Skip to content
UniConnect360

Environmental Engineering

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The Sapienza tuition page states that information for the 2026-2027 academic year will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure is read from Article 38 of the 2025-2026 student regulations, which are the current published amounts. 2) It is not established whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of the fixed contribution for a student who declares income abroad. The page states both only in the section on distance learning programmes. 3) The study plan prints Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU, inside the English curriculum but marks both as Italian. Whether they are actually delivered in Italian to English curriculum students is not stated anywhere reachable. 4) The published modules and the two optional groups do not add up to the 120 ECTS the presentation page states. The plan also carries one unnamed 12 CFU row in the second year. The gap is not explained on the page. 5) The pre selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non EU applicants who need a visa. No window for 2027-2028 is published yet. 6) The admission requirements sheet points to https://web.uniroma1.it/cdaingambientale/international/international for further detail. That address returns 404, and so does the site root. 7) Whether the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering language test can be taken by an applicant who is still abroad is not stated in the call. 8) The call says an applicant may be interviewed remotely. Whether an interview is always held is not stated. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Environmental Engineering, LM-35, programme code 33495

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

IELTS required

The university’s exact wording
“From the MSc Environmental Engineering entry in Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry waives the requirement only for "Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." A Pakistani degree taught in English is not covered by that waiver. The programme's own call for applications prints no numeric score and instead asks for "a proven knowledge of English at a level no lower than B2 of the CEFR, either by submitting a language certificate recognised by the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering or by having passed a B2-level language proficiency test as part of the programme leading to their three-year degree", adding that proficiency "may be verified by passing the specific language tests organised by the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering". Duolingo is not on either list.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The Sapienza tuition page states that information for the 2026-2027 academic year will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure is read from Article 38 of the 2025-2026 student regulations, which are the current published amounts. 2) It is not established whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of the fixed contribution for a student who declares income abroad. The page states both only in the section on distance learning programmes. 3) The study plan prints Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU, inside the English curriculum but marks both as Italian. Whether they are actually delivered in Italian to English curriculum students is not stated anywhere reachable. 4) The published modules and the two optional groups do not add up to the 120 ECTS the presentation page states. The plan also carries one unnamed 12 CFU row in the second year. The gap is not explained on the page. 5) The pre selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non EU applicants who need a visa. No window for 2027-2028 is published yet. 6) The admission requirements sheet points to https://web.uniroma1.it/cdaingambientale/international/international for further detail. That address returns 404, and so does the site root. 7) Whether the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering language test can be taken by an applicant who is still abroad is not stated in the call. 8) The call says an applicant may be interviewed remotely. Whether an interview is always held is not stated. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Environmental Engineering, LM-35, programme code 33495

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectEngineering
  • Taught inTaught in Italian and English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum mark80%

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The Sapienza tuition page states that information for the 2026-2027 academic year will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure is read from Article 38 of the 2025-2026 student regulations, which are the current published amounts. 2) It is not established whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of the fixed contribution for a student who declares income abroad. The page states both only in the section on distance learning programmes. 3) The study plan prints Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU, inside the English curriculum but marks both as Italian. Whether they are actually delivered in Italian to English curriculum students is not stated anywhere reachable. 4) The published modules and the two optional groups do not add up to the 120 ECTS the presentation page states. The plan also carries one unnamed 12 CFU row in the second year. The gap is not explained on the page. 5) The pre selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non EU applicants who need a visa. No window for 2027-2028 is published yet. 6) The admission requirements sheet points to https://web.uniroma1.it/cdaingambientale/international/international for further detail. That address returns 404, and so does the site root. 7) Whether the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering language test can be taken by an applicant who is still abroad is not stated in the call. 8) The call says an applicant may be interviewed remotely. Whether an interview is always held is not stated.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The Sapienza tuition page states that information for the 2026-2027 academic year will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure is read from Article 38 of the 2025-2026 student regulations, which are the current published amounts. 2) It is not established whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of the fixed contribution for a student who declares income abroad. The page states both only in the section on distance learning programmes. 3) The study plan prints Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU, inside the English curriculum but marks both as Italian. Whether they are actually delivered in Italian to English curriculum students is not stated anywhere reachable. 4) The published modules and the two optional groups do not add up to the 120 ECTS the presentation page states. The plan also carries one unnamed 12 CFU row in the second year. The gap is not explained on the page. 5) The pre selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non EU applicants who need a visa. No window for 2027-2028 is published yet. 6) The admission requirements sheet points to https://web.uniroma1.it/cdaingambientale/international/international for further detail. That address returns 404, and so does the site root. 7) Whether the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering language test can be taken by an applicant who is still abroad is not stated in the call. 8) The call says an applicant may be interviewed remotely. Whether an interview is always held is not stated. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Environmental Engineering, LM-35, programme code 33495

To be considered, once

€30

about PKR 10,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Tuition for 2026-2027 is not published. The Sapienza tuition page states that information for the 2026-2027 academic year will be published after 30 September. The 300 euro Band A figure is read from Article 38 of the 2025-2026 student regulations, which are the current published amounts. 2) It is not established whether the regional tax and the stamp duty are charged on top of the fixed contribution for a student who declares income abroad. The page states both only in the section on distance learning programmes. 3) The study plan prints Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU, inside the English curriculum but marks both as Italian. Whether they are actually delivered in Italian to English curriculum students is not stated anywhere reachable. 4) The published modules and the two optional groups do not add up to the 120 ECTS the presentation page states. The plan also carries one unnamed 12 CFU row in the second year. The gap is not explained on the page. 5) The pre selection window for 2026-2027 closed on 15 May 2026 for non EU applicants who need a visa. No window for 2027-2028 is published yet. 6) The admission requirements sheet points to https://web.uniroma1.it/cdaingambientale/international/international for further detail. That address returns 404, and so does the site root. 7) Whether the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering language test can be taken by an applicant who is still abroad is not stated in the call. 8) The call says an applicant may be interviewed remotely. Whether an interview is always held is not stated. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Environmental Engineering, LM-35, programme code 33495

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The Italian call for applications is headed "Modalità di ammissione al Corso di laurea magistrale con verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale in: Ingegneria per l'ambiente e il territorio". The English version reads "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge". Neither version sets a number of places, a ranking list or an entrance examination. Admission follows from meeting the curricular requirements and passing the personal knowledge assessment.”
  • Entrance tests

    Interview

What the call asks for

  1. A bachelor's degree, or an equivalent qualification, in science, applied science or engineering.

  2. A minimum of 33 University Credit Points (CFU), or an equivalent study load, in the core subject areas: mathematics, probability and statistics, computer science; physics; chemistry.

  3. At least 40 CFU, or an equivalent study load, across environmental and land engineering, engineering for the management of civil and environmental systems, safety and civil protection engineering, and industrial engineering.

  4. The academic requirements are automatically met by a holder of a Class L-7 degree in Civil and Environmental Engineering from any Italian university. Other Italian or foreign qualifications are checked by the Degree Programme Committee.

  5. Applicants from a foreign university must have a grade point average for their three year degree of 80 out of 100. Applicants from an Italian university must have a final mark of 85/110 or higher.

  6. Proven knowledge of English at CEFR level B2 or higher.

  7. Applicants may be interviewed remotely as part of the final pre screening decision.

  8. Non EU citizens resident abroad who need a student visa must hold a pre acceptance letter, obtained through the MoveIn pre selection.

The English rule

IELTS required

“From the MSc Environmental Engineering entry in Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry waives the requirement only for "Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." A Pakistani degree taught in English is not covered by that waiver. The programme's own call for applications prints no numeric score and instead asks for "a proven knowledge of English at a level no lower than B2 of the CEFR, either by submitting a language certificate recognised by the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering or by having passed a B2-level language proficiency test as part of the programme leading to their three-year degree", adding that proficiency "may be verified by passing the specific language tests organised by the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering". Duolingo is not on either list.”

The application file

  • Passport
  • High School and University Diploma
  • Transcript of Records
  • Language Certificate
  • Reference Letter (optional)
  • Additional supporting documents

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • The university's own test

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.

1st5 modules
  • Hydraulic structures for the Environment and the Territory9 CFU
  • Remediation, restoration and redevelopment of contaminated sites9 CFU
  • Apply Geophysics9 CFU
  • ENVIRONMENTAL AND MARITIME HYDRAULICS9 CFU
  • Structural EngineeringChoose from a list9 CFU
2nd23 modules
  • Apply Hidrogeology6 CFU
  • Final examThesis15 CFU
  • OTHER USEFUL SKILLS FOR INCLUSION IN THE WORLD OF WORK3 CFU
  • Rock MechanicsChoose from a list6 CFU
  • ENVIRONMENTAL LEGISLATIONChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Environmental EconomicsChoose from a list6 CFU
  • LCA and Sustainable Use of ResourcesChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Renewable EnergyChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Recycling TechnologiesChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Principles of environmental chemistryChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Geotechnics for environmentla and landChoose from a list9 CFU
  • Hydraulic Risk Assessment and MitigationChoose from a list9 CFU
  • Seismic Geotechnical RiskChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Remote sensing and Geo Big DataChoose from a list9 CFU
  • design of water and wastewater treatment plantsChoose from a list9 CFU
  • environmental impact assessment and risk analysisChoose from a list9 CFU
  • Sustainable mobilityChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Geolocation and NavigationChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Coastal engineeringChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Modelling of environmental pollutionChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Modelling of environmental pollution 1Choose from a list3 CFU
  • Modelling of environmental pollution 2Choose from a list3 CFU
  • Greenhouse Gas Accounting and ReductionChoose from a list6 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 28 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A two year Master's degree in Environmental Engineering at Sapienza University of Rome, where one of the three curricula, Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation, is taught entirely in English. It suits engineering or applied science graduates who want to work on climate adaptation, water and waste, contaminated land and natural hazard risk.

The Master's Degree in Environmental Engineering is a two year programme worth 120 ECTS credits. It is degree class LM-35, programme code 33495. It is run by the Department of Civil, Building and Environmental Engineering within the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering. Teaching is held at the San Pietro in Vincoli campus in Rome. The catalogue records the lesson mode as Conventional, in person. The programme carries the European EUR-ACE label.

The university's full description

The programme is organised into three curricula. They are Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation, Environmental Protection and Land Protection. The catalogue lists the language of the whole degree as Italian and English. Only the Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation curriculum is described by Sapienza as entirely taught in English. A student who needs an English taught path should read this record as being about that curriculum.

The published plan for the English curriculum sets these taught modules. Year one, first semester: Sustainable development and planning, 9 CFU; Groundwater management and treatment, 9 CFU, split into Groundwater management, 3 CFU, and Groundwater treatment, 6 CFU; Urban Climate, 9 CFU. Year one, second semester: Hydraulic Risk Assessment and Mitigation, 9 CFU; Landslides and slope engineering, 6 CFU; Remote sensing and Geo Big Data, 9 CFU. Year two, first semester: Environmental Geophysics, 9 CFU; Waste Management, 9 CFU. Year two, second semester: FINAL THESIS, 15 CFU, and Additional competencies for employability, 3 CFU. The plan prints every one of these as English except the two Groundwater modules, which it prints as Italian.

The plan then adds two groups of optional exams. One group asks for 6 CFU and the plan uses that slot twice. Its options are Greenhouse Gas Accounting and Reduction, Sustainable mobility, Geolocation and Navigation, Modelling of environmental pollution, Coastal engineering, and Policies and actions for climate change mitigation. The second group asks for 15 CFU. Its options are Environmental Economics, LCA and Sustainable Use of Resources, Renewable Energy, and Urban Mining and Recycling. All of these options are printed in English.

Admission is not by a ranked competition. The official call describes an admission procedure with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge. You must hold a bachelor's degree with a minimum of 33 CFU in mathematics, probability and statistics, computer science, physics and chemistry, and at least 40 CFU in the listed environmental, civil and industrial engineering subjects. An applicant from a foreign university must have a grade point average of 80 out of 100. Sapienza may also interview an applicant remotely as part of the pre screening decision.

The programme entry in Sapienza's admission requirements sheet sets the English minimum at CEFR B2. It accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. The English medium waiver is limited by country and does not reach Pakistan. The programme's own call adds one further route: the language tests organised by the Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering.

A non EU applicant living abroad who needs a student visa must hold a pre acceptance letter, obtained through the MoveIn pre selection. The pre selection application fee is 30 euro per application, with no waiver. Booking the eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro. Lessons for 2026-2027 begin on Thursday 24 September 2026.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Engineering companies and professional firms: environmental engineer, technical consultant, project manager, specialising in environmental design and consulting, and management of infrastructural and environmental projects.
  • Public entities and services: environmental technician, sustainability manager, civil protection expert, working in environmental protection, civil protection, land management, and environmental compatibility assessment.
  • Manufacturing companies and service providers: process engineer, environmental manager, plant engineer, working in technological network management, water and waste treatment, energy production, and waste disposal.
  • Research and higher education: researcher, university lecturer, trainer, employed in research institutes, universities, and training centres specialising in sustainable risk management and environmental planning.
  • Freelance practice: independent consultant or professional in the environmental field.
  • Public administration and regulatory authorities: environmental planning specialist, area manager in public institutions, engaged in planning, design, and environmental management.
  • Upon passing the State Examination for professional qualification, graduates may register in Section A of the Professional Register of Civil and Environmental Engineers. The degree also grants access to the qualifying examination for the regulated professions of agronomist and forestry expert.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Is this degree taught in English?

One of the three curricula is. Sapienza describes the Climate Change Adaptation and Mitigation curriculum as entirely taught in English. The catalogue lists the language of the whole degree as Italian and English. The other two curricula, Environmental Protection and Land Protection, print most of their modules in Italian.

What English score do I need?

CEFR B2. Sapienza's admission requirements sheet accepts IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, or Trinity College London ISE II or higher for this programme. Duolingo is not accepted.

Will my English medium Pakistani degree count instead of a test?

No. The waiver on this programme's entry covers native speakers, holders of an English taught qualification from an accredited institution in the EU, EEA, Schengen area, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States, and holders of an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable certificate. Pakistan is not on that list.

What marks do I need?

A grade point average of 80 out of 100 in your bachelor's degree, if that degree is from a foreign university. You also need 33 CFU in maths, computing, physics and chemistry, and 40 CFU in the listed engineering subjects.

How much does it cost to apply?

The MoveIn pre selection application fee is 30 euro per application, and Sapienza states that no waiver is available. Booking the eligibility check on Infostud costs a further 10 euro.

What is the tuition?

Sapienza charges students who declare income outside Italy a fixed amount by country band. Pakistan is listed in Band A, which is 300 euro a year, payable in three instalments. That figure comes from Article 38 of the student regulations for 2025-2026. Sapienza says the 2026-2027 amounts will be published after 30 September 2026.

When do lessons start?

The Faculty of Civil and Industrial Engineering states that lessons for 2026-2027 begin on Thursday 24 September 2026.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility