Skip to content
UniConnect360

Oriental languages and civilizations

Sapienza University of Rome, Rome

Tuition, per year

€300

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026 to 2027 ordinary contribution amounts are not separately published. The page read carries the heading "Importi ordinari per i corsi di laurea e laurea magistrale 2025-2026", so the 2,821 euro first group maximum is the 2025 to 2026 figure. The Fascia A, B and C fixed amounts on the same page cite a board resolution of 30 May 2023 and carry no year label. 2) The regional tax amount is not stated in the call or on the course page. The call says only that the stamp duty of 16 euro and the regional tax are added to the contributions. 3) Sapienza's university wide list of programmes taught in English, at programmes_in_english.pdf, returns a zero byte body from its own server, so this degree could not be checked against that list directly. It was established as Italian taught from its own call and its own catalogue pages instead. 4) The course page carries the banner "I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento", so the 2026 to 2027 catalogue content is still being updated and module lists may change. 5) The study plan shows seven curricula, including a combined Lingue persiana e araba, while the call offers six first language choices. How a student reaches the combined Persian and Arabic curriculum is not explained on either page. 6) Several study plan rows print a course code and a credit value with no course name, for example code 10629850 at 6 CFU in the first year of every curriculum. Those names were left out rather than guessed. 7) The calendar table at point 6 of the call lists twelve stages and twelve dates in columns that do not align in the PDF text layer, so the individual ranking and payment dates could not be read with confidence. Only the dates stated in prose elsewhere in the call are published here. 8) Whether the 15 visa places were filled for 2026 to 2027, and whether any were released to the other pool, is not published. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Oriental languages and civilizations, programme code 33534

Application deadline

closed on 14 September 2026

English requirement

The university's own test

The university’s exact wording
“The call sets no English requirement and names no English certificate. Its only language condition, at point 3.2, for applicants with non EU citizenship who request a study visa, reads: "superamento della prova di conoscenza della lingua italiana (livello B2), o certificato di lingua italiana di livello almeno B2, rilasciato da enti riconosciuti". The only English inside the admission procedure is one section of the admission test. Point 5 lists the ranking sections as "Comprensione del testo e conoscenza della lingua italiana", "Conoscenze e competenze acquisite negli studi", "Ragionamento logico" and "Inglese", and sets one threshold for the test as a whole: "Per essere inserito in graduatoria devi riportare un punteggio maggiore o uguale a 45/80". There is no English pass mark, and no IELTS, TOEFL or other English certificate appears anywhere in the call.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026 to 2027 ordinary contribution amounts are not separately published. The page read carries the heading "Importi ordinari per i corsi di laurea e laurea magistrale 2025-2026", so the 2,821 euro first group maximum is the 2025 to 2026 figure. The Fascia A, B and C fixed amounts on the same page cite a board resolution of 30 May 2023 and carry no year label. 2) The regional tax amount is not stated in the call or on the course page. The call says only that the stamp duty of 16 euro and the regional tax are added to the contributions. 3) Sapienza's university wide list of programmes taught in English, at programmes_in_english.pdf, returns a zero byte body from its own server, so this degree could not be checked against that list directly. It was established as Italian taught from its own call and its own catalogue pages instead. 4) The course page carries the banner "I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento", so the 2026 to 2027 catalogue content is still being updated and module lists may change. 5) The study plan shows seven curricula, including a combined Lingue persiana e araba, while the call offers six first language choices. How a student reaches the combined Persian and Arabic curriculum is not explained on either page. 6) Several study plan rows print a course code and a credit value with no course name, for example code 10629850 at 6 CFU in the first year of every curriculum. Those names were left out rather than guessed. 7) The calendar table at point 6 of the call lists twelve stages and twelve dates in columns that do not align in the PDF text layer, so the individual ranking and payment dates could not be read with confidence. Only the dates stated in prose elsewhere in the call are published here. 8) Whether the 15 visa places were filled for 2026 to 2027, and whether any were released to the other pool, is not published. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Oriental languages and civilizations, programme code 33534

  • LevelBachelor's degreeLaurea Triennale
  • SubjectArts and humanities
  • Taught inTaught in Italian and English
  • Length3 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€300

