Skip to content
UniConnect360

Civil Engineering

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist anywhere on this machine, so the exact title, level, language and subject area supplied with the task could not be read or checked against this record. The programme was identified from the slug and university name instead. 2) The first semester start date for 2026-2027 is not published. The Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale site still shows the 2025-2026 calendar, so intakeMonths is left empty rather than estimated. 3) The call asks for a B1 CEFR certificate recognised by the Faculty but does not name which certificates qualify and sets no minimum score. The list of accepted certificates for this specific degree is unpublished. 4) Sapienza's university wide English sheet sets B2 and a closed test list, but it points to the MoveIn academic requirements document for per programme scores, and this degree is absent from that document. Which sheet the Faculty applies in practice to an international applicant is not stated anywhere I could reach. 5) No minimum GPA out of 100 is published for this degree, so minGpaPercent is left empty. The call publishes 22/30 and 88/110, which are entrance test triggers rather than minimums. 6) The catalogue lists an international track, Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo, but publishes no partner universities, no places and no selection rules on the course pages. 7) The catalogue header states that contents for the 2026-2027 academic year are still being updated, so the module list and the requirements may change. 8) The professional opportunities section is published only in Italian, including on the English version of the page, so careerOutcomes is transcribed in Italian. 9) Tuition is set as a single fixed band figure for students who cannot file an Italian ISEE. Whether any additional regional tax or stamp duty is added on top is not stated on the standard registration fee amounts page. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Civil Engineering (Ingegneria Civile), LM-23, course code 33487

Application deadline

closed on 15 September 2026

English requirement

Medium of Instruction letter accepted

The university’s exact wording
“The call for applications states: "Occorre, inoltre, possedere una sufficiente padronanza della lingua inglese. Questo requisito è soddisfatto se nell'ambito del summenzionato corso idoneo all'ammissione siano stati conseguiti almeno 3 CFU in attività formative erogate in lingua inglese o che comportino una verifica della conoscenza della lingua inglese. In alternativa, è sufficiente produrre una certificazione di conoscenza dell'inglese di livello B1 (CEFR - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages), o livello superiore, riconosciuta dalla Facoltà." The level for this degree is B1, not the B2 that Sapienza's university wide sheet sets for its English taught pre-selection programmes. No test is named and no minimum score is published for this degree. The 3 CFU route carries no country limit, so an applicant from Pakistan can use it. Separately, the curriculum itself contains a 3 CFU first year item, AAF2457 verification of knowledge of the English language B2, which is taken during the degree rather than at admission.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist anywhere on this machine, so the exact title, level, language and subject area supplied with the task could not be read or checked against this record. The programme was identified from the slug and university name instead. 2) The first semester start date for 2026-2027 is not published. The Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale site still shows the 2025-2026 calendar, so intakeMonths is left empty rather than estimated. 3) The call asks for a B1 CEFR certificate recognised by the Faculty but does not name which certificates qualify and sets no minimum score. The list of accepted certificates for this specific degree is unpublished. 4) Sapienza's university wide English sheet sets B2 and a closed test list, but it points to the MoveIn academic requirements document for per programme scores, and this degree is absent from that document. Which sheet the Faculty applies in practice to an international applicant is not stated anywhere I could reach. 5) No minimum GPA out of 100 is published for this degree, so minGpaPercent is left empty. The call publishes 22/30 and 88/110, which are entrance test triggers rather than minimums. 6) The catalogue lists an international track, Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo, but publishes no partner universities, no places and no selection rules on the course pages. 7) The catalogue header states that contents for the 2026-2027 academic year are still being updated, so the module list and the requirements may change. 8) The professional opportunities section is published only in Italian, including on the English version of the page, so careerOutcomes is transcribed in Italian. 9) Tuition is set as a single fixed band figure for students who cannot file an Italian ISEE. Whether any additional regional tax or stamp duty is added on top is not stated on the standard registration fee amounts page. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Civil Engineering (Ingegneria Civile), LM-23, course code 33487

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectEngineering
  • Taught inTaught in Italian and English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsNot yet read
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist anywhere on this machine, so the exact title, level, language and subject area supplied with the task could not be read or checked against this record. The programme was identified from the slug and university name instead. 2) The first semester start date for 2026-2027 is not published. The Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale site still shows the 2025-2026 calendar, so intakeMonths is left empty rather than estimated. 3) The call asks for a B1 CEFR certificate recognised by the Faculty but does not name which certificates qualify and sets no minimum score. The list of accepted certificates for this specific degree is unpublished. 4) Sapienza's university wide English sheet sets B2 and a closed test list, but it points to the MoveIn academic requirements document for per programme scores, and this degree is absent from that document. Which sheet the Faculty applies in practice to an international applicant is not stated anywhere I could reach. 5) No minimum GPA out of 100 is published for this degree, so minGpaPercent is left empty. The call publishes 22/30 and 88/110, which are entrance test triggers rather than minimums. 6) The catalogue lists an international track, Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo, but publishes no partner universities, no places and no selection rules on the course pages. 7) The catalogue header states that contents for the 2026-2027 academic year are still being updated, so the module list and the requirements may change. 8) The professional opportunities section is published only in Italian, including on the English version of the page, so careerOutcomes is transcribed in Italian. 9) Tuition is set as a single fixed band figure for students who cannot file an Italian ISEE. Whether any additional regional tax or stamp duty is added on top is not stated on the standard registration fee amounts page.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist anywhere on this machine, so the exact title, level, language and subject area supplied with the task could not be read or checked against this record. The programme was identified from the slug and university name instead. 2) The first semester start date for 2026-2027 is not published. The Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale site still shows the 2025-2026 calendar, so intakeMonths is left empty rather than estimated. 3) The call asks for a B1 CEFR certificate recognised by the Faculty but does not name which certificates qualify and sets no minimum score. The list of accepted certificates for this specific degree is unpublished. 4) Sapienza's university wide English sheet sets B2 and a closed test list, but it points to the MoveIn academic requirements document for per programme scores, and this degree is absent from that document. Which sheet the Faculty applies in practice to an international applicant is not stated anywhere I could reach. 5) No minimum GPA out of 100 is published for this degree, so minGpaPercent is left empty. The call publishes 22/30 and 88/110, which are entrance test triggers rather than minimums. 6) The catalogue lists an international track, Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo, but publishes no partner universities, no places and no selection rules on the course pages. 7) The catalogue header states that contents for the 2026-2027 academic year are still being updated, so the module list and the requirements may change. 8) The professional opportunities section is published only in Italian, including on the English version of the page, so careerOutcomes is transcribed in Italian. 9) Tuition is set as a single fixed band figure for students who cannot file an Italian ISEE. Whether any additional regional tax or stamp duty is added on top is not stated on the standard registration fee amounts page. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Civil Engineering (Ingegneria Civile), LM-23, course code 33487

To be considered, once

€10

about PKR 3,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist anywhere on this machine, so the exact title, level, language and subject area supplied with the task could not be read or checked against this record. The programme was identified from the slug and university name instead. 2) The first semester start date for 2026-2027 is not published. The Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale site still shows the 2025-2026 calendar, so intakeMonths is left empty rather than estimated. 3) The call asks for a B1 CEFR certificate recognised by the Faculty but does not name which certificates qualify and sets no minimum score. The list of accepted certificates for this specific degree is unpublished. 4) Sapienza's university wide English sheet sets B2 and a closed test list, but it points to the MoveIn academic requirements document for per programme scores, and this degree is absent from that document. Which sheet the Faculty applies in practice to an international applicant is not stated anywhere I could reach. 5) No minimum GPA out of 100 is published for this degree, so minGpaPercent is left empty. The call publishes 22/30 and 88/110, which are entrance test triggers rather than minimums. 6) The catalogue lists an international track, Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo, but publishes no partner universities, no places and no selection rules on the course pages. 7) The catalogue header states that contents for the 2026-2027 academic year are still being updated, so the module list and the requirements may change. 8) The professional opportunities section is published only in Italian, including on the English version of the page, so careerOutcomes is transcribed in Italian. 9) Tuition is set as a single fixed band figure for students who cannot file an Italian ISEE. Whether any additional regional tax or stamp duty is added on top is not stated on the standard registration fee amounts page. Sapienza Università di Roma, course catalogue, Civil Engineering (Ingegneria Civile), LM-23, course code 33487

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The catalogue prints "Modalità di accesso: Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". The call for applications is headed "Modalità di ammissione al Corso di laurea magistrale con verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale". No number of places, no ranking and no selection quota is published. This is open access with a requirements check, not accesso programmato.”
  • Entrance tests

    The university's own test

What the call asks for

  1. A three year degree (laurea) or three year university diploma, or another qualification awarded in Italy or abroad and recognised as suitable under current rules.

  2. At least 30 CFU in total across the subject sectors MAT/03, MAT/05, MAT/06, MAT/07 and MAT/08.

  3. At least 12 CFU in total in the subject sector FIS/01.

  4. At least 39 CFU in total across the subject sectors ICAR/01, ICAR/02, ICAR/04, ICAR/07, ICAR/08 and ICAR/09, split as set out in the course teaching regulations.

  5. If the credit thresholds are not fully met, the curriculum may be topped up by obtaining the missing university credits through single exams before enrolment.

  6. Sufficient command of English. This is satisfied by at least 3 CFU earned in the qualifying degree in activities delivered in English, or in activities that include a check on knowledge of English. Alternatively, a B1 CEFR certificate or higher, recognised by the Faculty.

  7. Personal preparation is treated as satisfied if the average mark in the qualifying degree was at least 22/30, or the final mark was at least 88/110. In all other cases the Consiglio d'Area didattica sets an entrance test on ICAR/01, ICAR/02, ICAR/04, ICAR/07, ICAR/08 and ICAR/09.

  8. Non-EU citizens resident abroad who need a study visa must pre-enrol on Universitaly, and must pass the Italian language test at B2 or higher or present an Italian certificate at B2 or higher, because this degree is delivered in Italian.

  9. Applicants who have not yet graduated may request the requirements check, provided they graduate by 19 December 2026 if the degree is from another Italian or international university, or by 23 January 2027 if it is from Sapienza.

The English rule

Medium of Instruction letter accepted

“The call for applications states: "Occorre, inoltre, possedere una sufficiente padronanza della lingua inglese. Questo requisito è soddisfatto se nell'ambito del summenzionato corso idoneo all'ammissione siano stati conseguiti almeno 3 CFU in attività formative erogate in lingua inglese o che comportino una verifica della conoscenza della lingua inglese. In alternativa, è sufficiente produrre una certificazione di conoscenza dell'inglese di livello B1 (CEFR - Common European Framework of Reference for Languages), o livello superiore, riconosciuta dalla Facoltà." The level for this degree is B1, not the B2 that Sapienza's university wide sheet sets for its English taught pre-selection programmes. No test is named and no minimum score is published for this degree. The 3 CFU route carries no country limit, so an applicant from Pakistan can use it. Separately, the curriculum itself contains a 3 CFU first year item, AAF2457 verification of knowledge of the English language B2, which is taken during the degree rather than at admission.”

The application file

  • Payment of the 10,00 euro admission check contribution, generated on Infostud with course code 33487 and paid online through PagoPA.
  • For applicants coming from other Italian universities: the form Dichiarazione laurea ed esami per la verifica dei requisiti, stating the exams taken, the corresponding subject sectors and their syllabi.
  • An identity document uploaded on Infostud under Profilo > Documenti personali.
  • For a qualification obtained in a foreign education system: the documents set out at point 9 of the Segreteria studenti internazionali page.
  • For non-EU citizens resident abroad applying for a study visa: the Universitaly pre-enrolment application.
  • For a course delivered in Italian: a pass in the Italian language test at B2 or higher, or an Italian language certificate at B2 or higher.

English, accepted proofs

  • Medium of Instruction letter
  • The university's own test

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

An excerpt of the university's published study plan, not the whole of it. Degrees with large elective baskets list more than is useful to reproduce here, so the link below is the complete version.

1st6 modules
  • Foundations and earth retaining structures12 CFU
  • Design of Earthquake Resistant Buildings12 CFU
  • Design and construction of roads12 CFU
  • verification of knowledge of the English language B23 CFU
  • GEOMATIC MONITORINGChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Project managementChoose from a list6 CFU
2nd8 modules
  • Deep excavations and tunnelling in the urban environment6 CFU
  • DEEP TUNNELS6 CFU
  • Geotechnical earthquake engineering6 CFU
  • SLOPE INSTABILITY AND STABILISATION6 CFU
  • APPLICATIONS OF ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE IN CIVIL ENGINEERING3 CFU
  • Final examThesis24 CFU
  • Rock MechanicsChoose from a list6 CFU
  • THEORETICAL AND COMPUTATIONAL GEOMECHANICSChoose from a list6 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 14 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A two year laurea magistrale in civil engineering at Sapienza in Rome, with second year tracks in geotechnics, hydraulics, road infrastructure and structural design. It suits an engineering graduate who can study in Italian, because only 8 of the 60 module rows in the published plan are delivered in English.

Civil Engineering is a two year laurea magistrale at Sapienza University of Rome. The Italian title is Ingegneria Civile. It sits in degree class LM-23 and is run by the Faculty of Ingegneria civile e industriale, through the Dipartimento di Ingegneria Strutturale e Geotecnica. The Infostud course code is 33487. The campus is Rome. The catalogue records the delivery mode as Convenzionale - In presenza.

The university's full description

Read the teaching language before you apply. The catalogue lists the language as Italiano, Inglese. The published study plan tags every module with its delivery language. Of the 60 module rows listed, 52 are tagged ITA and 8 are tagged ENG. Every compulsory first year module is tagged ITA. All 8 English modules are optional second year choices. This is an Italian taught degree with some English electives. It is not an English taught degree.

The first year is common to all students. It carries four modules of 12 CFU each: Foundations and earth retaining structures, Design of Earthquake Resistant Buildings, Design and construction of roads, and Engineering of Hydraulic Works. It also carries a 3 CFU item, AAF2457 verification of knowledge of the English language B2. The second year splits into four tracks, named in the plan as Geotecnica, Idraulica, Infrastrutture Viarie and Progettazione delle Strutture. The final exam is worth 24 CFU. The eight modules tagged ENG are Geotechnical earthquake engineering, Maritime Hydraulics, Hydraulic risk adaptation and mitigation measures, MARITIME CONSTRUCTIONS, ADVANCED STRUCTURAL DESIGN, Assessment and Retrofit of Existing Reinforced Concrete Buildings, Design of Steel Structures, and Finite elements in structural analysis.

Access is open. The catalogue prints the admission mode as Verifica dei requisiti e della preparazione personale. No cap on places and no ranking is published. You must hold a three year degree or an equivalent qualification awarded outside Italy. You must also meet credit thresholds in named Italian subject sectors: at least 30 CFU across MAT/03, MAT/05, MAT/06, MAT/07 and MAT/08, at least 12 CFU in FIS/01, and at least 39 CFU across ICAR/01, ICAR/02, ICAR/04, ICAR/07, ICAR/08 and ICAR/09. If you fall short, you may take single exams to make up the missing credits before you enrol.

There is no minimum grade. The personal preparation check counts as satisfied if your average mark was at least 22/30, or your final mark was at least 88/110. Below either figure the Consiglio d'Area didattica sets an entrance test on the ICAR subjects. A lower mark does not block you. It routes you to a test.

The admission check costs 10,00 euro, paid on Infostud with course code 33487, from 2 July 2026. The 30 euro MoveIn application fee does not apply here, because this degree is not part of the MoveIn pre-selection. Tuition is income based. The published maximum for this faculty group is 2,924 euro a year. A student whose income is earned abroad, and who therefore cannot file an Italian ISEE, pays a fixed amount set by country band instead. Sapienza lists Pakistan in Band A, which is 300 euro a year, payable in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro.

A non-EU applicant who needs a study visa has one usable date, 15 September 2026. The later dates of 15 October 2026, 17 November 2026 and 17 December 2026 are open to other applicants. 14 January 2027 is reserved for people who already hold a Sapienza degree or are about to graduate there. A non-EU applicant resident abroad must also pre-enrol on Universitaly. Because this degree is delivered in Italian, the Italian language requirement at B2 or higher applies to visa applicants.

The catalogue also records an international track for this degree: Doppio titolo: italo-francese o italo-spagnolo.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Funzione in un contesto di lavoro: tecnico specializzato, in grado di operare autonomamente e con funzioni di responsabilità, nel campo delle costruzioni e delle infrastrutture
  • società di ingegneria e studi professionali
  • imprese di costruzione
  • amministrazione dello Stato (Ministeri ed organismi tecnici statali, centrali e periferici)
  • enti preposti all'amministrazione urbana e del territorio (Regioni e Comuni)
  • aziende, enti, consorzi ed agenzie preposti alla ideazione, realizzazione e gestione di opere strutturali ed infrastrutturali, ovvero di reti infrastrutturali
  • enti preposti al controllo e alla riduzione dei rischi connessi alle opere civili
  • libera professione individuale
  • I laureati che avranno acquisito crediti in numero sufficiente in opportuni gruppi di settori potranno, come previsto dalla legislazione vigente, partecipare alle prove di ammissione per i percorsi di formazione per l'insegnamento secondario

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Is this degree taught in English?

No. The published study plan tags each module with its delivery language. Of the 60 module rows, 52 are tagged ITA and 8 are tagged ENG. Every compulsory first year module is tagged ITA. The eight English modules are optional second year choices.

Do I need IELTS or TOEFL for this degree?

The call for applications names no test and sets no score. It asks for a B1 CEFR certificate or higher recognised by the Faculty, or at least 3 CFU delivered in English in your qualifying degree. Which certificates the Faculty recognises is not published for this degree.

Can a student from Pakistan use the English waiver?

Yes, on this degree. The route of at least 3 CFU delivered in English during your bachelor's degree carries no country limit. Sapienza's university wide medium of instruction waiver is limited to the United Kingdom, United States, Canada, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, but that sheet governs the MoveIn pre-selection programmes and this degree is not one of them.

What is the deadline if I need a study visa?

15 September 2026. The call names it as the only usable date for a non-EU applicant who needs a study visa. The later dates of 15 October, 17 November and 17 December 2026 are for other applicants, and 14 January 2027 is reserved for Sapienza graduates.

What will I pay in tuition?

Sapienza lists Pakistan in Band A, which is 300 euro a year in three instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. That band applies to students whose income is earned abroad and who cannot file an Italian ISEE. The published maximum for this faculty group is 2,924 euro a year.

Is there a minimum grade?

No. An average of at least 22/30, or a final mark of at least 88/110, means you skip the entrance test. A lower mark sends you to a test on the ICAR subjects rather than rejecting you.

Do I apply through MoveIn?

No. This degree is not on the MoveIn pre-selection list, so the 30 euro MoveIn application fee does not apply. Admission runs through Infostud with course code 33487, and the admission check costs 10,00 euro.

Do I need Italian?

Yes, if you are a non-EU applicant who needs a study visa. The Italian language requirement at B2 or higher applies to courses delivered in Italian, and this degree is delivered in Italian.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility