PhD Programme in Economics
Luiss Guido Carli, Rome
Tuition, per year
Not yet read from the university’s page
Application deadline
Set by this cycle’s call
The date appears here, with its link, once a person has opened that call.
English requirement
The university's own test
The university’s exact wording
“Annex 1 for Economics sets no English certificate and no minimum score. Its mandatory documentation is Form B, proof of a master's degree, a CV, a national ID card or passport, and a Research Proposal. English is assessed inside the selection: the Research Proposal "should be written in English", and of the oral exam the Annex states "The Oral Exam will be conducted in English in view of the fact that the Doctoral Program will be taught entirely in that language." The only language certificate the Annex mentions is optional and is for "knowledge of foreign languages other than English". No IELTS, TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo minimum is published for this programme.”
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No call for the cycle after XLII was published when this record was checked, so the next deadline, the number of places and the next scholarship amount are not yet known. 2) Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. Whether a doctoral candidate pays any annual tuition or enrolment charge is not stated in the call or on the PhD pages. 3) No application or participation fee appears anywhere in the XLII call. Whether one exists is not stated, so the field is left empty rather than set to zero. 4) The call publishes no minimum grade point average. It requires the transcript to show the grade point average but sets no threshold, so minGpaPercent is empty. 5) The year two electives on the study plan are listed for the XLII cycle and the three reading groups show TBD for the instructor, so the year two teaching staff is not final. 6) The placement page names employers but gives no year, no count and no placement rate. Luiss Guido Carli
- LevelPhDDottorato di Ricerca
- SubjectBusiness and economics
- Taught inTaught in English
- Length4 years
- DeliveryOn campus
- StartsSeptember
- AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
- Minimum markNot yet read
The money
What you pay, and what you must prove you have.
Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.
What you pay
Tuition, per year
Not yet read from the university's page
Why this figure, and not a lower one
Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.
Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No call for the cycle after XLII was published when this record was checked, so the next deadline, the number of places and the next scholarship amount are not yet known. 2) Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. Whether a doctoral candidate pays any annual tuition or enrolment charge is not stated in the call or on the PhD pages. 3) No application or participation fee appears anywhere in the XLII call. Whether one exists is not stated, so the field is left empty rather than set to zero. 4) The call publishes no minimum grade point average. It requires the transcript to show the grade point average but sets no threshold, so minGpaPercent is empty. 5) The year two electives on the study plan are listed for the XLII cycle and the three reading groups show TBD for the instructor, so the year two teaching staff is not final. 6) The placement page names employers but gives no year, no count and no placement rate.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No call for the cycle after XLII was published when this record was checked, so the next deadline, the number of places and the next scholarship amount are not yet known. 2) Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. Whether a doctoral candidate pays any annual tuition or enrolment charge is not stated in the call or on the PhD pages. 3) No application or participation fee appears anywhere in the XLII call. Whether one exists is not stated, so the field is left empty rather than set to zero. 4) The call publishes no minimum grade point average. It requires the transcript to show the grade point average but sets no threshold, so minGpaPercent is empty. 5) The year two electives on the study plan are listed for the XLII cycle and the three reading groups show TBD for the instructor, so the year two teaching staff is not final. 6) The placement page names employers but gives no year, no count and no placement rate. Luiss Guido Carli
To be considered, once
Not yet read from the call
Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.
Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) No call for the cycle after XLII was published when this record was checked, so the next deadline, the number of places and the next scholarship amount are not yet known. 2) Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. Whether a doctoral candidate pays any annual tuition or enrolment charge is not stated in the call or on the PhD pages. 3) No application or participation fee appears anywhere in the XLII call. Whether one exists is not stated, so the field is left empty rather than set to zero. 4) The call publishes no minimum grade point average. It requires the transcript to show the grade point average but sets no threshold, so minGpaPercent is empty. 5) The year two electives on the study plan are listed for the XLII cycle and the three reading groups show TBD for the instructor, so the year two teaching staff is not final. 6) The placement page names employers but gives no year, no count and no placement rate. Luiss Guido Carli
What you must prove you have
Funds you must show, per year
€10,179.85
Health cover, minimum
€30,000
How these two are decided
Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.
Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.
Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked
Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.
Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.
Entry requirements
What this call asks of you.
The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.
How it admits
Restricted, entrance test
accesso programmato
The university's own wording
“Rectoral Decree No. 51 of 2 February 2026 is "on a competition by way of comparative evaluation for places on the cycle XLII (a.y. 2026/2027) of research doctoral programs in Economics and Management". Annex 1 for Economics states "Total places on offer with scholarships: n. 6", made up of "Places with University scholarships: n. 5" plus one place "reserved for international candidates". The Annex sets a "minimum score for eligibility 60" out of 100 across three phases.”
Entrance tests
GREInterview
What the call asks for
A master's degree, a specialized degree, an Italian master's degree under the former university system, or an equivalent qualification awarded abroad and recognised for admission.
For the XLII cycle the qualification had to be awarded by 15 September 2026. A candidate still awaiting graduation could apply, and the application was held as pending until the degree certificate was supplied.
A Research Proposal written in English. It must name its primary area of research from the eleven themes listed in the call, and set out the field, objectives, background, state of the art, methodology, hypotheses, any empirical component, sources and a short bibliography.
An oral exam in English, which is the third selection phase and focuses on the research proposal.
At least 60 points out of 100 across the three phases, with at least 24 of 40 in phase one, 12 of 20 in phase two and 24 of 40 in phase three.
Publications are not required. The call states that an application may be submitted in the absence of publications.
A GRE score is not required. It is scored in phase one only if the candidate supplies it.
A candidate holding a degree from a non EU country submits a CIMEA Attestation of Comparability as part of the proof of degree.
The one place reserved for an international candidate requires no Italian citizenship, no residency, domicile or main activity in Italy for more than 6 months in the three years before the call, and a qualification for doctoral access obtained at a foreign university.
The English rule
The university's own test
“Annex 1 for Economics sets no English certificate and no minimum score. Its mandatory documentation is Form B, proof of a master's degree, a CV, a national ID card or passport, and a Research Proposal. English is assessed inside the selection: the Research Proposal "should be written in English", and of the oral exam the Annex states "The Oral Exam will be conducted in English in view of the fact that the Doctoral Program will be taught entirely in that language." The only language certificate the Annex mentions is optional and is for "knowledge of foreign languages other than English". No IELTS, TOEFL, PTE or Duolingo minimum is published for this programme.”
The application file
- Application Form B, completed, dated and signed
- Proof of possession of a master's degree
- Curriculum vitae, indicating all the qualifications held
- National ID card/passport
- Research Proposal
- Optional: GRE
- Optional: any other qualifications, for example certification of knowledge of foreign languages other than English
- Optional: a maximum of two letters of reference, due by 20 March 2026 for the XLII cycle. The candidate enters the referee's name and email in the platform and the referee sends the letter directly, so the candidate does not upload it.
English, accepted proofs
- The university's own test
- An interview
- No English test required
Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.
Before any of it counts
Start the legalisation chain first
A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.
The degree
About this degree.
A four year research doctorate in economics at Luiss Guido Carli in Rome, taught entirely in English, with two years of taught courses in micro, macro, econometrics and finance and two years of dissertation work. It suits a master's graduate aiming at a research career in a university, a central bank, an international institution or a financial firm.
The PhD Programme in Economics is a four year research doctorate at Luiss Guido Carli in Rome. The administrative headquarters is the Department of Economics and Financial Markets. All teaching is in English. The programme requires full time attendance. The statutory duration is four years.
The university's full description
The first two years are taught. Year one, first term, is Advanced Micro, Advanced Econometrics I, Advanced Econometrics II, Mathematical Methods, Dynamic Optimization, Game Theory, and Macroeconomics and Finance. Year one, second term, is Industrial Organization, Economic Development, Microeconometrics, Methods in Experimental Economics I, Methods in Experimental Economics II, Advanced Financial Markets, and Advanced Macroeconomics. Year one is 61 CFU.
Year two is mostly elective and a student must take at least six electives. The published choices include Advanced Game Theory, Advanced Microeconometrics, Optimal Policy, Incentive Theory, Monetary Economics, Network Econometrics, Labor Economics, Public Economics, Text Analysis for Economists, Statistical Learning, Financial Econometrics, Macroeconometrics, Economics of Innovation, Topics in Macroeconomics and Advanced Time Series. Year two also carries reading groups in macroeconomics, microeconomics and finance, seminars, and 21 CFU for drafting the thesis. The third and fourth years are given to the dissertation, with workshops and seminars. The whole plan is 240 CFU.
Every place carries a scholarship. The XLII cycle offered six funded places. Five were ordinary university scholarships and one was reserved for an international candidate. For 2026 the ordinary scholarship is 16,243.00 euro, before the recipient pays their own share of social security contributions. The scholarship reserved for international candidates is 22,171.88 euro gross. Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. Doctoral candidates pay a 200 euro administrative fee when the degree is awarded, which covers the diploma and two certificates.
Admission is a competition, not open enrolment. Selection has three phases. Phase one scores the CV, qualifications, any GRE and any publications, out of 40 points. Phase two scores the research proposal out of 20 points. Phase three is an oral exam out of 40 points. A candidate needs 60 points in total and must reach the minimum in every phase, which is 24, then 12, then 24. Publications and a GRE score are not required.
No English certificate is asked for. The research proposal must be written in English. The oral exam is conducted in English because the programme is taught entirely in that language. The optional documents list mentions certificates only for languages other than English.
The XLII cycle call closed on 13 March 2026 at 16:00 CET. That cycle begins in September 2026. When this record was checked on 13 September 2026 the call page showed no open call for the following cycle.
Where it leads
As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.
- Academic or professional careers in international institutions, central banks, economic policy and/or regulatory authorities, or in consulting firms and financial institutions.
- Former PhD candidates have continued their careers in these academic, policy and financial institutions: University of Oxford, European Central Bank, Banque de France, King's College London, London Business School, World Bank, Bank of England, Bank of Italy, Adrigat University, European Commission, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), University of Brescia, Catholic University of Milan, University of Macerata, Prometeia, Cassa Depositi e Prestiti, Italian Treasury, Balderton Capital, Allianz.
- Luiss publishes no placement rate for this programme.
Asked about this programme
The questions this one gets.
Do I need IELTS or TOEFL to apply?
No. The call for this doctorate lists no English certificate among its mandatory documents and publishes no minimum IELTS or TOEFL score. Your English is judged inside the selection. The research proposal must be written in English and the oral exam is held in English.
Is there tuition to pay?
Luiss publishes no tuition figure for this doctorate. All six places in the XLII cycle carried a scholarship. Doctoral candidates pay a 200 euro administrative fee when the degree is awarded, which covers the diploma and two certificates.
How much is the scholarship?
For 2026 the ordinary scholarship is 16,243.00 euro a year, before the recipient pays their own share of social security contributions. The single place reserved for an international candidate carries 22,171.88 euro a year gross.
Do I need a GRE score or publications?
No. The call states that you may apply without either. Both are scored in the first phase only if you supply them.
Can I apply now?
Not when this record was checked. The XLII cycle call closed on 13 March 2026 at 16:00 CET and the call page shows no open call. The XLII call was issued on 2 February 2026 and the XLI call on 5 February 2025, so watch the call page early in the year.
What does the first year look like?
Seven compulsory courses in the first term and seven in the second, worth 61 CFU in total. They cover advanced microeconomics, econometrics, mathematical methods, dynamic optimization, game theory, macroeconomics and finance, industrial organization, economic development, experimental methods and financial markets.
One programme, one university, once a year.
That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.
Universitaly (MUR)checked
The shortlist is a conversation
An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.
Tuition a yearFee set by income band
Check Pakistan eligibility