about PKR 96,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026 to 2027 ordinary contribution amounts are not separately published. The page read carries the heading "Importi ordinari per i corsi di laurea e laurea magistrale 2025-2026", so the 2,821 euro first group maximum is the 2025 to 2026 figure. The Fascia A, B and C fixed amounts on the same page cite a board resolution of 30 May 2023 and carry no year label. 2) The regional tax amount is not stated in the call or on the course page. The call says only that the stamp duty of 16 euro and the regional tax are added to the contributions. 3) Sapienza's university wide list of programmes taught in English, at programmes_in_english.pdf, returns a zero byte body from its own server, so this degree could not be checked against that list directly. It was established as Italian taught from its own call and its own catalogue pages instead. 4) The course page carries the banner "I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento", so the 2026 to 2027 catalogue content is still being updated and module lists may change. 5) The study plan shows seven curricula, including a combined Lingue persiana e araba, while the call offers six first language choices. How a student reaches the combined Persian and Arabic curriculum is not explained on either page. 6) Several study plan rows print a course code and a credit value with no course name, for example code 10629850 at 6 CFU in the first year of every curriculum. Those names were left out rather than guessed. 7) The calendar table at point 6 of the call lists twelve stages and twelve dates in columns that do not align in the PDF text layer, so the individual ranking and payment dates could not be read with confidence. Only the dates stated in prose elsewhere in the call are published here. 8) Whether the 15 visa places were filled for 2026 to 2027, and whether any were released to the other pool, is not published.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026 to 2027 ordinary contribution amounts are not separately published. The page read carries the heading "Importi ordinari per i corsi di laurea e laurea magistrale 2025-2026", so the 2,821 euro first group maximum is the 2025 to 2026 figure. The Fascia A, B and C fixed amounts on the same page cite a board resolution of 30 May 2023 and carry no year label. 2) The regional tax amount is not stated in the call or on the course page. The call says only that the stamp duty of 16 euro and the regional tax are added to the contributions. 3) Sapienza's university wide list of programmes taught in English, at programmes_in_english.pdf, returns a zero byte body from its own server, so this degree could not be checked against that list directly. It was established as Italian taught from its own call and its own catalogue pages instead. 4) The course page carries the banner "I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento", so the 2026 to 2027 catalogue content is still being updated and module lists may change. 5) The study plan shows seven curricula, including a combined Lingue persiana e araba, while the call offers six first language choices. How a student reaches the combined Persian and Arabic curriculum is not explained on either page. 6) Several study plan rows print a course code and a credit value with no course name, for example code 10629850 at 6 CFU in the first year of every curriculum. Those names were left out rather than guessed. 7) The calendar table at point 6 of the call lists twelve stages and twelve dates in columns that do not align in the PDF text layer, so the individual ranking and payment dates could not be read with confidence. Only the dates stated in prose elsewhere in the call are published here. 8) Whether the 15 visa places were filled for 2026 to 2027, and whether any were released to the other pool, is not published. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Oriental languages and civilizations, programme code 33534

To be considered, once

€10

about PKR 3,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2026 to 2027 ordinary contribution amounts are not separately published. The page read carries the heading "Importi ordinari per i corsi di laurea e laurea magistrale 2025-2026", so the 2,821 euro first group maximum is the 2025 to 2026 figure. The Fascia A, B and C fixed amounts on the same page cite a board resolution of 30 May 2023 and carry no year label. 2) The regional tax amount is not stated in the call or on the course page. The call says only that the stamp duty of 16 euro and the regional tax are added to the contributions. 3) Sapienza's university wide list of programmes taught in English, at programmes_in_english.pdf, returns a zero byte body from its own server, so this degree could not be checked against that list directly. It was established as Italian taught from its own call and its own catalogue pages instead. 4) The course page carries the banner "I contenuti del catalogo per l'a.a. 2026-2027 sono in corso di aggiornamento", so the 2026 to 2027 catalogue content is still being updated and module lists may change. 5) The study plan shows seven curricula, including a combined Lingue persiana e araba, while the call offers six first language choices. How a student reaches the combined Persian and Arabic curriculum is not explained on either page. 6) Several study plan rows print a course code and a credit value with no course name, for example code 10629850 at 6 CFU in the first year of every curriculum. Those names were left out rather than guessed. 7) The calendar table at point 6 of the call lists twelve stages and twelve dates in columns that do not align in the PDF text layer, so the individual ranking and payment dates could not be read with confidence. Only the dates stated in prose elsewhere in the call are published here. 8) Whether the 15 visa places were filled for 2026 to 2027, and whether any were released to the other pool, is not published. Sapienza Università di Roma course catalogue, Oriental languages and civilizations, programme code 33534

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Restricted, entrance test

    accesso programmato

    The university's own wording
    “The call's cover page states "Corso ad accesso programmato". Point 1 reads "Per accedere al corso di laurea ad accesso programmato in Lingue e civiltà orientali devi: sostenere il test TOLC-SU (anche in modalità TOLC@CASA)". Point 2 sets the places: 450 for applicants with Italian citizenship, other EU citizenship, or non EU citizenship with a valid Italian residence permit, and 15 for applicants with non EU citizenship who live abroad and request a study visa. The course page states the access procedure as Admission test, and the Italian page as Prova di ammissione.”
  • Entrance tests

    TOLC-SU

What the call asks for

  1. Upper secondary school leaving qualification, obtained or to be obtained in 2026, giving access to first cycle university courses in the country that issued it, after at least 12 years of schooling.

  2. TOLC-SU test, also accepted in the TOLC@CASA format, taken at Sapienza or at any CISIA member university from 1 January 2024 up to the selection deadline.

  3. A TOLC-SU score of at least 45 out of 80 to be placed in the ranking.

  4. For applicants with non EU citizenship living abroad: a pass in the Italian language test at B2 level, or an Italian language certificate at B2 or above issued by a recognised body.

  5. For applicants with non EU citizenship living abroad: the online pre-enrolment application for a study visa, completed and submitted on Universitaly by 30 June 2026.

  6. A ranked choice of first language entered on Infostud before paying the selection fee, with a minimum of two and a maximum of four preferences.

  7. A score of at least 18 out of 30 in the TOLC-SU section on Italian text comprehension, failing which an OFA in Italian is assigned and must be cleared within the first year.

The English rule

The university's own test

“The call sets no English requirement and names no English certificate. Its only language condition, at point 3.2, for applicants with non EU citizenship who request a study visa, reads: "superamento della prova di conoscenza della lingua italiana (livello B2), o certificato di lingua italiana di livello almeno B2, rilasciato da enti riconosciuti". The only English inside the admission procedure is one section of the admission test. Point 5 lists the ranking sections as "Comprensione del testo e conoscenza della lingua italiana", "Conoscenze e competenze acquisite negli studi", "Ragionamento logico" and "Inglese", and sets one threshold for the test as a whole: "Per essere inserito in graduatoria devi riportare un punteggio maggiore o uguale a 45/80". There is no English pass mark, and no IELTS, TOEFL or other English certificate appears anywhere in the call.”

The application file

  • Valid passport, or national identity card for EU citizens.
  • Study visa for Studio - Immatricolazione Università, issued by the Italian embassy or consulate in the country of residence.
  • Receipts for the residence permit application, which must be filed within 8 days of arrival in Italy.
  • Upper secondary school diploma, awarded after at least 12 years of schooling and giving access to first cycle university courses in the issuing country, with an official sworn translation.
  • CIMEA Attestato di Comparabilità and Attestato di Verifica, or a Dichiarazione di Valore issued by the Italian diplomatic mission.
  • Italian language certificate at B2 issued by a CLIQ body, or a pass at B2 in the Sapienza and CISIA ITA L2 test.
  • Academic certificates for compensation years, where the diploma was awarded after fewer than 12 years of schooling.
  • Pre-acceptance letter, only where the chosen degree requires online pre-selection.
  • All of the above merged into one PDF and emailed to studentistranieri@uniroma1.it, with the CIMEA attestations attached as separate PDF files.

English, accepted proofs

  • No English test required

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A three year bachelor at Sapienza in the languages and cultures of Asia and Africa, built around one main language chosen from Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Hindi or Persian. It suits a student who can study in Italian at CEFR B2, because the teaching is in Italian and English is a subject inside the degree rather than the language of instruction.

Lingue e civiltà orientali is a three year first cycle degree in class L-11 at Sapienza Università di Roma. It is run by the Istituto Italiano di Studi Orientali, inside the Faculty of Lettere e Filosofia. The catalogue records the language as Italian and English, the site as Rome, and the delivery as conventional and in person.

The university's full description

The main teaching language is Italian. Sapienza publishes the presentation and the educational objectives for this degree in Italian only. English enters as a taught subject: every curriculum carries Academic English at 12 CFU in the first year, and that course is delivered in English. A student who cannot follow lectures in Italian cannot follow this degree.

You choose one main oriental language and study it across all three years. The published study plan for 2026 to 2027 sets out seven curricula: Lingua araba, Lingua cinese, Lingua coreana, Lingua giapponese, Lingua hindi, Lingua persiana, and Lingue persiana e araba. In the Arabic curriculum the first year carries ARABIC LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION I at 12 CFU, GLOTTOLOGY at 6 CFU and Academic English at 12 CFU. The second year adds ARABIC LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION II, CONTEMPORARY HISTORY OF THE ARAB COUNTRIES, Literary History of the Arab Worlds and ISLAMISTICS. The third year carries ARABIC LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION III, DIDACTICS OF MODERN LANGUAGES and Introduction to Arabic Dialectology, followed by a training activity and the final exam. The Chinese curriculum opens with CHINESE LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION I, History of Ancient and Modern China and Art in China. The Japanese curriculum opens with Japanese Language and Translation I.I, Japanese Language and Translation I.II, History of Ancient to Early Modern Japan and Japanese Art and Archaeology. A second oriental language is taken from an optional group in the second year.

Access is restricted. The call for applications for 2026 to 2027 is decree D.R. n. 1172/2026 and its cover states Corso ad accesso programmato. The call sets 450 places for applicants with Italian, other EU or equated status, and 15 places for applicants with non EU citizenship who live abroad and request a study visa. Admission is by the TOLC-SU test run by CISIA, which may also be taken in the TOLC@CASA format. You must score at least 45 out of 80 to be placed in the ranking. Before paying the 10 euro selection fee you must rank at least two and at most four first language preferences. Places per language are 120 for Chinese, 120 for Korean, 120 for Japanese, 60 for Arabic, 60 for Hindi and 60 for Persian.

There is no English test for this degree. The call names no English certificate and does not mention IELTS or TOEFL anywhere. The language condition that applies to a Pakistani applicant is Italian: an applicant with non EU citizenship living abroad must pass the Italian language test at B2, or hold an Italian certificate at B2 or above from a recognised body. The TOLC-SU does contain an English section, and that section counts towards the ranking score, but the call sets no separate pass mark for it. A score below 18 out of 30 in the Italian text comprehension section does not block enrolment, but it adds an OFA in Italian, which must be cleared inside the first year by passing the LINGUISTICA exam or a faculty recovery test.

Tuition depends on where your income is declared. Pakistan is named in the Fascia A country list on Sapienza's ordinary contributions page, and a Fascia A student who declares income abroad pays a fixed 300 euro for the year, in instalments of 90, 105 and 105 euro. A student who declares income in Italy pays instead under the first contribution group, which covers Lettere e Filosofia, at a stated ordinary maximum of 2,821 euro reduced according to the ISEE value. A stamp duty of 16 euro is payable in every case, and a regional tax is charged on top of the contributions. The call does not print the regional tax amount.

The selection window ran from 2 July to 14 September 2026. The TOLC-SU had to be taken and the 10 euro fee paid by 14 September 2026. An applicant with non EU citizenship who needs a study visa also had to file the pre-enrolment application on Universitaly by 30 June 2026, which is the earlier and binding date for a student applying from Pakistan. First semester teaching for 2026 to 2027 starts on 29 September 2026 and second semester teaching starts on 22 February 2027.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Corrispondenti in lingue estere e professioni assimilate. Sbocchi lavorativi: industrie; aziende private; enti e istituzioni connessi con la cooperazione internazionale.
  • Professionisti nella gestione e promozione del patrimonio culturale e turistico. Sbocchi lavorativi: musei e gallerie d'arte; enti culturali e fondazioni; agenzie di viaggi e tour operator (i laureati che avranno crediti in numero sufficiente nei SSD previsti dalla normativa potranno partecipare al concorso di abilitazione al patentino di guida turistica); aziende nel settore turistico e culturale; organizzazioni per la cooperazione internazionale.
  • Tecnici del reinserimento e dell'integrazione sociale. Sbocchi lavorativi: servizi sociali e istituzioni pubbliche; associazioni di volontariato e ONG; scuole e centri di formazione.

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Do I need IELTS or TOEFL for this degree?

No. The call for this degree names no English certificate. It requires Italian at B2 for applicants with non EU citizenship who live abroad and need a study visa, either by passing Sapienza's Italian language test or by holding a B2 certificate from a recognised body.

Is the degree taught in English?

No. The catalogue lists the language as Italian and English, but the teaching is in Italian. English is a subject inside the degree: Academic English at 12 CFU in the first year, delivered in English.

What score do I need in the admission test?

You must take the TOLC-SU and score at least 45 out of 80 to be placed in the ranking. The ranking is then read from the highest score down until the places are filled. If you sit the test more than once, the best score counts.

How many places are open to a student applying from Pakistan?

Fifteen. The call reserves 15 places for applicants with non EU citizenship who live abroad and request a study visa. The other 450 places go to applicants with Italian, other EU or equated status. Unfilled visa places are released to that pool.

What will the first year cost?

Pakistan is listed in Fascia A on Sapienza's contributions page, so a student who declares income abroad pays a fixed 300 euro for the year, split into 90, 105 and 105 euro. A stamp duty of 16 euro is added, and a regional tax is charged on top. The call does not print the regional tax amount.

Which language can I choose?

One of Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Hindi or Persian. You rank at least two and at most four preferences on Infostud before paying the selection fee. The call sets 120 places each for Chinese, Korean and Japanese, and 60 places each for Arabic, Hindi and Persian.

I missed the June deadline. Can I still apply for 2026 to 2027?

Not if you need a study visa. The call required the Universitaly pre-enrolment application to be sent by 30 June 2026, and that date has passed. Sapienza publishes a new call for each academic year on this programme's catalogue page.

What happens if my Italian is weak at the start?

A TOLC-SU score below 18 out of 30 in the Italian text comprehension section does not stop you enrolling, but it adds an OFA in Italian. You clear it within the first year by passing the LINGUISTICA exam or a faculty recovery test. If you do not clear it you repeat the first year.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€300

Check Pakistan eligibility