Skip to content
UniConnect360

Sustainable Building Engineering (Rieti Campus)

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The tuition figure of 300 euros comes from Article 38 of the Student Regulations, a page that still prints the 2025-2026 payment deadlines of 6 November 2025 and 26 March 2026. Confirm the Band A amount is unchanged for 2026-2027 before publishing it as current. 2) Annex 5 of this programme's call does not list Pearson PTE General or PTE Academic, although Sapienza's university-wide English guidance does. Ask the Student Affairs Office whether PTE is accepted for course 33482. 3) No annual tuition figure is published for a student with tax residence in Italy, because that amount is calculated from the ISEE. Nothing was found to quote. 4) The call for applications does not state the pre-selection opening date for the next cycle. The 2027-2028 dates are not yet published. 5) The lecture venue in Rieti is not stated on any catalogue page read. Confirm the address with the Faculty before a student commits to housing. 6) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist on this machine, so the title, level, language, subject area and programme URL were taken from Sapienza's own catalogue rather than from the brief. Check that course 33482 is the entry the brief meant. Sapienza University of Rome, Course catalogue

Application deadline

closes in 35 days

English requirement

Waived if your degree was taught in English

The university’s exact wording
“Annex 5 of the 2026-2027 call for applications, Rector's Decree No. 1327/2026, states: "To be admitted to the degree programme, you must have a command of English equivalent to at least level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). To prove your English language proficiency, you must meet at least one of the following requirements: a) Hold one of the following certificates attesting to English language proficiency at level B2: IELTS with a minimum score of 5.5; TOEFL iBT with a minimum score of 80; Cambridge English B2 (First or higher); Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE (Level II or higher). b) Meet one of the following criteria: Be a native English speaker; Hold a diploma or degree in English awarded by an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen area, or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States; Hold an International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma or a General Certificate of Education (GCE) or an equivalent diploma/certificate; Hold a diploma or degree awarded by an accredited institution where English is the primary language of instruction."”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The tuition figure of 300 euros comes from Article 38 of the Student Regulations, a page that still prints the 2025-2026 payment deadlines of 6 November 2025 and 26 March 2026. Confirm the Band A amount is unchanged for 2026-2027 before publishing it as current. 2) Annex 5 of this programme's call does not list Pearson PTE General or PTE Academic, although Sapienza's university-wide English guidance does. Ask the Student Affairs Office whether PTE is accepted for course 33482. 3) No annual tuition figure is published for a student with tax residence in Italy, because that amount is calculated from the ISEE. Nothing was found to quote. 4) The call for applications does not state the pre-selection opening date for the next cycle. The 2027-2028 dates are not yet published. 5) The lecture venue in Rieti is not stated on any catalogue page read. Confirm the address with the Faculty before a student commits to housing. 6) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist on this machine, so the title, level, language, subject area and programme URL were taken from Sapienza's own catalogue rather than from the brief. Check that course 33482 is the entry the brief meant. Sapienza University of Rome, Course catalogue

  • LevelBachelor's degreeLaurea Triennale
  • SubjectEngineering
  • Taught inTaught in English
  • Length3 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionOpen access
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The tuition figure of 300 euros comes from Article 38 of the Student Regulations, a page that still prints the 2025-2026 payment deadlines of 6 November 2025 and 26 March 2026. Confirm the Band A amount is unchanged for 2026-2027 before publishing it as current. 2) Annex 5 of this programme's call does not list Pearson PTE General or PTE Academic, although Sapienza's university-wide English guidance does. Ask the Student Affairs Office whether PTE is accepted for course 33482. 3) No annual tuition figure is published for a student with tax residence in Italy, because that amount is calculated from the ISEE. Nothing was found to quote. 4) The call for applications does not state the pre-selection opening date for the next cycle. The 2027-2028 dates are not yet published. 5) The lecture venue in Rieti is not stated on any catalogue page read. Confirm the address with the Faculty before a student commits to housing. 6) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist on this machine, so the title, level, language, subject area and programme URL were taken from Sapienza's own catalogue rather than from the brief. Check that course 33482 is the entry the brief meant.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The tuition figure of 300 euros comes from Article 38 of the Student Regulations, a page that still prints the 2025-2026 payment deadlines of 6 November 2025 and 26 March 2026. Confirm the Band A amount is unchanged for 2026-2027 before publishing it as current. 2) Annex 5 of this programme's call does not list Pearson PTE General or PTE Academic, although Sapienza's university-wide English guidance does. Ask the Student Affairs Office whether PTE is accepted for course 33482. 3) No annual tuition figure is published for a student with tax residence in Italy, because that amount is calculated from the ISEE. Nothing was found to quote. 4) The call for applications does not state the pre-selection opening date for the next cycle. The 2027-2028 dates are not yet published. 5) The lecture venue in Rieti is not stated on any catalogue page read. Confirm the address with the Faculty before a student commits to housing. 6) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist on this machine, so the title, level, language, subject area and programme URL were taken from Sapienza's own catalogue rather than from the brief. Check that course 33482 is the entry the brief meant. Sapienza University of Rome, Course catalogue

To be considered, once

€10

about PKR 3,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The tuition figure of 300 euros comes from Article 38 of the Student Regulations, a page that still prints the 2025-2026 payment deadlines of 6 November 2025 and 26 March 2026. Confirm the Band A amount is unchanged for 2026-2027 before publishing it as current. 2) Annex 5 of this programme's call does not list Pearson PTE General or PTE Academic, although Sapienza's university-wide English guidance does. Ask the Student Affairs Office whether PTE is accepted for course 33482. 3) No annual tuition figure is published for a student with tax residence in Italy, because that amount is calculated from the ISEE. Nothing was found to quote. 4) The call for applications does not state the pre-selection opening date for the next cycle. The 2027-2028 dates are not yet published. 5) The lecture venue in Rieti is not stated on any catalogue page read. Confirm the address with the Faculty before a student commits to housing. 6) The input file /tmp/rome-programmes-todo.json does not exist on this machine, so the title, level, language, subject area and programme URL were taken from Sapienza's own catalogue rather than from the brief. Check that course 33482 is the entry the brief meant. Sapienza University of Rome, Course catalogue

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Open access

    accesso libero

    The university's own wording
    “The Italian catalogue record prints "Modalità di accesso: Prova in ingresso per la verifica delle conoscenze". The English catalogue record prints "Entrance test to verify knowledge". The call for applications is headed "Three-year degree programme taught in English with an entrance examination to assess knowledge". The call sets no number of places and publishes no merit ranking. Point 9 confirms the test is not a bar: a CEnT-S normalised score below 18, or an SAT score below 800/1600, assigns Further Required Courses (OFA) in Mathematics rather than refusing admission. It is therefore open access with a mandatory knowledge check, not accesso programmato. Separately, a non-EU citizen resident abroad must clear a pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform before applying for a visa.”
  • Entrance tests

    The university's own testSAT

What the call asks for

  1. Upper secondary school diploma obtained or to be obtained in 2026

  2. Adequate knowledge of the English language at least equivalent to level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR)

  3. CEnT-S (including the @CASA mode) taken from November 2025 onwards and by the deadline set for the selection process, or SAT (Scholastic Assessment Test) General Test, organised by the College Board, which can be taken at any SAT Centre worldwide, from 1 January 2023 and by the deadlines set for the selection process

  4. Registration on Infostud and payment of the 10,00 euro fee against course code 33482

  5. For a non-EU citizen resident abroad: registration for the pre-selection process on the QS MoveIn platform, and a Letter of pre-acceptance to the degree programme in Sustainable Building Engineering downloaded in .pdf format after a successful outcome

  6. For a non-EU citizen resident abroad: online pre-enrolment application on the Universitaly website to obtain a student visa for University enrolment for the 2026-2027 academic year

  7. Payment of the first instalment of enrolment fees, plus the 16,00 euro stamp duty and the regional tax

The English rule

Waived if your degree was taught in English

“Annex 5 of the 2026-2027 call for applications, Rector's Decree No. 1327/2026, states: "To be admitted to the degree programme, you must have a command of English equivalent to at least level B2 according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR). To prove your English language proficiency, you must meet at least one of the following requirements: a) Hold one of the following certificates attesting to English language proficiency at level B2: IELTS with a minimum score of 5.5; TOEFL iBT with a minimum score of 80; Cambridge English B2 (First or higher); Trinity College London Integrated Skills in English - ISE (Level II or higher). b) Meet one of the following criteria: Be a native English speaker; Hold a diploma or degree in English awarded by an accredited institution in the EU/EEA/Schengen area, or in Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the United Kingdom or the United States; Hold an International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma or a General Certificate of Education (GCE) or an equivalent diploma/certificate; Hold a diploma or degree awarded by an accredited institution where English is the primary language of instruction."”

The application file

  • Your valid ID (Identity Card) or Passport
  • Study Visa for "University enrolment" (only for non-Eu citizens residing abroad)
  • Receipt of your residence permit request (only for non-Eu citizens regularly living abroad and requiring a study Visa)
  • Residence permit card (only for non-Eu citizens regularly living in Italy)
  • High School Diploma (achieved after at least 12 years of studies)
  • University-level qualification (achieved after no fewer than 15 year of studies of which at least 3 at University level), together with copy of the academic transcript of records
  • Letter of pre-acceptance to the degree programme in Sustainable Building Engineering, in .pdf format (non-EU citizens resident abroad)
  • SAT Score Report, sent to segrstudenti.ingegneria@uniroma1.it by 29 October 2026 (only if you took the SAT rather than the CEnT-S)

English, accepted proofs

  • IELTS
  • TOEFL
  • Medium of Instruction letter

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The study plan

What you would actually study.

Transcribed from the university's published study plan, in its order and its wording.

1st8 modules
  • ANALYSIS I AND II12 CFU
  • DESCRIPTIVE GEOMETRY AND ARCHITECTURE DRAWING WITH ELEMENTS OF ARCHITECTURE HISTORY15 CFU
  • Materials technology for sustainable construction6 CFU
  • PHYSICS9 CFU
  • ENVIRONMENT AND HEALTH9 CFU
  • GEOMETRY6 CFU
  • FOREIGN LANGUAGE3 CFU
  • Elements of ChemistryChoose from a list6 CFU
2nd12 modules
  • GEOMATICS6 CFU
  • HYDRAULICS9 CFU
  • STRUCTURAL MECHANICS9 CFU
  • BUILDING DESIGN FOR SUSTAINABLE ARCHITECTURE-ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN15 CFU
  • ENGINEERING GEOLOGY FOR SUSTAINABLE BUILDING9 CFU
  • ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING PHYSICS6 CFU
  • MORE FOREIGN LANGUAGE KNOWLEDGE3 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • PROJECT EVALUATIONChoose from a list6 CFU
  • BUILDING COMPONENTS DESIGNChoose from a list6 CFU
  • GEOHAZARDSChoose from a list6 CFU
  • BIOCLIMATIC BUILDING DESIGNChoose from a list6 CFU
3rd11 modules
  • Principi di ingegneria sanitaria ambientale9 CFU
  • SVILUPPO SOSTENIBILE DEL TERRITORIO6 CFU
  • Structural design9 CFU
  • idrologia9 CFU
  • Geotecnica9 CFU
  • Elective courseChoose from a list6 CFU
  • FINAL TESTThesis3 CFU
  • SUSTAINABLE TECHNIQUES FOR ROAD CONSTRUCTIONChoose from a list6 CFU
  • CONSTRUCTION SITE MANAGEMENTChoose from a list6 CFU
  • Engineering SeismologyChoose from a list6 CFU
  • COMPARATIVE INTERNATIONAL LEGISLATION FOR PUBLIC WORKSChoose from a list6 CFU

0 CFU for the whole degree, as the plan states it. 31 modules are listed here.

The university’s own study plan, read

CFU is the Italian name for an ECTS credit. One is the same as the other, so 120 CFU is 120 ECTS.

The degree

About this degree.

A three-year Bachelor in building and civil engineering, taught entirely in English at Sapienza's Rieti campus, centred on low-energy buildings, passive design, material reuse and land protection. It suits a school leaver who wants an Italian engineering degree in English and can sit the CEnT-S or the SAT.

Sustainable Building Engineering is a three-year Bachelor degree at Sapienza University of Rome. It is taught at the Rieti campus, not in Rome. The whole degree is taught in English. The degree class is L-23 and the course code is 33482. The delivery mode is printed as Convenzionale - In presenza, meaning conventional and in person. Sapienza describes it as the first international Bachelor programme in the engineering field it offers.

The university's full description

The subject is building and civil engineering with sustainability at the centre. Year one covers analysis, physics, geometry, descriptive geometry, architectural drawing, history of architecture and construction materials. Year two covers hydraulics, structural mechanics, geomatics, engineering geology, environmental engineering physics and building design for sustainable architecture. Year three covers structural design, geotechnics, hydrology, environmental sanitary engineering and sustainable land development. Students take 12 CFU of elective courses, split across year two and year three. The final test is worth 3 CFU.

Access is by an entrance test that checks knowledge. It is not a ranked competition for a fixed number of places. You sit either the CEnT-S, which is the CISIA English Test for Sciences, or the SAT General Test run by the College Board. A low score does not refuse you a place. A CEnT-S normalised score under 18, or an SAT score under 800 out of 1600, assigns an extra required course in Mathematics, called OFA. The OFA must be passed within the first year.

English must be at CEFR level B2. Annex 5 of this programme's own call for applications lists IELTS 5.5, TOEFL iBT 80, Cambridge English B2 First or higher, and Trinity College London ISE Level II or higher. The same annex accepts a diploma or degree from an accredited institution where English is the primary language of instruction. That clause carries no country limit, so a Pakistani applicant from an English-medium school can use it. Duolingo does not appear on the list.

A student who files income tax abroad pays a fixed yearly contribution set by country band. Pakistan is named in Band A, which is 300 euros a year. A regional tax of 140 euros and a stamp duty of 16 euros are added on top. A student with tax residence in Italy pays an ISEE-based amount instead, and no fixed figure is published for that case.

The admission fee is 10,00 euros, paid on Infostud against course code 33482, and it is not refunded. A non-EU citizen living abroad also pays 30,00 euros for the pre-selection on the QS MoveIn platform. That 30 euros is separate from the 10 euros.

For 2026 to 2027, first semester teaching runs from 24 September 2026 to 22 December 2026. Second semester teaching runs from 22 February 2027 to 28 May 2027. There is one intake a year.

The degree gives access to Master's programmes. Sapienza names the Master's Degree Programme in Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering, which runs at the same Rieti campus, as the direct continuation.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Graduates of this Programme are intermediate-level professionals capable of working in various areas of the building sector.
  • They contribute to and collaborate in the planning, design and implementation of interventions related to the organisation and transformation of the territory, at different operational scales.
  • Graduates may apply their competences within public and private bodies and companies, engineering firms, industries in the building and environmental sectors, and construction companies.
  • They may also work as independent professionals or consultants.
  • The Programme also prepares students for admission to various Master's Degree Programmes and, in particular, to the Master's Degree Programme in Environmental and Sustainable Building Engineering, which provides more specific and in-depth competences in the disciplinary areas related to interventions on the territory, both for its transformation and for its protection.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Do I need IELTS for this degree?

Not always. Annex 5 of this programme's call accepts a diploma or degree from an accredited institution where English is the primary language of instruction, and that clause sets no country limit. If you cannot use that route, IELTS 5.5 or TOEFL iBT 80 meets the B2 requirement.

Is Duolingo accepted?

No. Duolingo does not appear in Annex 5 of the call for applications for this degree.

Which entrance test do I take?

Either the CEnT-S, which is the CISIA English Test for Sciences, or the SAT General Test run by the College Board. Sapienza accepts either one.

What happens if I score low on the entrance test?

You can still enrol. A CEnT-S normalised score under 18, or an SAT score under 800 out of 1600, assigns an extra required course in Mathematics called OFA. You must pass it within your first year, or you repeat the first year.

Is there a minimum school grade?

The call for applications sets no minimum mark out of 100. It requires an upper secondary school diploma obtained or to be obtained in 2026, and the entrance test.

What does a year cost for a student from Pakistan?

Pakistan is named in Band A of Article 38 of the Student Regulations, so the fixed yearly contribution is 300 euros. A regional tax of 140 euros and a stamp duty of 16 euros are added.

What do I pay to apply?

A 10,00 euro fee on Infostud, which is never refunded. A non-EU citizen living abroad also pays 30,00 euros for the QS MoveIn pre-selection, which is separate.

Where is the campus?

Rieti, not Rome. The catalogue lists the site as Rieti and the delivery mode as in person.

Can I still start in 2026?

Not if you need a student visa. For the 2026-2027 cycle the pre-selection closed on 15 May 2026 and Universitaly pre-enrolment closed on 30 June 2026. The 29 October 2026 test and fee deadline is still open, but it does not help an applicant who still needs a visa.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility