Control Engineering
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome
Tuition, per year
€300
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Two Sapienza documents disagree on the minimum grade. The admission requirements sheet (page 48) prints MINIMUM GPA: 75/100 for MSc Control Engineering. The programme's own call for applications says "There is no minimum average mark required for a three-year degree for admission." Which one binds a Pakistani applicant is not stated anywhere we could read. 2) The deadline picture is inconsistent across two live Sapienza pages. The Programmes in English page says the 2026-2027 pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and that Universitaly registration closed on 30 June 2026. The programme's own call, published later, still lists 15 September 2026 as the only applicable eligibility date for applicants from non-EU countries requiring a student visa. We published the later date and flagged it. 3) No intake month is published for this course. The catalogue prints a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, the timetable page for 33509 is empty, and the university academic calendar publishes only the Christmas and Easter breaks. We did not invent a month. 4) Tuition is published only as a university wide range, 300 to 1500 euro a year according to country of residence. No figure specific to course 33509 is published, and the amount depends on an ISEE assessment for those who file one. 5) Several rows in the 2026/2027 study plan print a course code with an empty title, so part of the module list for this cycle is not readable yet. 6) The Italian catalogue page records a double degree, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese. The French partner institution is not named on any page we reached. 7) The professional profiles and their competence lists are published in Italian on the English catalogue page. No English version of that section exists on the site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Control Engineering (33509)
Application deadline
closed on 15 September 2026
English requirement
IELTS required
The university’s exact wording
“From the MSc Control Engineering entry (page 48) of Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry then sets the waiver: "Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." That waiver names countries, and Pakistan is not among them. This programme is therefore not one of the entries carrying an uncapped medium of instruction waiver. A Pakistani applicant with an English taught Pakistani bachelor's still has to produce a test score. The programme's own call for applications states the level but not the scores: "A reasonable command of written and spoken English, at least at B2 level, is also required."”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Two Sapienza documents disagree on the minimum grade. The admission requirements sheet (page 48) prints MINIMUM GPA: 75/100 for MSc Control Engineering. The programme's own call for applications says "There is no minimum average mark required for a three-year degree for admission." Which one binds a Pakistani applicant is not stated anywhere we could read. 2) The deadline picture is inconsistent across two live Sapienza pages. The Programmes in English page says the 2026-2027 pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and that Universitaly registration closed on 30 June 2026. The programme's own call, published later, still lists 15 September 2026 as the only applicable eligibility date for applicants from non-EU countries requiring a student visa. We published the later date and flagged it. 3) No intake month is published for this course. The catalogue prints a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, the timetable page for 33509 is empty, and the university academic calendar publishes only the Christmas and Easter breaks. We did not invent a month. 4) Tuition is published only as a university wide range, 300 to 1500 euro a year according to country of residence. No figure specific to course 33509 is published, and the amount depends on an ISEE assessment for those who file one. 5) Several rows in the 2026/2027 study plan print a course code with an empty title, so part of the module list for this cycle is not readable yet. 6) The Italian catalogue page records a double degree, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese. The French partner institution is not named on any page we reached. 7) The professional profiles and their competence lists are published in Italian on the English catalogue page. No English version of that section exists on the site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Control Engineering (33509)
- LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
- SubjectEngineering
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length2 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsNot yet read
- AdmissionOpen access
- Minimum mark75%
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
€300
about PKR 96,000
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Two Sapienza documents disagree on the minimum grade. The admission requirements sheet (page 48) prints MINIMUM GPA: 75/100 for MSc Control Engineering. The programme's own call for applications says "There is no minimum average mark required for a three-year degree for admission." Which one binds a Pakistani applicant is not stated anywhere we could read. 2) The deadline picture is inconsistent across two live Sapienza pages. The Programmes in English page says the 2026-2027 pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and that Universitaly registration closed on 30 June 2026. The programme's own call, published later, still lists 15 September 2026 as the only applicable eligibility date for applicants from non-EU countries requiring a student visa. We published the later date and flagged it. 3) No intake month is published for this course. The catalogue prints a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, the timetable page for 33509 is empty, and the university academic calendar publishes only the Christmas and Easter breaks. We did not invent a month. 4) Tuition is published only as a university wide range, 300 to 1500 euro a year according to country of residence. No figure specific to course 33509 is published, and the amount depends on an ISEE assessment for those who file one. 5) Several rows in the 2026/2027 study plan print a course code with an empty title, so part of the module list for this cycle is not readable yet. 6) The Italian catalogue page records a double degree, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese. The French partner institution is not named on any page we reached. 7) The professional profiles and their competence lists are published in Italian on the English catalogue page. No English version of that section exists on the site.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Two Sapienza documents disagree on the minimum grade. The admission requirements sheet (page 48) prints MINIMUM GPA: 75/100 for MSc Control Engineering. The programme's own call for applications says "There is no minimum average mark required for a three-year degree for admission." Which one binds a Pakistani applicant is not stated anywhere we could read. 2) The deadline picture is inconsistent across two live Sapienza pages. The Programmes in English page says the 2026-2027 pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and that Universitaly registration closed on 30 June 2026. The programme's own call, published later, still lists 15 September 2026 as the only applicable eligibility date for applicants from non-EU countries requiring a student visa. We published the later date and flagged it. 3) No intake month is published for this course. The catalogue prints a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, the timetable page for 33509 is empty, and the university academic calendar publishes only the Christmas and Easter breaks. We did not invent a month. 4) Tuition is published only as a university wide range, 300 to 1500 euro a year according to country of residence. No figure specific to course 33509 is published, and the amount depends on an ISEE assessment for those who file one. 5) Several rows in the 2026/2027 study plan print a course code with an empty title, so part of the module list for this cycle is not readable yet. 6) The Italian catalogue page records a double degree, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese. The French partner institution is not named on any page we reached. 7) The professional profiles and their competence lists are published in Italian on the English catalogue page. No English version of that section exists on the site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Control Engineering (33509)
To be considered, once
€30
about PKR 10,000
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) Two Sapienza documents disagree on the minimum grade. The admission requirements sheet (page 48) prints MINIMUM GPA: 75/100 for MSc Control Engineering. The programme's own call for applications says "There is no minimum average mark required for a three-year degree for admission." Which one binds a Pakistani applicant is not stated anywhere we could read. 2) The deadline picture is inconsistent across two live Sapienza pages. The Programmes in English page says the 2026-2027 pre-selection for non-EU visa applicants expired on 15 May 2026 and that Universitaly registration closed on 30 June 2026. The programme's own call, published later, still lists 15 September 2026 as the only applicable eligibility date for applicants from non-EU countries requiring a student visa. We published the later date and flagged it. 3) No intake month is published for this course. The catalogue prints a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated, the timetable page for 33509 is empty, and the university academic calendar publishes only the Christmas and Easter breaks. We did not invent a month. 4) Tuition is published only as a university wide range, 300 to 1500 euro a year according to country of residence. No figure specific to course 33509 is published, and the amount depends on an ISEE assessment for those who file one. 5) Several rows in the 2026/2027 study plan print a course code with an empty title, so part of the module list for this cycle is not readable yet. 6) The Italian catalogue page records a double degree, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese. The French partner institution is not named on any page we reached. 7) The professional profiles and their competence lists are published in Italian on the English catalogue page. No English version of that section exists on the site. Sapienza University of Rome course catalogue, Control Engineering (33509)
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Open access
accesso libero
The university's own wording
“The Italian catalogue page for course 33509 prints the field as "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". The official call for applications is headed "Admission procedure for the Master's degree programme with assessment of entry requirements and personal knowledge in: Control Engineering". Neither document sets a number of places, a ranking or an entrance examination, so entry is not accesso programmato. Admission depends on meeting the curricular requirements and passing an interview.”
Entrance tests
Interview
What the call asks for
A three year bachelor's degree or university diploma, or another qualification obtained abroad that is deemed equivalent.
At least 96 university credits in total across the subject areas named in the call: core subjects in mathematics, physics, chemistry, computer science or statistics; core subjects in information engineering; core subjects in civil or industrial engineering.
Within those 96 credits, 9 credits in IINF-04/A (formerly ING-INF/04), Control Engineering, are required. The call gives Foundations of Control Engineering, Dynamic Systems and Control Systems as example courses. Alternatively the candidate must show a good understanding of the content of those basic automatic control courses, together with the principles of process automation and electric drives.
The call recommends at least 15 credits across IINF-04/A (Control Engineering), IIND-02/A (Mechanics applied to machinery) and IIND-08/A (Converters, electrical machines and drives).
A reasonable command of written and spoken English, at least at B2 level.
An interview assesses personal knowledge. Candidates are asked technical questions on linear systems analysis and feedback control design, from the reference document at http://www.diag.uniroma1.it/~automatica/uploads/BasicKnowledge.pdf
The admission requirements sheet for international applicants sets a minimum GPA of 75/100 for this degree.
A fee of 10.00 euro is paid through Infostud to request the check of entry requirements. The code to enter is 33509.
The English rule
IELTS required
“From the MSc Control Engineering entry (page 48) of Sapienza's Admission requirements 2026/2027 sheet: "MINIMUM ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENTS. Upper Intermediate - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) Level B2. The following test scores are accepted: IELTS 5.5 or higher; TOEFL iBT 80 or higher; Cambridge English B2 First or higher; Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE II or higher." The same entry then sets the waiver: "Please note that the above English language requirements are waived for: Native speakers of English; Students holding an English-taught diploma/degree from an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen or Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States; Students holding an International Baccalaureate, GCSE or comparable diplomas/certificates." That waiver names countries, and Pakistan is not among them. This programme is therefore not one of the entries carrying an uncapped medium of instruction waiver. A Pakistani applicant with an English taught Pakistani bachelor's still has to produce a test score. The programme's own call for applications states the level but not the scores: "A reasonable command of written and spoken English, at least at B2 level, is also required."”
The application file
- Passport
- High School and University Diploma
- Transcript of Records
- Language Certificate
- Reference Letter (optional)
- Additional supporting documents
English, accepted proofs
- IELTS
- TOEFL
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A two year master's degree in automatic control, taught in English at Sapienza's Antonio Ruberti department in Rome. It suits engineering, mathematics or physics graduates who already hold university credits in systems theory and automatic control.
Control Engineering is a laurea magistrale in degree class LM-25. Sapienza's course code is 33509. The catalogue lists the duration as 2 years and the language as English. The lesson mode is Conventional, in Person. The teaching department is Ingegneria Informatica, Automatica e Gestionale "Antonio Ruberti", in Rome. The Italian version of the catalogue page also records an international study path, printed as Doppio titolo: italo-francese.
The university's full description
The subject is automatic control. The catalogue states the course teaches modelling and identification of dynamic systems, measurement and filtering of sensor information in real time, feedback control to stabilise and optimise a process, learning from data, and adaptive schemes for handling uncertainty. It groups the teaching into three areas of study: Robotics and autonomous vehicles, Control of complex networks and systems, and Advanced control methods. The compulsory part of the plan sits in the third area, because the course treats it as the theoretical base for the other two.
The published study plan for 2026/2027 names two compulsory taught courses. NONLINEAR SYSTEMS AND CONTROL carries 12 CFU and splits into Nonlinear control systems analysis and Nonlinear control systems design. Filtering and Optimal Control carries 12 CFU and splits into Module I and Module II. The plan then sets two optional groups. One asks the student to acquire 36 CFU from a listed set of exams. The other asks for 18 CFU. Training carries 3 CFU and the Final exam carries 27 CFU. Named options in those groups include ROBUST AND ADAPTIVE CONTROL, AUTONOMOUS AND MOBILE ROBOTICS, MEDICAL ROBOTICS, AGILE AND LEGGED ROBOTS, Control of Autonomous Multi-Agent Systems, Advanced methods in control, Intelligent and Hybrid Control, Systems and Control Methods for Cyber-Physical Security, Control problems in robotics and Neuroengineering. Several other rows in the 2026/2027 plan print a course code and no title, because the catalogue carries a banner saying the 2026-2027 contents are being updated.
Admission runs through a check of entry requirements followed by an interview. The official call for applications asks for a three year bachelor's degree or an equivalent foreign qualification, and at least 96 university credits across named subject areas. Within those 96 credits, 9 credits in the sector IINF-04/A, Control Engineering, are required. The call names Foundations of Control Engineering, Dynamic Systems and Control Systems as examples of courses that carry them. The interview asks technical questions on linear systems analysis and feedback control design. The course publishes a reference document setting out the basic knowledge assumed.
English is set at CEFR level B2. The university's admission requirements sheet lists the scores accepted for this degree: IELTS 5.5 or higher, TOEFL iBT 80 or higher, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English ISE II or higher. Duolingo is not on the list. The waiver on this degree's own entry is limited by country, so an English taught degree from Pakistan does not remove the test.
The final exam is an extended piece of work. The course says it lasts an average of six months and produces a thesis written in English, presented orally. A student honours path also runs, capped at seven students a year.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Ingegnere progettista di sistemi robotici e veicoli autonomi, one of the three professional profiles the course publishes.
- Ingegnere progettista per il controllo delle reti e dei sistemi complessi, the second published profile.
- Ingegnere progettista per l'automazione e la supervisione di processi, the third published profile.
- Industrial automation, service robotics, medical robotics, control systems for autonomous vehicles, driver assistance systems, drones, and control systems for spacecraft and aircraft.
- Control, management, security and optimization of communication networks, energy distribution (smart grids), transportation (smart cities), automation of complex industrial processes, control of critical infrastructure, telemedicine, and emergency prevention and management.
- Universities, research centers, or highly innovative companies interested in optimizing their systems by introducing the most advanced control methodologies.
- The course reports stable technology transfer links with TIM, Leonardo, Enel, Thales Alenia Space Italia (TASI), Telespazio, Bambino Gesù Children's Hospital, Technip, Elis, On-Air, Whoosnap and GS Automation.
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Does Sapienza accept Duolingo for this degree?
No. The admission requirements sheet for MSc Control Engineering lists IELTS, TOEFL iBT, Cambridge English and Trinity College London only.
My bachelor's was taught in English in Pakistan. Does that waive the test?
No. The waiver on this degree's entry is limited to English taught degrees from the EU, EEA, Schengen, Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States. Pakistan is not on that list, so a test score is still needed.
What IELTS score do I need?
IELTS 5.5 or higher, or TOEFL iBT 80 or higher. The level required is CEFR B2.
Is there a minimum grade?
The admission requirements sheet for international applicants sets 75 out of 100 for this degree. The programme's own call for applications says no minimum average mark is required for the three year degree, so ask the admissions office which applies to you.
Is there an entrance exam?
No written test. Entry is a check of your university credits followed by an interview with technical questions on linear systems analysis and feedback control design.
How much does it cost to apply?
The pre-selection application fee is 30 euro per application, with a maximum of two applications a year and no waiver. The check of entry requirements through Infostud costs a separate 10.00 euro.
What does the first year teach?
Two compulsory courses of 12 CFU each: NONLINEAR SYSTEMS AND CONTROL, and Filtering and Optimal Control. The rest of the plan is built from two optional groups worth 36 CFU and 18 CFU.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a year€300
Check Pakistan eligibility