  • Language Certificate
  • Reference Letter (optional)
  • Additional supporting documents
  • Identity document uploaded to Infostud, under Profile > Personal Documents

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • An interview

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.

1st12 modules
  • Economics of European Integration9 CFU
  • European and Italian Public Law9 CFU
  • ENVIRONMENTAL LAW AND ECONOMICS9 CFU
  • Business law9 CFU
  • EUROPEAN UNION LAW AND INTERNAL MARKET9 CFU
  • Law and religionChoose from a list6 CFU
  • ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE PRIVACY AND PRIVATE LAWChoose from a list6 CFU
  • EUROPEAN COMPETITION AND STATE AID LAWChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Comparative and European Administrative LawChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Hermeneutics and European LawChoose from a list6 CFU
  • ECONOMIC HISTORYChoose from a list9 CFU
  • History of International Relations and European InstitutionsChoose from a list9 CFU
2nd11 modules
  • Law and Economics I9 CFU
  • EUROPEAN ECONOMIC POLICY9 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Law and economics II9 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • THESIS WORKThesis18 CFU
  • EUROPEAN CRIMINAL AND PROCEDURAL LAWChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Foundations of European LawChoose from a list6 CFU
  • INTERNATIONAL LAWChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Stages and professional trainingChoose from a list3 CFU
  • Participation in seminars conferences and professional training coursesChoose from a list3 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 23 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A two year Master's degree at Sapienza's Faculty of Law that reads the European Union through law, economics, history and international relations, taught entirely in English. It suits a law, economics or political science graduate who wants to work with EU institutions, regulated markets or the legal side of European business.

European studies is a laurea magistrale in class LM-90 at Sapienza Università di Roma. The catalogue gives the programme code 33468. It runs for 2 years at the Faculty of Giurisprudenza, in the Department of Studi Giuridici ed Economici, in Rome. The language is English. The catalogue records the lesson mode as Conventional, in Person.

The university's full description

The programme presentation says the degree was built for the legal professions, where there is growing demand for study programmes that combine law, economics, history and international relations. It is structured into three curricula: EU's Law and Economics, Comparative and European Law, and European Law, Institutions and Innovative Markets. Two of the three also carry a double degree track. EU's Law and Economics is valid for the Italian and Nicaraguan double degree. Comparative and European Law is valid for the Italian and Albanian one.

The study plan publishes taught modules for each of the three curricula, with the credit weight and teaching language of every one. Core courses carry 9 CFU. Elective courses carry 6 CFU. In the second year students take 3 CFU of Other Educational Activities, either a 75 hour internship or participation in seminars, conferences and professional training courses, graded pass or fail. The final examination is a thesis worth 18 CFU, written and discussed in English.

Admission is not by entrance exam. The official call is headed as an admission procedure with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge. You pay a 10.00 euro fee on Infostud under code 33468, wait for the outcome of the eligibility check, then sit an online interview in English with an academic committee. The interview is where personal preparation and the B2 level of English are verified.

An international applicant who needs a study visa reaches this degree through Sapienza's MoveIN pre-selection, which is where a pre-acceptance letter is issued. Sapienza states that it works with no agency and that pre-acceptance letters come only through MoveIN.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Specialists in European Studies. Leadership roles in public administration, the national diplomatic service, European bodies and institutions, international organisations, non-governmental organisations, consultancy firms serving public administration, private and multinational companies, advocacy associations at national, European, and international levels, and research institutions.
  • Market Regulation Specialists. Executive level employment in public administration, the diplomatic corps, European institutions and bodies, independent administrative authorities, international organisations, NGOs, public administration consultancies, private and multinational firms, advocacy associations, and research institutions.
  • Corporate Legal Experts. Mid level to senior level roles in national and multinational private companies, consultancy firms serving private and public sectors, and advocacy associations at national, European, and international levels.
  • Public Sector Legal Experts. Executive level roles in public administration, European bodies and institutions, independent administrative authorities, international organisations, NGOs, consultancy firms serving public administration, and research institutes.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Which English tests does this degree accept?

Four are printed for this programme: IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on the list.

My bachelor's degree in Pakistan was taught in English. Does that waive the test?

No. The waiver for this programme covers native speakers of English, holders of an English taught diploma or degree from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA or Schengen area or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list.

Is there a written entrance exam?

No. Sapienza checks your entry requirements, then an academic committee holds a short online interview in English. The interview covers your personal preparation and confirms your English is at B2.

What mark do I need?

Sapienza prints a minimum GPA of 80 out of 100 for this programme. Sapienza also warns that meeting the stated academic and language requirements is not a guarantee of admission, because each application is assessed individually.

There are two fees. Which one is which?

The 30 euro fee is the MoveIN pre-selection application fee, charged per application, with no waiver. The 10.00 euro fee is separate and is paid on Infostud under code 33468 for the eligibility check run by the degree programme.

What does a year cost?

Sapienza does not price this degree on its own. A student who files income tax abroad pays a fixed yearly contribution set by the country band. Pakistan is in Band A, which Sapienza puts at 300 euro in total for the year, paid in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility