Skip to content
UniConnect360

Master's Degree in Government and Public Affairs

Luiss Guido Carli, Rome

Tuition, per year

€16,000

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 admission notice is not published. Luiss says it will be available from November 2026. The upload list, the live application form and the 2027/2028 participation fee are only confirmed once that notice is out. 2) Luiss does not publish a 2027/2028 academic calendar. The September intake month here is read off the 2026/2027 calendar, where the first semester starts on Monday 7 September 2026. 3) Luiss publishes no minimum degree mark or GPA for this programme. The published entry bar is credit based, 48 university credits across at least two listed subject areas, plus English at B2. 4) The selection with certifications route involves no Luiss admission test. Luiss does not state on these pages how the B2 English level is checked for a candidate admitted that way. 5) The regional tax for the right to higher education is charged on top of the 16,000 euro fee. Luiss does not publish its amount on the programme page or the fees page. 6) Luiss does not publish the number of places for this degree. The selection pages refer to an allocated number of places and to a minimum admission threshold set by the Committee for each degree course or specialisation. 7) The study plan names the Profile electives only as counts, for example 3 elective courses worth 18 ECTS and 2 elective core courses out of 4. The individual elective titles are not listed on the programme page, so they are not recorded here. 8) The two Certificates are listed as Certificate 1 and Certificate 2, each worth 6 ECTS. Luiss does not name the available Certificates on this page. Luiss Guido Carli

Application deadline

closes in 196 days

English requirement

The university's own test

The university’s exact wording
“In addition, students must have at least a B2 level of English, which will be assessed during the admission test.”

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 admission notice is not published. Luiss says it will be available from November 2026. The upload list, the live application form and the 2027/2028 participation fee are only confirmed once that notice is out. 2) Luiss does not publish a 2027/2028 academic calendar. The September intake month here is read off the 2026/2027 calendar, where the first semester starts on Monday 7 September 2026. 3) Luiss publishes no minimum degree mark or GPA for this programme. The published entry bar is credit based, 48 university credits across at least two listed subject areas, plus English at B2. 4) The selection with certifications route involves no Luiss admission test. Luiss does not state on these pages how the B2 English level is checked for a candidate admitted that way. 5) The regional tax for the right to higher education is charged on top of the 16,000 euro fee. Luiss does not publish its amount on the programme page or the fees page. 6) Luiss does not publish the number of places for this degree. The selection pages refer to an allocated number of places and to a minimum admission threshold set by the Committee for each degree course or specialisation. 7) The study plan names the Profile electives only as counts, for example 3 elective courses worth 18 ECTS and 2 elective core courses out of 4. The individual elective titles are not listed on the programme page, so they are not recorded here. 8) The two Certificates are listed as Certificate 1 and Certificate 2, each worth 6 ECTS. Luiss does not name the available Certificates on this page. Luiss Guido Carli

  • LevelMaster's degreeLaurea Magistrale
  • SubjectSocial sciences
  • Taught inTaught in Italian and English
  • Length2 years
  • DeliveryOn campus
  • StartsSeptember
  • AdmissionRestricted, entrance testThere is an entrance test
  • Minimum markNot yet read

The money

What you pay, and what you must prove you have.

Two different things, kept apart on purpose: a bill you pay, and a balance a visa officer needs to see that never gets spent.

What you pay

Tuition, per year

€16,000

about PKR 5,143,000

Why this figure, and not a lower one

Italian state fees usually scale with an assessed household indicator. Where the call states one figure it appears above; where it states a scale, this page says so rather than averaging it.

Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 admission notice is not published. Luiss says it will be available from November 2026. The upload list, the live application form and the 2027/2028 participation fee are only confirmed once that notice is out. 2) Luiss does not publish a 2027/2028 academic calendar. The September intake month here is read off the 2026/2027 calendar, where the first semester starts on Monday 7 September 2026. 3) Luiss publishes no minimum degree mark or GPA for this programme. The published entry bar is credit based, 48 university credits across at least two listed subject areas, plus English at B2. 4) The selection with certifications route involves no Luiss admission test. Luiss does not state on these pages how the B2 English level is checked for a candidate admitted that way. 5) The regional tax for the right to higher education is charged on top of the 16,000 euro fee. Luiss does not publish its amount on the programme page or the fees page. 6) Luiss does not publish the number of places for this degree. The selection pages refer to an allocated number of places and to a minimum admission threshold set by the Committee for each degree course or specialisation. 7) The study plan names the Profile electives only as counts, for example 3 elective courses worth 18 ECTS and 2 elective core courses out of 4. The individual elective titles are not listed on the programme page, so they are not recorded here. 8) The two Certificates are listed as Certificate 1 and Certificate 2, each worth 6 ECTS. Luiss does not name the available Certificates on this page.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 admission notice is not published. Luiss says it will be available from November 2026. The upload list, the live application form and the 2027/2028 participation fee are only confirmed once that notice is out. 2) Luiss does not publish a 2027/2028 academic calendar. The September intake month here is read off the 2026/2027 calendar, where the first semester starts on Monday 7 September 2026. 3) Luiss publishes no minimum degree mark or GPA for this programme. The published entry bar is credit based, 48 university credits across at least two listed subject areas, plus English at B2. 4) The selection with certifications route involves no Luiss admission test. Luiss does not state on these pages how the B2 English level is checked for a candidate admitted that way. 5) The regional tax for the right to higher education is charged on top of the 16,000 euro fee. Luiss does not publish its amount on the programme page or the fees page. 6) Luiss does not publish the number of places for this degree. The selection pages refer to an allocated number of places and to a minimum admission threshold set by the Committee for each degree course or specialisation. 7) The study plan names the Profile electives only as counts, for example 3 elective courses worth 18 ECTS and 2 elective core courses out of 4. The individual elective titles are not listed on the programme page, so they are not recorded here. 8) The two Certificates are listed as Certificate 1 and Certificate 2, each worth 6 ECTS. Luiss does not name the available Certificates on this page. Luiss Guido Carli

To be considered, once

€150

about PKR 48,000

Paid to the university when you submit. Non-refundable, and separate from anything the visa itself costs.

Unverified. Not yet verified. A person has not opened the source for this cycle. Read off the institution own programme page on 13 September 2026 by a single research pass. It has NOT been independently re-checked: the verification stage of that run was stopped before it reached this record, so the record renders as unverified rather than claiming a receipt it does not have. The English requirement is held at unverified unless a per programme source URL was found. Figures here are a starting point for a reader, not a checked claim. Open questions: 1) The 2027/2028 admission notice is not published. Luiss says it will be available from November 2026. The upload list, the live application form and the 2027/2028 participation fee are only confirmed once that notice is out. 2) Luiss does not publish a 2027/2028 academic calendar. The September intake month here is read off the 2026/2027 calendar, where the first semester starts on Monday 7 September 2026. 3) Luiss publishes no minimum degree mark or GPA for this programme. The published entry bar is credit based, 48 university credits across at least two listed subject areas, plus English at B2. 4) The selection with certifications route involves no Luiss admission test. Luiss does not state on these pages how the B2 English level is checked for a candidate admitted that way. 5) The regional tax for the right to higher education is charged on top of the 16,000 euro fee. Luiss does not publish its amount on the programme page or the fees page. 6) Luiss does not publish the number of places for this degree. The selection pages refer to an allocated number of places and to a minimum admission threshold set by the Committee for each degree course or specialisation. 7) The study plan names the Profile electives only as counts, for example 3 elective courses worth 18 ECTS and 2 elective core courses out of 4. The individual elective titles are not listed on the programme page, so they are not recorded here. 8) The two Certificates are listed as Certificate 1 and Certificate 2, each worth 6 ECTS. Luiss does not name the available Certificates on this page. Luiss Guido Carli

What you must prove you have

  • Funds you must show, per year

    €10,179.85

  • Health cover, minimum

    €30,000

How these two are decided

Funds you must show: in your own account, or evidenced by a sponsor or an award. Cash is refused.

Health cover: emergency treatment and repatriation, across the Schengen area, for as long as the visa lasts.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

Who may hold the money, and the refusal of cash, are the embassy’s own rules for a study visa rather than the university’s.

Embassy of Italy, Islamabadchecked

Rent, food and travel are in none of the figures above. What a month actually costs in Italy.

Amounts are in euro, as published. €1 = PKR 321.43, 30 August 2026.

Entry requirements

What this call asks of you.

The admission model first, because it is the one that closes a degree for a year. Everything below it is quoted from the university's call for applications for this cycle, in its order.

  • How it admits

    Restricted, entrance test

    accesso programmato

    The university's own wording
    “Programme page: "To enrol in the Master's Degree in Government and Public Affairs at Luiss, you must follow the admission procedures for the 2027/2028 academic year. In October 2026, the competition notices will be published, detailing the requirements, selection methods, and application deadlines." Italian programme page: "Nel mese di ottobre 2026 saranno pubblicati i bandi di concorso, contenenti requisiti, modalita di selezione e scadenze per presentare la domanda." Non-EU admission test page: "Rankings are determined for each degree programme indicated as a first choice, based on the score obtained in the Test, expressed out of 100. The Committee sets a minimum admission threshold for each degree course or specialisation, taking into account the scores achieved by candidates, the allocated number of places, and the aim of fostering a diverse class composition." Luiss does not use the words accesso libero anywhere for this degree.”
  • Entrance tests

    The university's own testGMATGRE

What the call asks for

  1. Admission is open to students enrolled in or graduates of one of the following degree programmes: L-36 (Ministerial Decree 270/04) and 15 (Ministerial Decree 509/99), Political Science and International Relations; L-16 (Ministerial Decree 270/04) and 19 (Ministerial Decree 509/99), Public Administration; L-20 (Ministerial Decree 270/04) and 14 (Ministerial Decree 509/99), Communication Sciences; L-37 (Ministerial Decree 270/04) and 35 (Ministerial Decree 509/99), Social Sciences for Cooperation, Development, and Peace

  2. In addition, students must have at least a B2 level of English, which will be assessed during the admission test.

  3. Students from degree programmes other than those listed above can also take the admission and/or selection test, but only if they have in their study plan (either completed or still to be completed) a total of at least 48 university credits in at least two of the following subject areas: Economics, Statistics, Law, Linguistics, Political Science, Sociology, History and Politics

  4. For a foreign qualification: qualifications awarded abroad grant access to master's degree programs at an Italian university only if they have been awarded upon completion of a first-level degree program lasting at least 3 academic years (or 4 academic years, depending on the relevant school system), entitle the student to enroll in graduate programs in the foreign country that awarded the degree, and have been awarded by official universities within that foreign country's education system. The Diploma must not be a professional or vocational qualification.

  5. Non-EU admission test route: You can apply for admission if you are a non-EU/non-Schengen citizen and have completed or are currently completing a three-year degree programme, either in Italy or abroad, that qualifies you to enrol in a Master's degree programme in Italy.

  6. Non-EU certifications route, as an alternative to the Luiss test: GMAT with a minimum score of 515 (out of 805); or GRE with a minimum score of 154 (out of 170) in the Quantitative and Verbal sections.

The English rule

The university's own test

“In addition, students must have at least a B2 level of English, which will be assessed during the admission test.”

The application file

  • Identity document/passport showing citizenship
  • Certificate of enrollment or degree with a transcript of records
  • A valid, official GMAT or GRE certificate

English, accepted proofs

  • The university's own test

Only what this call names. A proof another degree at the same university accepts is not on this list unless this call says so too.

Before any of it counts

Start the legalisation chain first

A degree awarded outside Europe has to be attested and legalised before an Italian university reads it. That chain is decided by the country you apply from, and no office on it publishes a turnaround.

The chain, step by step, from Pakistan

The degree

About this degree.

A two year master's degree at Luiss Guido Carli in Rome covering politics, public administration, public policy, governance and public affairs, worth 120 ECTS. It suits graduates in political science, public administration, communication or social sciences who want to work in government, European institutions, regulators or public affairs.

The Master's Degree in Government and Public Affairs is a two year laurea magistrale at Luiss Guido Carli in Rome. Luiss classifies it as LM-62. It is worth 120 ECTS. Luiss lists the language of the degree as Italian and English.

The university's full description

After the first semester students choose one of three majors. Government and Administration is taught in Italian. Communication and Public Affairs is taught in Italian. Public Policy is taught in English. Only the Public Policy major is taught in English, so a student who cannot study in Italian has one track.

The programme combines political science, law, economics, history, sociology, demography and communication sciences. The curriculum is divided into Essentials, Majors, Profile electives, Certificates, Field Experience and a Final Thesis. In the Government and Administration major, year one carries five Essentials in semester one and five courses in semester two, each worth 6 ECTS. Year two carries one major course worth 6 ECTS, three elective courses worth 18 ECTS, a thesis writing course worth 2 ECTS, two Certificates worth 6 ECTS each, an internship worth 6 ECTS and a final thesis worth 16 ECTS. The Public Policy major has a different year two: one mandatory course chosen from two, two elective core courses out of four worth 12 ECTS, and one cross elective course worth 6 ECTS.

Admission is by selection, not by open enrolment. Luiss has not yet published the admission notice for the 2027/2028 academic year. The programme page says the competition notices will be published in October 2026. The master's admissions pages say the notices will be available from November 2026. The selection calendar for 2027/2028 is already published: applications run from December 2026 to 8 April 2027 for the Luiss Admission Test route, and from December 2026 to 31 March 2027 for the route based on a GMAT or GRE score.

Luiss does not ask for an English certificate for this degree. The minimum curricular requirements page states that students must have at least a B2 level of English, which will be assessed during the admission test. Candidates who sit the test in Italian may only apply for courses taught in Italian. Candidates who sit the test in English may apply for courses in both Italian and English.

The single annual fee for the first year in 2027/2028 is 16,000 euro, payable in three instalments, plus the regional tax for the right to higher education. Luiss uses a Single Contribution system, so the fee is not set by income bracket. A participation fee of 150 euro is charged to take part in the selection. It is mandatory and it is not refunded.

Where it leads

As the university states it on its own page. Not a placement rate and not a promise.

  • Graduates can find professional opportunities at European institutions, ministries, independent authorities, government agencies, and international organisations. The knowledge and skills gained also open doors to careers in public affairs and lobbying firms, institutional press offices, think tanks, cultural foundations, political parties, and large companies operating in regulated sectors.
  • Professional profiles for students majoring in Government and Administration and Public Policy: Policy Maker
  • Professional profiles for students majoring in Government and Administration and Public Policy: Management and Control Specialist in Public Administration
  • Professional profiles for students majoring in Government and Administration and Public Policy: Policy Expert or Policy Analyst
  • Professional profiles for students majoring in Government and Administration and Public Policy: Cultural policy expert
  • Professional profiles for students majoring in Government and Administration and Public Policy: Lobbyist
  • Career paths for the Communication and Public Affairs major: Head of Institutional Communications
  • Career paths for the Communication and Public Affairs major: Social research specialist or consultant
  • Career paths for the Communication and Public Affairs major: Political communicator
  • Career paths for the Communication and Public Affairs major: Political Social Media Manager
  • Career paths for the Communication and Public Affairs major: Lobbyist

Asked about this programme

The questions this one gets.

Do I need IELTS or TOEFL for this degree?

No. Luiss does not ask for an English certificate for this master's degree. The minimum curricular requirements page says students must have at least a B2 level of English, which will be assessed during the admission test.

Is the whole degree taught in English?

No. Luiss lists the language as Italian and English. After the first semester you choose one of three majors. Only the Public Policy major is taught in English. Government and Administration and Communication and Public Affairs are taught in Italian.

When can I apply for the 2027/2028 intake?

Luiss has not published the 2027/2028 admission notice yet. It says the notices will be available from November 2026. The published selection calendar runs applications from December 2026 to 8 April 2027 for the Luiss Admission Test route, and from December 2026 to 31 March 2027 for the route based on a GMAT or GRE score.

What does the first year cost?

The single annual fee for the first year in 2027/2028 is 16,000 euro, paid in three instalments, plus the regional tax. A participation fee of 150 euro is charged to join the selection and it is not refunded.

Can I skip the Luiss admission test?

Yes, on one route. Non-EU applicants who hold a GMAT score of at least 515 out of 805, or a GRE score of at least 154 out of 170 in both the Quantitative and Verbal sections, can apply through the selection with certifications instead. On that route you may name only one master's degree programme and the choice is binding.

If I take the admission test in Italian, which courses can I apply for?

Only courses taught in Italian. Luiss says that if you take the test in English you can apply for courses in both Italian and English.

One programme, one university, once a year.

That is what Universitaly allows. Three questions tell you where you stand before you spend that choice: the degree level, what the visa wants in the bank, and how much calendar is left.

Universitaly (MUR)checked

The shortlist is a conversation

An advisor reads your documents against what this call asks for and tells you whether the file will clear, and if it will not, what to fix.

Tuition a year€16,000

Check Pakistan eligibility